Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Tatty hotel. Awful restaurant. $1200 for 2 nights!

Posted Oct 11, 2017
If you like time-warps to the 70s, decor that is chipped & worn, awful food in a restaurant with alll the ambience of McDonalds, then this is the hotel for you. It cost us $1200 for two nights (there was nowhere else due to the festival). The staff were lovely. Surreal experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Wonderful experience with Japanese style room and large hot spring pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ck

Not close to the bus station..

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Have to take a cab after arrival in evening Time. No shuttle bus service..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trabuco Canyon, CA

Nicest hotel in Takayama

Posted Jul 3, 2017
This is a nices hotel that the Japanese seem to favor. They like to use the public baths and onsen. We were not comfortable with that experience so did not use those facilities even though we were still charged the resort fee daily. There is a very convenient shuttle provided by the hotel to and from the train station. We also used it to get to our tours for shirakawago and our Takayama food and sake tour (so fun!!!) The carpet is a bit worn out. The restaurant choices are good if you get in too late to make the trek to the Takayama town restaurants.
5 out of 5
by Shu Keung Daniel

Comfortable Hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Close to shopping area and restaurants
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here before and in a premium room. They gave a smoking room when we asked for non smoking and just used an air purifier which couldn't take the smoke out of the beds or carpets. Beds were low quality and cheap like the other side of the hotel. Not a premium room at all - I could have saved a lot by just paying for a basic room. Had to check out early as room was causing a massive cough to myself and my wife. No apology or effort to make amends. Can be an ok hotel but not on this trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel - excellent staff

Posted May 28, 2017
Cons: More signs in English would be good.
Outsatnding from the moment the staff rushed out of the entrance to carry our bags when we arrived, right through to checkout. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room spotless and well equipped, the restaurant and hotel facilities - especially the onkan - excellent. We will return here when we next visit Japan.
5 out of 5
by Limin

Relaxing holiday !

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Really comfortable !! Had fantastic local food for dinner . It was raining on my second day and having an Onsen and shopping within the hotel makes up for it. The outdoor Onsen is peaceful .. highly recommended. The room is spacious so can relax on a rainy day. The only part which is disappointing is the location as it is located on the opposite of the train station and attraction area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Great hotel - obviously a little older but it has character and style. The kids loved the chocolate fountain at the buffet dinner and having sushi made for them on the spot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Nice onsen hotel stay

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Very spacious room, hotel facilities in new & good condition, staff speaks good English, free car park, convenient location with very short drive to tourist spots, comfortable onsen. However, buffet dinner is average. Overall, very nice onsen hotel stay!