Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Upgraded 100-Year old inn.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Off season, mid week (Oct.) is a great time to go as the crowds from summer and the weekend were gone and it was much quieter. Beautiful lake
Cons: Quicker service in the restaurant. Quieter AC/Heater
Location: Don't miss the super Zoo on the property, the hike around the lake, the hike to the Hudson River dock. Easy 45 min. drive to Hyde Park.
This was a comfortable stay in recently-upgraded comfort. The rooms in the inn were spacious, relatively quiet and modern with lots of wood, a great shower and bed! The AC/Heater was loud enough to wake you from sleep. The Bear Mt. Lodge consisted of large six-family stone houses with a common room for all--perfect for the family reunion. Ask specifically for the Bear Mt. Inn when booking if you prefer a private room. Wonderful, isolated area for hiking the Applachian Trail of just around the beautiful lake. Restaurant is on site for inexpensive food. Parking is included in the price (at $10 per night). Watch out for a hidden fee of $10 additional on your final bill.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Old dusty room. No hotel phone to call desk. Awful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointment

Posted Aug 16, 2016
This hotel was a disappointment because the pictures were not correct with what you expect. When we checked in the room was far from all attractions. There was barely a staff at the hotel to help you enjoy your stay. The hotel was like a "self-service" hotel. I also didn't feel secure at the hotel especially when you need walk a distance during the night in the forest to get to your room. There was no security at all. In all my years of traveling this was truly disappointing. Although the 1915 Restaurant service was good especially their meals. I advise you to doublecheck with the inn to know for sure what you expect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Misrepresented

Posted Aug 6, 2016
The building where we stayed was not the one pictured on Expedia. It smelled musty. The bathroom did not have a fan and mold could be seen on the ceiling. The chairs and tables on the balcony were dirty and peppered with cobwebs and spiders.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty location.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Very nice location.
Cons: Poor communication when you first get to the hotel. You have to go about a mile away, check in, get a key, then drive back.
Location: Pretty area, decent places to eat in town.
Pretty location. We were there on a Weds in the summer and the car show was a really nice extra for us to enjoy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room helpful staff. Thoroughly enjoyed stay.

Posted Apr 26, 2016
I arrived late with a booking mix up (my fault) and reception staff were great at helping me sort it out and getting me a nice room for the night. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Good buffet breakfast and excellent location at the base of the trails.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great surroundings

Posted Mar 29, 2016
The lodge was basic but a great place to unwind and go for walks. We stayed in March and so the lodges and hotel were quiet as out of season. As such, the walks and scenery were great. Just what we needed to rest and unwind. We traveled up from Grand Central in New York by train and would suggest training up to Peekskill and then a taxi to Bear Mountain ($27). Otherwise, I would suggest hiring a car in order to fully explore the surrounding towns.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Badly out of date!

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Badly out of date! Although my reservation was for the Overlook lodge, they put me in one of the smaller cabins halfway down the hill. Small room, small bathroom, and the television was almost as old as I am. The staff was good, but they get no help from management with regard to reinvesrment
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Cute cabin

Posted Mar 20, 2016
The thing that was a little annoying about this place is we drove all the way up to the Overlook Lodge only to realize by a little sign on the door that you have to check in at the Bear Mountain Inn down the road first first, then we got assigned to a cabin that was not the Overlook Lodge. The cabins have a few private rooms to them, with private showers in the rooms so you don't ever interact with the other cabin guests. Heat and AC is controlled by one thermostat in the common room of the cabin which could get interesting if the other guests of the cabin prefer a different temperature. Rooms are tiny although for a romantic getaway this turned out to be overall perfect other than those little quirks. Common rooms have a coffee maker and a refrigerator, and there a patio at each cabin overlooking a lake where you can sit and enjoy the view while having a cup of coffee. From the cabins you can easily walk down to a trail which goes around the lake and is an easy walk on a paved road with a few hills, saw a few elderly couples on it. Using the trail you can walk to the Bear Mountain Inn which we did and had a great lunch at the restaurant upstairs at the Inn. Walking to the inn if you want to have lunch there is better than driving to the Inn because it's $8 to park at the Inn and it's free parking for the cabin guests by the cabins. Overall it was in a beautiful location, even though the rooms weren't the most luxurious, it's a great deal and we will definitely come back here
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Froze heat in cottage broke down due to freezing w

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Staff made every effort to help had a room change.The cold affected our visit. We could have been offered a perk None offeredy