Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Mary from Atlanta

Disappointing

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: It's history.
Cons: All mentioned above.
Location: Everything. Downtown is within a short walking distance.
We booked because this used to be THE place to stay in Highlands. The prices are still high, but the quality has gone down. The rugs were threadbare, the heating inconsistent, there was no breakfast offered with the room and only a ten percent discount if you slept and ate there. WiFi was 'way down the hall and the window shades would only stay up if we tied them to the window lock. or me, the bed was too soft and the pillows too overstuffed. My husband had no problem with these last two things, however. I must say I am deeply concerned for the town of Highlands if they lose this grand dame of a hotel. If someone does not give more attention to this place, the only solution will be demolition and that will be a shame. Losing this place will change the whole character of the town and the main street.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint and Cozy Inn in Highlands

Posted Nov 14, 2013
Pros: We liked the great bed, cleanliness, quiet, free internet, front desk staff, and breakfast.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: The best of location. A 4 star restaurant is across the street and a great Italian restaurant, Panullo's is right next door. All shopping is a short
This historical inn was exactly what we expected in Highlands. We have stayed in the best of the best across the world and this hotel was very good for an old historical inn. Was it a 4 Seasons? No, but we felt right at home and very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by Mike from Ft Myers

Historic but Cramped and Uncomfortable

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Musty and old. Fairly clean but not at all fresh. Staff was great but the room and bathroom are small and uncomfortable. There seems to be a fine line between historic and crummy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

This is not a luxury hotel, it is an Inn

Posted Nov 28, 2011 on Hotels
This Inn was built in the late 1800s and as such it lacks many comforts that most of us have come to appreciate. Some may call this charming, just know ahead of time what to expect. My husband wanted to watch the Thanksgiving football games but the 19", bulky TV was crowded into a vintage chest of drawers and was very difficult to see. The bathroom had no place at all to set toiletries and the fan was annoyingly noisy. Overall the quaint nature of the Inn had charm, but the peeling wallpaper and worn furnishings made me think an update is due. The breakfast food was very good and the service was prompt. The location can't be beat and there is charm for sure, but as I said, an update would really be an asset.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from westminster, sc

Highlands Inn, Highlands, NC

Posted Oct 29, 2011 on Hotels
The Highlands Inn is conveniently located in this small picturesque, mounetain town. Built in 1880, it is beautifully furnished with period antiques. An exquisite breakfast is included. The Inn is on the main street, within easy walking distance to all the shops and eateries. It would be well worth the trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highlands Inn @ Highlands, NC

Posted Oct 22, 2011 on Hotels
Quaint old Inn with lots of character. Enjoy my stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marietta, GA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2011 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alpharetta,Ga.

Old but reliable

Posted Sep 7, 2011
This hotel I have stayed at many times in the past.It has always been comfortable but now I think it is time for an update. It is gone beyond quaint to now outdated.Our bed was good but there were no black out curtains just valences with blinds .The street light was right outside our window so it was very bright even with the lights out.It is in the heart of the town of Highlands and is across the street from the Old Edwards Inn,a 4 star resort. Its not to compare to that but its not up to par at all.Our TV was a 19 inch old one on a shelf in an armoire below the eye level of the bed. Its not a good deal pricewise anymore to me with these kind of problems. its clean though and friendly staff so I would stay here again just b/c I love Highlands and there is not too many choices. The breakfast used to be a wonderful buffet but now it is served. Normally that would be fine but there were not enough waiters to feed the crowd and we waited along time for our food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highlands Inn

Posted Aug 4, 2011 on Hotels
The Highlands Inn is very dated but has a wonderful, homey atmosphere. It is also a great location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, AL

Location is superb; otherwise it is minimalist hotel.

Posted Jun 22, 2011
The greatest thing about this hotel is its location in Highlands, NC. Of course the hotel is very old, and it has many of the aspects of old hotels--character and charm, but: floors creak, no place to put anything in the bathroom, television old-old and small, the computer afforded guests belongs in a museum. The staff is very nice and accommodating. The breakfast is excellent. The bed is comfortable. The room is clean. In Highlands it is very nice to be able to return conveniently after walking around town or to a restaurant. If you are not hung up on modern conveniences, this place will be good for you. During the season, hotels in Highlands are expensive. The rates at this hotel would seem high for what you get, but that is generally true with most of the hotels there. It is the mountains, culture, atmosphere of Highlands that brings people to the area. If you are not looking for new, shiny, ultra convenience, you will get along fine at the hotel.