Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Bee Lan

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
We were so overwhelmed by the service making our first stay at a ryokan a truly memorable experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very cozy hotel.

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Very cozy Ryokan, staff are very polite and service quality is top notch. Very close to Kyoto station, a few minutes cab drive away, and within 15-20 min walk to many of the tourist sites. Subway station is a few minutes walk away. Public bath is a must try, very good. Only issues are the shower room smells moldy, as the ventilation is not good. Also the room we stayed in is facing a busy street and it can be noisy in early morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Wotif
A great Japanese experience staff were very friendly and looked after us extremely well, room was large and very quaint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B. Brisbane, Australia

Traditional Japanese style accommodation

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Very spacious and beautifully presented room. Staff are all very polite and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Beautiful, traditional ryokan ecperience

Posted Sep 16, 2016
My wife and I stayed in this lovely ryokan for 2 nights. It was beautiful and a privilege. The staff are great, nothing is too much trouble, their English is adequate. The place itself is lovely with good furniture and abtiques. We didn't spend enough time in the ryokan itself, as we were busy touring Kyoto, but hope to be back one day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taiwan

Friendly staff

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Traditional Japanese welcome and seeing goodbye by the side of main gate every time you are in and out of hotel. Very helpful and friendly staff makes stay more enjoyable !!
5 out of 5
by Yulia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Greatest Ryokan experience!

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Our family visit in June was amazing! This place is beautiful, rooms are very comfortable and it is centrally located. But, the best part is the staff! Warm and welcoming they were ready to assist and fulfill all of our request at any given moment! Tomo you are the BEST!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Warm, inviting, remarkable.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Let's just stipulate the room is beautiful and the food is utterly extraordinary (don't even think about booking the room only option.) The issue with ryokans is sometimes can they cope with us clumsy foreigners. Well, we felt treated with courtesy, friendliness and they had enough English we never had a problem. And above all, they are warm. Here's a story. We checked out, and nine hours later came back to pick up our bags, very hot and frazzled after a day in the sun seeing temples. Our lady attendant who served us our fabulous kaiseki meal the previous night and looked after us spotted us coming in again, and 30 seconds later there were suddenly two glasses of ice water in front of us. They didn't have to, but the thoughtfulness is wonderful. Just do it.
5 out of 5
by Dan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels