Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Short stay

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: That it was in Bear Mountain State Park.
Cons: The zoo and gift shop to open earlier. I was not able to visit the zoo due to an early flight in New Jersey.
I loved the hotel. It is awesome that the hotel is in the park. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Everything was beautiful. I will be back and would recommend this place to people that enjoy the outdoors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Scenic comfort

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Cons: The only thing to improve is the heating system which was quite noisy switching on and off.
We found the hotel to be peaceful and scenic, with spacious rooms. We had a room overlooking the lake which we walked around during the day and went to the nearby historic sites and the nearby rescue zoo. The restaurant was great and the breakfast in the morning which is part of the package was excellent. The place is charming. We'll be back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Breathtaking scenery.

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Scenery makes the stay. Breakfast very good. Bathroom way too small, large red lit exit sign in bedroom made sleep a challenge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Nice clean quiet hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Beautiful historic hotel, lovely updated rooms, very quiet and peaceful this time of year. (Feb).
4 out of 5
by Wesley

Problems and Solutions

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
There was no hot water in our unit and unfortunately the staff did not work either expeditiously or effectively for a lengthy period of time to remedy the problem until the manager, William, stepped in and quickly resolved the issues and made the balance of our stay very much enjoyable. We look forward to going back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cortlandt N.Y

Beautiful quiet lodge

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Beautiful clean quiet lodge, room was spacious. The breakfast was very good, not your usual fare.###################
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, awful service!

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
LOVE this park! Lodge rooms are clean, but dated. Average size, nothing special. Come for the location in the park and the views of the lake and the Hudson River. As many others point out, breakfast is free but is in the main lodge building down the mountain and down the road. Not really walking distance. Service was AWFUL! We had three rooms booked under our name, all with the same confirmation number and name. Were given a poor (first floor, no view, right next to the exit door) room location, which I sometimes think is common for bookings through discount sites. Come time to check out, there was NO reservation for us, and no record of us having stayed at the hotel. Once it was located, it was for a different rate as the one we had paid through hotels.com. Check your bill!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful. Friendly. Highly recommended.

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
The customer service was great. From the wait staff at 1915 to Ryan at the front desk, it was all pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Upgraded 100-Year old inn.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Off season, mid week (Oct.) is a great time to go as the crowds from summer and the weekend were gone and it was much quieter. Beautiful lake
Cons: Quicker service in the restaurant. Quieter AC/Heater
Location: Don't miss the super Zoo on the property, the hike around the lake, the hike to the Hudson River dock. Easy 45 min. drive to Hyde Park.
This was a comfortable stay in recently-upgraded comfort. The rooms in the inn were spacious, relatively quiet and modern with lots of wood, a great shower and bed! The AC/Heater was loud enough to wake you from sleep. The Bear Mt. Lodge consisted of large six-family stone houses with a common room for all--perfect for the family reunion. Ask specifically for the Bear Mt. Inn when booking if you prefer a private room. Wonderful, isolated area for hiking the Applachian Trail of just around the beautiful lake. Restaurant is on site for inexpensive food. Parking is included in the price (at $10 per night). Watch out for a hidden fee of $10 additional on your final bill.