Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LI, NY

Abominable

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Honestly...it's so bad, it seems like a comedy sketch. I think they overbooked, and didn't really have a "real" room available..so they offered us a "choice" of two subterranean dwellings, one w a queen bed, other king. I included pics, cause to just try to describe them wouldn't do justice. Especially the "mystery door", as we called it...with a duct taped drape over it. In the end, after laying on top of bed fully clothed at night..we left and drove 2 hrs to go home.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rome, NY

convenient and modest

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: close proximity to the Walk over the Hudson. If you're here for the history and attractions and just need a place to lay your head, this is it.
Cons: rooms are dated, but clean.
Location: Walk across the Hudson, Hudson rail trail and Dutchess rail trail, micro breweries, Brotherhood Winery 35 mins south. Hyde Park,FDR library very close
hotel was convenient to the walk over the Hudson. I didn't want to pay a lot of money, so this hotel fit the bill. clean room, clean linens, clean lobby. nice place to stay, no frills, just what I wanted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good budget option. Hudson Walkway nearby.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location to activities and good food and drinnk.
Cons: The room was clean, but there was a fine white powder on many of the surfaces. I assumed it was residue from cleaning supplies. I wiped it off.
Location: Walkway Across the Hudson, Poughkeepsie, Hyde Park, FDR Library, Val-Kill Cottage. Hiking and climbing in New Paltz, as well as some great taverns.
This is a good budget option if you want to explore this area. We were within walking/biking distance of the Walkway Across the Hudson. Easy access to both Poughkeepsie and New Paltz for lots of activities and food options. A short drive, medium bike ride to Hyde Park and the Culinary Institute. The Motel itself was a bit dated, but clean. The staff were professional and courteous.
4 out of 5
by Nancy

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Close to Walkway Over the Hudson, restaurants, Vassar College. Motel is a bit outdated, but clean. Owners friendly, helpful. Would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by warren

So much potential yet so depressing.

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
First impression: the property is beautiful, expansive grassy areas with tall evergreens. The lady at the front desk was friendly and very accommodating. She personally led me to my room, down the stairs from the lobby through a dimly lit hallway in a partial basement (???) She commented that I had a choice of two rooms and opened the door to the first one. It was pretty bad, the first thing I noticed was there was a very large area surrounding the air conditioner that was patched with bare, unpainted plywood. I asked her to show me room #2. It featured stained and peeling wallpaper, extensive mildew stains on the bathroom door molding and a very deteriorated faux wood floor. I'm sorry to have to say this because the lady was so nice but look at these rooms! They look like they should be featured in "Gulag Housekeeping". Seriously, do some improvements, or just close!!
2 out of 5
by Lori A

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Terry

Ok for budget.

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
The room was large, old, grounds pretty. Lock on door was sub-standard. Electric sockets were so worn that we had to bend the plugs to make them stay in. Shower was so hard, like a pressure washer, it hurt! Beds were very comfortable. Quiet place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed in town to hop on the train to Yankee Stadium the next morning. Would choose a different stop next time. The local area is very dull and run down. Very little to do. The accommodations were lackluster and there was a bit of an unpleasant smell throughout the entire building. The location was easy to find and the building looks nice from the outside. The service from the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. Excellent staff, mediocre comfort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quick trip

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
Place is very small but my room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Good for a one night stay.