Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Nice hotel close to a train line.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Aesthetic, food, service
Cons: Better AC in the room
Location: The hotel is not in a particularly interesting area, but it is very close to a train station meaning you can get anywhere in the city easily.
I was very excited to stay in a tradition Japanese Inn. The service was awesome, the food was great, and the room was gorgeous. We had the garden view room, and particularly at night it was a very nice view. The only concern we had was that the air conditioning wasn't great; the room took a while to cool down after a long day. That being said, definitely a great place if you want to try the traditional Japanese ryokan!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017
More of an Inn than a Hotel - Room details unclear on site - Staff a bit grumpy at Breakfast Very expensive for what you get Old fashioned decor
4 out of 5
by Sik Fung

Will go back

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Newly renovated no.19 room is wonderful!! However 1 breakfast staff a bit impatient and without smiling face. But other staff are quite helpful and sweet. The environment and location is good as well so will definitely go back one day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by OKINAGA, Hotel Management
Dear Sik Fung, Thanks for your recent stay at our ryokan "Yachiyo". And we really appreciate with your kind review about our service, facilities, bath, meals and hospitality. We do respect your point of views and a little down side you have mentioned. The guest's review often indicate us where we need to consider for the improvement. As we are "ryokan" a traditional Japanese inn, we cannot be the global standard hotel, bu we can provide a very unique experience of cultural accommodation only in Japan. We hope you to select our ryokan again, and we kindly suggest you to check our other rooms. Every one of our rooms have different structure and uniqueness, and that is our specialty. Best wishes, Kyoto Garden Ryokan "Yachiyo"
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor value

Posted May 21, 2017
Pro: location in the east side of town, nice traditional feel, nice garden adjacent to the dining room Con: poor value for the money, facilities are aging, when I asked staff for restaurant recommendations, they just replied "we have food,"
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Kyoto Garden Ryokan "Yachiyo", Hotel Management
Thanks for your recent stay at our ryokan "Yachiyo". And we really appreciate with your kind review about our service, facilities, bath, meals and hospitality. We do respect your point of views and a little down side you have mentioned. The guest's review often indicate us where we need to consider for the improvement. As we are "ryokan" a traditional Japanese inn, we cannot be the global standard hotel, bu we can provide a very unique experience of cultural accommodation only in Japan. We hope you to select our ryokan again, and we kindly suggest you to check our other rooms. Every one of our rooms have different structure and uniqueness, and that is our specialty. Best wishes, Kyoto Garden Ryokan "Yachiyo"
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pricey

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Traditional style Ryokan about 5 mins walk from Kaege Station. For the price (US$750) I expected a lot more in terms of service and food. The room itself was spacious and I would definitely choose the one with a private bath.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Japanese style inn (ryokan)-kids enjoyed too

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Nice rooms. Very nice garden.
Location: Just down the street from Nanzenji Temple.
This ryokan is a great Japanese-style inn. Rooms and futons were comfortable. Japanese bath (ofuro) was basic, but nice. Although there were many other guests, we never heard any noise and we never saw anyone else in the ofuro bath. My kids loved it so much they went morning and night the 2 nights we were there! Food was OK, but if you need food accommodations, make sure to make it clear. The Japanese-style vegetarian breakfast contained fish broth. Location convenient to Nanzenji temple.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Authentic Japanese Ryokan experience

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Your paying for the experience. My family of four really enjoyed the full Japanese Ryokan experience. The meals were wonderful. The staff was extremely welcoming and attentive. The baths were also much appreciated after long days visiting the local temples. Finally the location was immediately along the main path past many of the most notable local temples.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Good ryokan experience in Kyoto

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Ryokan surround by beautiful garden and pond, if you are looking for a place to have ryokan experience this is it! Super comfy futon bed and soft tatami, but one thing that i doesnt like about the ryokan is they don't have toilet seat heater so you have to kind of bare it especially when it comes to the winter weather. The staffs are also very friendly and speak english well. Their keiseki dinner is very delicious and not to be missed! Good location for a short stay in Kyoto!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Amazing traditional ryokan in Kyoto

Posted Dec 17, 2016
My husband and I booked one night here and would have stayed longer had they had any more availability. The hotel staff were extremely welcoming, friendly, and accommodating. We purchased the traditional dinner and breakfast and couldn't have been more pleased. It was one of the best meals we had while visiting Japan. Wish we could have stayed longer.