Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Great building shame about the contents/service!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: The chef as his cooking is the best bit about this place.
Cons: The staff need to be trained further, the rooms need to be updated and fixed.
Location: There is a national trust park, hell cave and a church and monument on the steep hill that is great to walk up.
Arrived rooms were dated and somewhat clean (looking tired). Doors wide open in the room on arrival. Toilet roll holder had fallen off the wall and no milk of coffee had been provided with the tea bags . The service was OK but the language barrier i think was the main issue. The dinner was amazing and very surprising that it came from this inn. I think the chef is the only reason this place is still functioning! The food looked like it had come out of a four star hotel in London. However it was met with bad service as i was dining with a friend who received their meal 10 minutes before i received mine. In the evening the noise from the bar did drift into the hallway but this is to be accepted as its a pub. However the staff seemed to keep going in and out of room two that was next to mine through most of the night. They did not have a concept of understanding that they needed to be quiet in the night time and proceeded to go into the room next to mine and talk loudly for most of the evening. The Continental breakfast was just shocking. A few yogurts pots, a handful or cereal and the choice between 3 croissants and a random pastry is not up to the standard that i would expect with the money that we had paid. I thought that this might be down to the amount of people staying at the inn but i was wrong. As more and more people turned up for breakfast i was even more shocked that this is all that they had provided for people that had paid for a breakfast with their room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel convenient for Oxford

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Not very expensive
Cons: Rearrange rooms re bed, provide some ventilation, improve continental breakfast
Adequate but ground floor room small, double bed against wall, French window only so could not open window at night, no air conditioning either.
4 out of 5
by Judith

Good hotel for a short stay.

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
One night only, but very good room. The staff were helpful and very pleasant. We did not eat here, but had a drink in the comfortable bar area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
No one on reception to greet us. Key was just left out on desk with our name on to take. Booked double bed - only small double 4ft not 4ft 6 and one side of bed against wall so snug for two people. Bar was in darkness at 10.10 but barman advised still open. He was unfriendly and not keen to serve us. Booked breakfast to be included but hotel said breakfast not included. After showing my printed booking form breakfast was given. Cooked breakfast was great ( but would normally be extra - given to us free to make up for booking error) Continental was very poor. Hardly any choice. Yougarts were warm had not been refridgerated for some time, only two croissants in bowl and had to ask three times for more. No other choice of bread, or buns etc Fruit poor quality and un appealing. Only two glasses out next to orange juice and there were three of us. Had to ask for spoons, glasses, etc and waiter unfriendly , made us feel we were a nuisance. The only friendly staff was on reception desk in morning.
3 out of 5
by Charles

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Keith

Was OK

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Quite pub, food limited , room good size but needs cleaning better
4 out of 5
by Jonathan

Well price hotel in a nice location

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
First of all, like to say the the rooms are quite modern compared to what I thought they would be. Service is brilliant. I wanted to order dinner early and the staff were helpful, polite and got it sorted so I could settle down and get some work done. The Price for the room was exactly what I would expect. However the continental breakfast was a little bit sparse. You have a choice of a few cereals and Orange Juice. You can buy a cooked breakfast, but I dont think it would hurt having a few danish pastries, a different type of juice. All in all a nice stay.
4 out of 5
by Adam

Shabby chic cottage style hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
It is a perfect cottage style hotel, the food is amazing, with breakfast continental was free but if you want cooked food you have to pay an extra £2 for each person, When we got to our room it was freezing the heating was not on I asked the lady on reception and she turned it on, it would of been nice for it to be on as they knew we were coming, The staff were very nice and helpful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely dog friendly country pub/hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: The attitude of the staff, they did everything possible to make our stay pleasant & comfortable
Cons: It is a little picky but the bedside tables are a little too far from the bed!
Location: A google search will identify a good number of attractions nearby, you will need to be in a car though.
We were booking last minute so choice in the general area of High Wycombe for a dog friendly hotel was limited. This turned out to be a little gem!. The staff were really helpful, the room was very neat & well equipped with a comfortable bed & a first class bathroom. The restaurant provided good quality food, some nice beers and again very friendly service. It has a large safe car park, which for this visit was decorated for the Christmas season. Nearby are a number of places to visit, we went to Hughenden Manor which was also decked out for Christmas. All in all we had a lovely time and would definitely recommend this establishment.