Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Ralph

Need to upgrade beds/mattresses.

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
The Amenity Hotel is an older no frills place. The location is actually pretty great. It's very close to a bus stop so that you can easily get there from the Airport and/or use the bus to get to other touristy locations. Additionally there's area almost directly behind the hotel within walking distance that's filled with shrines (and other tourist stuff), tourist shops, and restaurants. The place is kept clean and they provided clean towels, shampoo, soap, etc, and service was fine. Our one major concern was the beds. We were in a two capsule room with a fold out couch for three people. The capsules have small mattress/mats that feel like craft foam over a hard board. Every 5-10 minutes I'd wake up because my hips or shoulder hurt. The second night I switched to the fold out couch. It was better. However it was so broken on one side that you sank to a hole in the middle and could feel the board or whatever underneath one side...We're not very picky, but the main requirement is the ability to get a good rest after walking all day and unfortunately that was not possible.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

A gem inside

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on CheapTickets
It might look a little bit old from outside, but we were positively surprised to find freshly renovated rooms with lots of space and comfort for our family of four.
4 out of 5
by Angela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by mariana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by MSCHEL from Petaling Jaya, Malaysia

Value for money

Posted Feb 27, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed there for one night, we booked a traditional Japanese style tatami (which I love!) family room which actually only fits 3 futons, but roomy nonetheless (not to forget there is a lift here for heavy luggage!). Check in was a breeze and the hotel staff was quite friendly. In the room, we can find a 'mini' vanity table with power outlets, a huge dining/living table, a TV, wall hangers (for clothes, of course), a built in 'closet' for beddings and stuff (which we helped ourselves with). The room has an en-suite bathroom as well, with standard Japanese bathroom facilities. The absence of air conditioning was not a problem as it was cold out (there was only a heater), so we cracked a window and let the cold air come in, as we are not used to sleeping in any warm condition. Thoroughly enjoyed the futon. There are quite some restaurants around, we had no trouble looking for food. The only 'not-so' minus to this place is that it is only accessible by bus/cab in a near distance. If there is another chance to visit West Japan, I would be sure to stay here again.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great location in Gion

Posted Feb 24, 2016
The hotel is clean, with friendly staff. I had a great time staying here. The location is great. There are many places to eat around. Short distance to many famous temples and shrines.
4 out of 5
by Stephanie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Close to Kiyomizudera temple

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: There are washing machines to wash our laundry
Cons: It's a budget hotel. I do not expect a lot of things
Location: It's at a convenient location for us to visit all our planned temples
Overall a nice stay but do not expect a lot of things as it is a budget hotel. It is also quite convenient with close proximity to several popular temples with the most prominent one -Kiyomizudera temple
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from .

2 Night in the History District in Kyoto

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: .
Location: Geon only with in 10 minutes walk
Location of Hotel is very convenience to many main attraction in Kyoto. Hotel could be reach with bus with in 10 minutes (230 yen per way from Kyoto station). You can just get a one day bus pass at 500 yen and get around the kyoto after check in. The room we booked actually can accomodate up to 5 person so is quite huge in the way for just two of us. Reception at first floor, lift available from ground floor only when the chinese restaurance is open 11am - 2.30pm and Evening probably 6pm - 10pm, so have to carry your luggage up to 1st floor if restaurant is close. Hotel and room are clean but the cushion in the room (tatami cushion) was 'worned out' but they still place them in the room.
4 out of 5
by Viet Phil


Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
The room i stayed in was a private 2 pod room which is good in size. Plenty of area for your luggage. It was my first time experiencing a pod. I have to say it was quite roomy. The pillows were hard. So i had a stiff neck when i woke up. Besides that the service was nice from the hotel. They change your sheets, linen and towels everyday. They also replenish your toothbrush and shaver too every morning around 10am. I had no charger for my phone and the front desk lend me one for the whole stay. For the price you pay, i think it is a bargain. After all it is just a place to rest so that you can recharge for the next morning to wonder their temples and shrines.