Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2019
The location is good. Unfortunately we dun have time to try the onsen. That night we saw a cockcroach inside our room, but we thought it's due to the unlock door and heavy rain outside. But overall staff was nice and good was good . But it would be great if renovation could be done as it is abit old though clean
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2019
It was our first visit to a ryokan and it lived up to our expectations. Helen took good care of us showing us the rituals. The meals were fabulous and the location on a quiet street overlooking the river was wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2019 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2019 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2019
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2018 on Hotels
I am very pleased with my stay here. The hotel is 10-15 minutes walk from the station but the hotel would send a pickup if you request at least a day before. The staffs are very welcoming attentive. The hotel lobby is nicely decorated and the room view is superb. Dinner is served in the room and food was amazing. There are two selections of onsens for each gender. They helped prepared a cake for my celebration and was kind to give me a gift! The hotel is located at the Nakahashi bridge and is very near to the old streets. The Takayama Jinya is just across the street. There is a duty free souvenir shop in the hotel which is very convenient. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Ryokan!!

Posted Dec 9, 2018 on Hotels
Great place to stay with excellent service
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Posted Dec 5, 2018
Wonderful staff who welcomed us and sorted things out during our stay. Loved that fact that there was another option for dinner the second night after we had experienced the kaiseiki meal on the first.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 27, 2018
Great ryokan experience. Staff was super nice and meals were delicious.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We will be back!

Posted Nov 5, 2018 on Hotels
We stayed in the sister hotel Honjin Hiranoya Kachoan. Service was impeccable as they accommodated our every request including pickup/drop-off from the train station & staff coming to our room to help us put on our yukata & kimono The traditional breakfast & kaiseki dinner were an experience not to be missed! Free kimono rental was a real treat as well Great location as it was within a few minutes walk to the red bridge & old town + the markets