Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Tucked away

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Stated just for one night but they had a room , a litttle our of the way but five mins from A40 . Nice evening meal bar shut little early but it was quiet .
4 out of 5
by Andrea

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Kate

only ok!

Posted Nov 27, 2017 on Hotels
Starting to look a little tired, also the bar had no license to sell alcohol! which signs posted said was a temporary thing. But be warned if you are going expecting to have a nice meal with booze! take your own.
2 out of 5
by Susan

No alcohol in hotel/inn

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
Arrived at hotel only to be told that there was no alcohol to be serviced as it was Stoptober.When we queried this we were then told they had no license.I was so annoyed and asked why they did not have the courtesy to email or telephone me beforehand.Not acceptable.We had to stay there as we were going somewhere in that area and only had 2 hours spare.Would never recommend the hotel.They did not seemed at all bothered about us.
5 out of 5
by Peter

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
very friendly staff
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Market Weighton

Comfy no frills

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: the bed
Cons: More friendly staff and rooms that have all equipment working properly.
Location: Chiltern Vallley winery and brewery tour and tasting and plenty of walking in the woods!
Staff could be more friendly, at least smile a little bit. We ate in the restaurant but had no hostess service and instructions on how to order food. We jsut figured it out on our own. Telephone in the room was not working, had to go up and down the stairs to request the heating to be turned on and to get some beverages. Overall, comfortable rooms, convinient location !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from united kingdom

Nice, close to a park.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Croissants for breakfast........good coffee. Hot showers. Quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Great building shame about the contents/service!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: The chef as his cooking is the best bit about this place.
Cons: The staff need to be trained further, the rooms need to be updated and fixed.
Location: There is a national trust park, hell cave and a church and monument on the steep hill that is great to walk up.
Arrived rooms were dated and somewhat clean (looking tired). Doors wide open in the room on arrival. Toilet roll holder had fallen off the wall and no milk of coffee had been provided with the tea bags . The service was OK but the language barrier i think was the main issue. The dinner was amazing and very surprising that it came from this inn. I think the chef is the only reason this place is still functioning! The food looked like it had come out of a four star hotel in London. However it was met with bad service as i was dining with a friend who received their meal 10 minutes before i received mine. In the evening the noise from the bar did drift into the hallway but this is to be accepted as its a pub. However the staff seemed to keep going in and out of room two that was next to mine through most of the night. They did not have a concept of understanding that they needed to be quiet in the night time and proceeded to go into the room next to mine and talk loudly for most of the evening. The Continental breakfast was just shocking. A few yogurts pots, a handful or cereal and the choice between 3 croissants and a random pastry is not up to the standard that i would expect with the money that we had paid. I thought that this might be down to the amount of people staying at the inn but i was wrong. As more and more people turned up for breakfast i was even more shocked that this is all that they had provided for people that had paid for a breakfast with their room.
4 out of 5
by Ronald

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
Pleasant, quiet, clean...so much better than a 'chain' hotel