Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

exceeded expectations !

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Couldn't have loved it more! Hotel takes you back in time. Would recommend Mountain Fresh for breakfast and Paoletti for dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Up-upscale, beautiful landscaping, classic dark wooden beams/paneling, best location, good food,excellent staff, some "over trained", thus annoying. Campus atmosphere requires walking-unless you stay in main bldg.Heated-tile floor in bathroom is nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Had an amazing stay at the hotel! Every staff member was friendly, the campus beautiful and the room clean and elegant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Excellent. High end with many quiet areas to just hang out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great weekend getaway

Posted Sep 12, 2016
As a northeaster I would describe it as the Hamptons of the NC mountains. Not cheap, but worth every dollar. Great restaurants and plenty to do for the outdoorsman.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Very quaint setting in the mountains and very relaxing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury with out sacrificing nature

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Accommodations and the Madison restaurant.
Cons: The spa appointments. We got bumped to the last appointment of the day after making the reservations in advance.The masseuses were great!
Location: Location was great! You can go to the Spa,pool,fishing,golf,hike,fitness center&different types of workouts every day Very cute town&shops
Great weekend relaxing on the NC mountains.The food was very good specially the fresh trout. Great hiking and a visit to the spa at the resort is the cherry on top of the weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta suburbs

Lodge offers extra space and privacy

Posted Jul 30, 2016
First trip to Highlands for a brief get away. Highly recommend both Highlands and Old Edwards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Anniversary getaway...👌🏻

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Great little getaway in the perfect hotel and town!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

So disappointed..

Posted Jan 3, 2016
I was looking forward to going to going here. My husband & I made reservations to stay several days after Christmas. In October, I called the spa to book a couples massage. Overall, the hotel is nice. Our room was clean & spacious. My husband & I showed up to the spa for our 11 am appointment, to find out that it was never actually made. Considering it was one of the main reasons we went, I was pretty upset. They were able to fit us in for massages about 1.5 hours later. So we went ahead and had lunch at the spa (which was basically $40 for mediocre chicken salad and hummus.. Don't waste your time or money!) and waited patiently for our delayed appointments. Unfortunately, my husband and I were separated for our appointments and my massage therapist was terrible. He was a loud breather and I could hear him loudly sigh multiple times through our appointment. The massage did not feel good, in fact he was almost rough and sloppy when it came to appropriately draping me and whatnot. The lights in the room weren't dimmed. I couldn't wait for it to end. Then when I found out my husband had the same experience, we were pretty upset about paying nearly $400 for such a terrible spa day. Oddly enough, I heard another customer complaining about how they screwed up her appointment. She said "my husband and I got married here last year and I feel like we are barely getting base service". Touché my friend. NEVER going back.