Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hickory NC

Run down. Smoke filled atmosphere

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Room had very strong smoke smell. Staff could not modify reservations. New room improved but still had strong smoke smell. Staff did not clean room after first night. Room key would not work on second day. No working ice machine. Facility should simply designate some rooms for smoking since their clients obviously have a high percentage of smokers. Terrible place for non smokers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Room

Posted Dec 1, 2016
The bed conformable but they ni heat only AC I was so cold middle of the night. No hair dry, not enough towel plus carpet too dirty. Price toooooo much and too high for the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to North Carolina School for the Deaf

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Close to my family and deaf school at Morganton, NC
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Not safe and definitely not quiet!

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Room had hardwood floors, no yucky carpet.
Cons: Signage designating heat or AC control. No cross street in directions, small sign on ground outside other business, motel sits 1/4 mile off road.
Location: There is a drive-thru adult store next door to this location. Not a family friendly location.
Noise outside room next door from a large group at 130 am, had to call front desk twice to address the issue. Awoke at 430 am, larger group fighting outside room next door. Called front desk, they suggested I call the police. After explaining how afraid I was as a single female, how exhausted I was after TWO incidents 3 hours apart, and how I had to drive over 7 hours to get home, the front desk attendant stated he would call the police. No one from this business inquired about my safety, my well being, no offer to move to a different room, no offer to discount the cost due to all the inconveniences and safety issues, etc. Definitely not a safe location, definitely not a caring or even considerate location / business. Spend the extra money to stay at a hotel and not this motel. Trust me, I will in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Cheap and easy
It's cheap and easy. What more can you ask for. The staff was quick, the police were there, everyone had a good time. Good and easy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

One of the worst nights I've had on the road

Posted Nov 27, 2016
The curtains barely block the window and bright lights are all over the place including right outside the room door. The place was LOUD. I'm a very solid sleeper and woke up repeatedly. Management didn't do anything. I would have been more rested sleeping in the car at a truck stop and a few dollars richer. On a positive note, I was glad the car was there in the morning and didn't have any broken windows.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Check in took some time and our 1st room was dirty

Posted Oct 27, 2016
The room we were assigned had stains in the comforter. Dark stains that could be seen as soon as you walked in the room. Then the desk area counter top had a big kool aid juice stains on it. We took pictures went back to the front desk and the guy wasnt sure he could give us another room. After about 10 min he figured it out for us
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Bugs In the room..Stay away

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: The locaqtion was great and there were quite a few Resturants near by.
There was at least 15-20 stink bugs in the room and in the bed. The Light above the Bathroom did not work. NO coffee maker, NO blow dryer, NO iron, NO frig.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington, NC

Nice room, great location!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: DOG FRIENDLY & Hickory, NC and surrounding area is AWESOME! We're definitely looking forward to next years trip!
Cons: The alarm clock in our room (#230) didn't work. No prob though, didn't really need it . . .
Location: Hickory, NC; Banner Elk, NC; Morganton, NC; Boone, NC - Google it . . . (Apple picking was a blast!)
We've stayed in hundreds of hotel's/motels since we've moved down south nearly 20 years ago, and Red Roof Inn is always our first choice. We'll be back, but I hope that our room has a working alarm clock next time . . . (Rm. #230) -PK & IK & Gus(always dog friendly & always very much appreciated!!!!!!!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Nice room. Would recommend this place to others. Also wouldn't mind staying again.