Ratings based on 543 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Price.
Cons: Honest advertising.
I felt rather confident that I had made an OK choice to stay at the Red Roof Inn in Hickory, NC for one night enroute further south. However, when I arrived & began the check-in process several "red flags" were being raised, which eventually confirmed that an OK decision had been a horrible decision. These were the "red flags": 1. hotel policy required making a photo copy of a personal ID. That is a violation of personal information, especially since my reservation had been made via Expedia services, a reputable company. 2. an altercation taking place between a male & female escalated to a point that required calling for hotel security @ which time I left the lobby for safety to return to my car. This scene moved from the lobby to the outside foyer of the hotel, voices escalated, the hotel security guard commanded for the male's arms to be raised, etc. etc. etc. At that time I decided that security issues would alter the rest & peace that was needed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville,TN

Dirty and scary

Posted Jul 4, 2017
There was mold on two of my pillows and so I slept a couple hours on top of the bed before waking up with gnats on me. When I arrived there was a police officer driving through the lot. I ended up leaving at 3:30AM and the officer was still there, now talking with someone outside my room. I ended up paying $71 to sleep off and on for two hours- I would have been better off sleeping in my car in a parking lot.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from relocating to Hickory NC

No carpet -- the only nice thing to say!

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: There was not any carpet on the floor.
Cons: Read my experience. Other than no carpets, the whole experience was a disaster.
I wish I had not wasted my money or Expedia points. Had it not started pouring rain after we got to the room, we would have asked for another room and inspected OR left! Supposedly this is a non-smoking establishment. As soon as we walked in, we immediately were hit with the smell of SMOKE! There were burn holes in the comforters and sheets and burn marks on some of the furniture. In the a/c unit there was a Kleenex which had a red stain (your guess is as good as mine: blood? Who knows! But is was there in the vent in a supposedly clean and rentable room). The shower had someone else's hair already in it! Disgusting! I spoke to the female at the front desk the next morning and she didn't appear to care. She also told me she couldn't provide me a receipt because I had used Expedia. Never heard that before and I have used points and received a receipt before! I am house hunting and staying in SC. Upon opening the suitcases and was again hit with the smell of smoke! Everything immediately was washed or put on the deck to air out. HORRIBLE stay! They couldn't pay me to go back here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to eating places.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Non smoking with cigarette mark on the comforter, lights not working properly, and shower with no doors. Handicap room I guess.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Flor

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Michael L

Stinking, dirty and no service.

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Arrived and could not open door. Went to front desk. They were busy but I was ignored. Repeat that twice. After first trip figured out if I slammed down the level handle to door and body slammed it, it would open. After three unsuccessful trips, decided I could get out easily so not in danger. Room Smelled like Skunk.. So late and so tired just gave up and went to sleep. Dogs barking all over the place all night did not sleep well.. Had to leave early to do research which was reason for trip. Came back mid evening and walked into room. No room service had been done. Very unhappy went to front desk, and asked for some one to service my room. The clerk said that she had not cheap rooms like mine left, and I would have to pay for an upgrade to a different room. Then she said she could not do it because no one had told her how to do upgrades. After she did all the rest of the things she had to do, she would call her manager. After a half hour it became obvious she was stalling. I finally asked for clean towels and went to bed in the dirty skunk smelling room. Under NO circumstance would I ever recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by JAMES

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Pleasant stay, staff helpful in our accommodations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Dirty sheets and towels

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Cons: Yes, get all new sheets and towels.
The towels all had yellow stains on them and the sheets had a red stain where my husband slept. They need to get all new sheets and towels. The room was extremely small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to my dad

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: It's clean and close to where I needed to be
Cons: Nothing
It was great and I would definitely stay there again