Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island, Canada

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 18, 2017
This is a wonderful place to stay while exploring the Peak District. Staff were exceptional. Meals excellent. Weather was on and off but it was September. We were able to hike from our room on some great trails. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Perfect spot!

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Great room, terrific staff and food was incredible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Beautiful and newly renovated cottage

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: It's ancient charm and friendly staff
Cons: We only ate at the Inn twice - dinner took a while (almost an hour) to get to us.
Location: Chatsworth House, Tam Mor and nearby hiking trails, scenic drives (e.g. Snake Drive)
We spent three comfortable nights at this newly renovated, beautifully decorated cottage. The kitchen is well equipped so we were able to self cater many of our meals. The cottage is within short (and very scenic) drives of nearby attractions such as Chatsworth House and hiking trails. The cottage has a few rough edges as it's still being renovated - our kitchen sink was pretty much non-functional as well as a half finished shower in the main bedroom. However the staff were very gracious in making amends for these inconveniences. The staff and at the Old Hall Inn were wonderful - friendly, considerate and generous. As well, the Inn of which the cottage is a part was charming.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Very clean, refurbished rooms, welcoming on arrival. Breakfast in morning excellent, dinner food very good quality but incredibly small portion size, I left hungry so would not recommend. Also room above bar with loud band music on till 1am should have been notified about this ahead of booking.
5 out of 5
by Hannah

Lovely stay, great room and breakfast

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely stay in a gorgeous room. Breakfast was also very good quality with lots of choice. Friendly staff and a great place to explore the Peak District.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly cosy hotel, went for business but ideal for a weekend away
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barnsley

Derbyshire stay

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: The hotel was ideally situated for visits to Buxton and Castleton. Due to its rural location a car is essential.
The hotel was located in beautiful surroundings and the room was clean and quiet with good facilities. There was a bar and restaurant offering an excellent choice of food, beer and wine. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was everything a breakfast should be.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Old Hall Inn Chinley

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Bedroom has pleasant stylish furnishings. Super food and real ale, although you have to ensure you book early to be sure to get a table.
Location: Located in the High peak most locations are only a 10 to 30 min drive away, or walks straight out from the Inn.
Great location for exploring the Peak District. We stayed in the Paper Mill rather than the main Inn building. Good clean bedroom and just above the pub. Some noise up to about 11pm otherwise fine. Both the Paper Mill and the Old Hall Inn have a great choice of real ales plus excellent restaurant and bar food.