Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced hostel

Posted Aug 27, 2017
If you want to experience a ryokan, this one is over priced, and don't do it more than one night, though the location is really great. Ikea futons are more comfortable. When you arrived tired from a long trip, finding a room where there is just a small low table in the room and nowhere to lay down comfortably, this is not exactly ideal. They eventually prepare the bed later in the evening. Room for baths is great, but probably not ideal when you go during the summer and it's already really hot outside. You are not necessarily seeking a room at over 100 degrees F / 37 degrees C. If you are sensitive to outside noise and light in order to sleep, this place is also bot for you as the walls are really thin, and windows are not covered letting light come in. Staff is kind, but probably as all ryokans, you need to follow specific rules. Again, fun for one night but that would be it.
5 out of 5
by Kathleen

Great service, charming traditional ryokan

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing service and beautiful traditional ryokan room. When we arrived, we received a quick tour of the hotel amenities (shared bath, bathrooms, and wash areas), and then went to our room (clean and comfortable), where we were served hot tea. The hot bath was the highlight of our trip - each guest can reserve 30 minutes in the hot bath room, which has showers, toiletries, and a medium sized wooden pool with hot water. So refreshing and relaxing to experience the day after we hiked Mount Fuji! Motonago is a bit of an older ryokan but the service was excellent and grounds were pristine. I'd recommend this to anyone looking for the traditional hotel experience while in Kyoto.
5 out of 5
by Allan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great experience. The location was excellent and it was fun being able to wander around after dinner when the crowds had gone. Staff were very helpful and made us feel welcome. The shared bathroom was great for a relaxing bath at the end of a long day. We were only able to book a small room which was fine as we were out all day. However if we were there for more than one night would have wanted a larger room.
5 out of 5
by William

Ryoken Experience

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
This was a great Ryoken experience. The staff was so helpful and amazing. When we arrived we realized we could have had meals as an add on that Hotels.com had not mentioned. The meals would have been nice--especially breakfast just to get the day started more easily. The area was a bit of a food desert as it took us a day to locate the good restaurants that were open past 7 pm. Be sure to reserve the bath and soak for a good long time AHHHHHH!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen

Authentic Ryokan ran by friendly people.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Located in the old town area of Kyoto and 10 mins walk into the busiest shopping/eating areas just over the river. Really authentic place ran by warm and friendly people. The rooms are as you'd expect in a Ryokan and the bathing rooms were as good as a spa we'd paid for a few days earlier, really nice. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Friendly traditional Japanese inn

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Great soaking tub, delicious Japanese breakfast, fabulous location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden gem in Gion District

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff, great location, comfortable. A bit pricey, but very worth it if you are looking to get the Japanese ryokan experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with friendly staff

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Great little hotel with amazing staff. Very traditional Japanese which is great fun to experience. The stay was made by the staff, very friendly, always available to help and genuinely wanted to make us have the best stay. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kyoto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely, authentic

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: very Japanese experience
Cons: nothing, it's all good
Location: in heart of temple district
The ryokan is beautiful, the staff is wonderful, the meals are great, the hot baths are great, and the essential modern conveniences are available (wifi, phones, AC). The room was very comfortable, but as the ryokan is traditional guests are required to use futons and low tables- so it's not for everyone. I would love to go back again....