Ratings based on 375 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better to book the room without breakfast plan.

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was OK until I get my breakfast. The receptionist is friendly, the room is good, the location is very close to Kiyomizudera temple (only 9 minutes walk!). But the breakfast time is very late (8 AM) and not on time. When I got my breakfast, a grumpy woman served my pancake with no smile. Better to book the room without breakfast plan.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2016
價錢還算合理,地點不錯,環境跟床位都很乾淨,沐浴用品都有提供,不過浴室小了點。 非常推薦想到京都玩的朋友到這住住。
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville, NC

I would NOT recommend it

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: Location and lockers
Cons: Move to a quite area
Location: Good location, near several temples
This guest house is located near very busy intersection, which makes the room very noisy. The only way to deal with the noise is to close the window. This means that about a dozen of people sleep in one room with closed windom. As a result, an unpleasant stench develops and persists though the day. Another issue is that the reception is only open from 8AM to 9pm. This means there is nobody from staff in a critical time period in morning or evening to clean bathroom and/toilet when everyone is using them. The positive include good location and lockers. Overall, my recommendation is to find a different place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Wotif
Bit of a headache to reach from Kyoto station if u don't speak the language but taxi and bus ranks are within a couple of meters. Short walk to Gion and handy location for other places. Cosy atmosphere and those staying at the hotel get discounted meals in the cafe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Good location. Place was clean for a hostel. The beds were quite comfortable and spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and price.

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Cons: A guesthouse depending on the roommates who stays?
Location: Nearby bus stop Gojozaka. Take bus 206 from D2 bus platform at Kyoto station.
For a budget traveller you cannot beat for the strategic location by the bus stop. Close to Kyoto Station and Gion and well known temples. Our third time to stay in Kyoto during cherry blossoms season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good price and facilities

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Although it was one night stay, this guesthouse is a great choice to explore Kyoto as the location is quite convenient. Easily access to Kiuomizu temple, walkable to Gion(about 15min) and bus stops are just near there. The beds were comfortable and design ed to protect one's privacy. Make sure that you don't need kitchen because it doesn't have. But you can use hot water and microwave I suppose.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Solid youth hostel

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: atmosphere, attached cafe, value
Cons: wifi signal, bunk lighting
Location: Near Kiyomizu and national museum, but otherwise not a whole lot going on in the immediate area.
I only stayed in Santiago one night after a long leg traveling around Japan and a last minute decision to stay in Kyoto an extra night. Looking back, I wish I had stayed there longer. Its not like it was amazing, but definitely a great value. Of all the hostels I stayed in, the Santiago staff were really the only memorable ones. I didn't even talk to them that much, they just gave off a fun, relaxed vibe. Most seemed native to near-native English speakers. It definitely has a very backpackers hostel atmosphere- clientele skew young and western. The beds were comfortable, and spread out enough that other people's noise wasn't really a problem (a big drawback with other hostels I stayed in). The attached cafe is a plus, and opens early enough for morning coffee before heading out. Shower facilities seemed clean, and there were plenty of mirrors/sinks/hairdryers for everyone. Negatives: The toilets are separate from the other bathroom facilities. Like separate floors separate. So the only way to wash your hands was with the little automatic sink above the toilet that turns on when you flush (you can't adjust the temperature, no soap, blah blah i just thought it was inconvenient). Also- there were individual lights in the bunks but they were suuuuuper dim. I checked in early evening after a long day of hiking, so i just kinda wanted to chill in my bunk and read or something, but the lighting made it kinda difficult. Having said that, I think the price outweighs the negatives.