Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room helpful staff. Thoroughly enjoyed stay.

Posted Apr 26, 2016
I arrived late with a booking mix up (my fault) and reception staff were great at helping me sort it out and getting me a nice room for the night. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Good buffet breakfast and excellent location at the base of the trails.
2 out of 5
by lilia from New York city

Nice but not great

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Overpriced in my opinion
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mixed bag.

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
For one night in the way home was fine. Room lacked a night table or light on one side of the bed. Had been sort of updated. Dog fee was outrageous and not told how much while booking. Boarding would have cost less, though nice to have her with us in Bear Mt. As others have noted, stop and sign in at Inn. Good breakfast at the Inn.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great surroundings

Posted Mar 29, 2016
The lodge was basic but a great place to unwind and go for walks. We stayed in March and so the lodges and hotel were quiet as out of season. As such, the walks and scenery were great. Just what we needed to rest and unwind. We traveled up from Grand Central in New York by train and would suggest training up to Peekskill and then a taxi to Bear Mountain ($27). Otherwise, I would suggest hiring a car in order to fully explore the surrounding towns.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Badly out of date!

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Badly out of date! Although my reservation was for the Overlook lodge, they put me in one of the smaller cabins halfway down the hill. Small room, small bathroom, and the television was almost as old as I am. The staff was good, but they get no help from management with regard to reinvesrment
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value for fantastic cozy room

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
View from the porch was beautiful, when you walk in there's a very warm and inviting feeling to the stone cottage, the room was clean, tv worked fine and the staff was very helpful and considerate. Only problem was the water temperature changing from hot to cold in the shower unexpectedly, but will definitely be coming back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Cute cabin

Posted Mar 20, 2016
The thing that was a little annoying about this place is we drove all the way up to the Overlook Lodge only to realize by a little sign on the door that you have to check in at the Bear Mountain Inn down the road first first, then we got assigned to a cabin that was not the Overlook Lodge. The cabins have a few private rooms to them, with private showers in the rooms so you don't ever interact with the other cabin guests. Heat and AC is controlled by one thermostat in the common room of the cabin which could get interesting if the other guests of the cabin prefer a different temperature. Rooms are tiny although for a romantic getaway this turned out to be overall perfect other than those little quirks. Common rooms have a coffee maker and a refrigerator, and there a patio at each cabin overlooking a lake where you can sit and enjoy the view while having a cup of coffee. From the cabins you can easily walk down to a trail which goes around the lake and is an easy walk on a paved road with a few hills, saw a few elderly couples on it. Using the trail you can walk to the Bear Mountain Inn which we did and had a great lunch at the restaurant upstairs at the Inn. Walking to the inn if you want to have lunch there is better than driving to the Inn because it's $8 to park at the Inn and it's free parking for the cabin guests by the cabins. Overall it was in a beautiful location, even though the rooms weren't the most luxurious, it's a great deal and we will definitely come back here
5 out of 5
by Brenda from Delaware

Enjoyed the Beautiful Nature

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed in the Overlook Lodge. I didn't realize I had to stop at the Inn to check in so I had to schlep down the hill. I tried to login to WiFi but, received only 'Limited' connection (just wanted to check my e-mail...oh well). However, I feel these small inconveniences didn't detract from the experience. I opened my window and listened to the beautiful song of a burbling stream all night. It was a very restful sleep. I awoke to the beautiful scenery outside my window. How perfect! The breakfast was delicious and the staff very friendly. I would definitely stay again (however, I'll check what's going on at Westpoint first to avoid the high price).