Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ithaca

Bad Choice room 207 WARNING

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Friendly nice person at the desk
Cons: Repairs, repairs, repairs, Maintain the premises, Cleanliness,
We arrived late to Room 207. The wife was cold so she worked on the air handler. I went to help, and when I touched it the front cover fell onto the floor. I then noticed the air filters as I put the cover back in place. They were coated with debris. Also once we got the air handler working, it wouldn't function on the setting we chose. The room smelled to high heavens... One of those kind where you have to wash all of your clothing afterwards.... That sucked. I went to plug in my CPAP and touched the headboard to get to the receptacle behind. The headboard fell off the bed!!!! Also the receptacle was very loose in the wall. The shower door was off track. The toilet does not provide the proper spacing between it and the wall. The bathroom window is a sheet of opaque plastic... no security. The laminate flooring has been wet and is beginning to curl.... Some pillows were plastic covered... So my reaction was that I felt bad about staying in that room and that when I got out of bed in the morning I felt just as bad about it. We left as early as possible in the morning and booked a room at a different hotel. Where they were kind enough to allow us to check in early.... The first thing we did was use the shower to scrub our selves!!!! Thankyou so much Hampton Inn!!! By the way, the lady at the desk was nice. However when we put our hand on the door knob, the dog laying at the base of the door inside began growling at us. 2nd red flag.... first was the parking situation.....!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016
The greatest part of staying there was the warmth and friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. I know, with time and renovation, it will be an amazing place to stay. Thanks for everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's descent you get what you pay for

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Upstairs rooms were extremely noisy in the morning . room was okay . Bed was comfy if your looking for something cheap for the night This is a good spot not much parking tho !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Posted Sep 12, 2016
The paint was old scuffed and dirty. The furniture was worn and ugly and mismatched. There was lots of mold on the ceiling tile above the shower. There was a big spider in the corner which was dirty. Areas around the baseboards were dirty. Bed had two flat pillows. It is clear that not much is reinvested in the facilities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Not pleasant.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: We were passing through and we needed a place to stay.
Cons: Paint the walls, repair the bathroom fixtures, check on the ventilation.
Location: We needed to be at Vassar early in the morning, and the location was good for that.
Hotel staff very friendly, and bed linens were clean. But room smelled like stale cigarettes that were trying to be covered up by air freshener. Smell got into everything in my suitcase. It seemed that perhaps the smoke smell was coming through the vent in the bathroom. (Is there a smoking room above this room?) Toilet paper holder and towel rod were broken. Walls were unadorned and dirty. (A gallon of paint is very cheap and would have gone a long way toward making the room nice.) Breakfast was a coupon for a coffee and bagel at the bagel shop next door. Bagels were good, but we don't drink coffee, and we had to pay for an alternative (juice).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Interesting

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Staff, room ok, looks like they are trying to upgrade. AC worked well. Convenience store right across the road.
Cons: Continue upgrading rooms.
Location: HudsonValley, close to many sites and attractions.
Right off the highway, nice young man apologized for not having both rooms we asked for, because of a power failure. Maybe why wi-fi didn't work well. Good location though. King room good size with hide a bed couch, office staff happy to do anything to make our sta y better. Double room, very small with good shower. Funky office, either use the phone outside the door or push a doorbell to get someone to come down from upstairs. Breakfast was at the connected bagel place and was fine. Staff very accommodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large clean and comfortable room.

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: The nightly rate represented a nice value.
While this was an older motel, the room was large, very clean, well appointed and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Three out of five stars. My room was clean and comfortable. The woman at the front desk, who checked me in an out, was polite and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Good place to crash

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: Price and location
I need a reasonably priced place to stay near Hyde Park while taking a week long class at the Culinary institute of America. The room was clean, housekeeping great and the staff was friendly. However, not the greatest neighbors in the world. If you just need a place to sleep, it's a good deal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not worth the price

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: It was quiet
Cons: Clean the hall and elevators. New furniture and take care of the dirt and mold in the bathroom. Breakfast need more varity.
Location: We only spent the night after the sheep and wool festival.
The beds were confortable but the furniture in the room was old and worn. The sofa had claw marks and clearly needed to be replaced. The bathroom had mold on the ceiling and the corners were not clean. The icemaker did not work and any dishes and utensiles had to be retreived from the desk. All the drawers and cabinets were empty-why bother to have a kitchen area when there was no way to use it. the hallways and the elevator needed to be cleaned. The breakfast consisted of packaged muffins and coffee with coffee mate. The price was close to $200.