Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
26% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.3 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Chung-Wen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should not be on your list

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Never come back to this property again. The heater is very noisy, couldn't sleep and the public area is so cold. It's not a ryokan , it s should be a motel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst experience I've ever had with a hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2016
The woman at the front desk was rude and tried to demand more money. There were no toiletries in the public bathroom and the light in the bathroom didn't work. It was loud and the walls are thin so you can hear all of the other tenants. The room was dirty and had broken furniture and one small pillow for three beds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Cons: If the accomodation makes an error with double booking, we should be told in advance and they should not expect us to pay for their mistakes.
We booked two double rooms with a bathroom. But when we arrived we were put in one tiny room (4 people) with no bathroom and two of the walls were sliding doors to other rooms. This was challenging as my son woke up early in the morning and disturbed the people in the room next door. But what could we do? We didn't have any walls for sound insulation. At first it was suggested by the owner that we just use 3 futons because the room was so small. Two of the pillows did not have pillow cases The owner of the hotel did not understand why we were upset and although she offered us a discount, it was not enough compensation for the inconvenience. On the second night we were given two rooms as we had booked, and we were happy with these rooms. Overall our experience was very disappointing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

FIne cheap place in Kyoto

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
Fine for the price
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

3 days of stay

Posted Jun 12, 2015 on Hotels
It's an affordable choice for those have a limited budget. However, there are few downsides come along with the cheap price. 1. Japanese style bed may not fit everyone. In my first day staying there, I could hardly get asleep before of the bed :( 2. In hotels.com this hotel seems to be quite close with the train, but actually this train line doesn't fit traveller well, as it cannot go to kyoto station directly.
1 out of 5
by Santtu from Rovaniemi, Finland

Terrible experience

Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was a great disappointment for us. They didn't find our reservation information from scattered paper notes, then the strict curfew at 24:00 come as an unwelcome surprise. The room had absolutely no sound protection and was next to a busy street with cars passing by all the time. Yet the most disturbing thing was that the room next to us and our room had only a thin sliding door in between and could not be locked! Also when going out we had to leave the keys in to a box near the front door where no one was watching. So you could just take your (or anyone's) key from the box and go to your room. The staff was also quite unwelcoming, and seemed to be annoyed by the presence of customers
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Only If Desparate

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: The heaters in the 2 rooms we used seemed to work well; the shower in our upstairs room had lots of hot water.
Cons: The ryokan does not have central heating, which means that the entranceway, hallways and shared bathroom facilites are freezing cold in the winter.
Location: While close to the National Museum and a subway stop, the neighbourhood has few restaurants or cafes services for visitors
Be warned - this establishment commonly overbooks, and the room you are expecting may not be available when you arrive. We had reserved an 8 tatami mat room with private bath and were put in a 2 mat room with shared facilities; being a weekend, we had no option but to take the tiny room being offered as nothing else was available in the city. The tatami mats were worn and disintegrating, there was a hole in the wall; the futons were worn thin. While we were given clean sheets and pillowcases, the underlying linen was dirty. There was no lock for the door. The second night, we were moved upstairs to our promised room, which was roomier, but still with disintgrating tatami mats and towels worn and thin as sheets. The host/owner was not friendly or helpful, and often difficult to find around the establishment - leaving the basket of room keys unattended and open for the taking. Then, when we went out for breakast on the morning we were leaving, we returned to our room to find our towels had been removed, before we had even checked out! If for some reason (e.g., budget restrictions) you are forced to stay at Ryokan Ohto, please don't don't judge all ryokans by this one; staying in one of these traditional guest houses/inns, can be a wondrful experience, but you are just not going to get that here.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a different room

Posted Oct 12, 2014
i booked a room with a bath, i was told it was available when booking. i arrived in the city late, informed them way ahead. there were no one receiving me, i was told to go to a room, it was 1/2 the size, with no bath. the bath is a floor away. i was later charged a reduced rate. i think a hotel should stick with the room you have booked.
4 out of 5
by Donny Osmonso from Jakarta, Indonesia

Great Place to stay

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels
I love staying at Ryokan Ohto. Had a chance to experience Japan's traditional room. The room was spacious. Comfort bed. The toilet and shower were clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was great. Surrounded by lovely neighbourhood. Close to the subway station and bus stop.