Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Greta

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, very good restaurant and helpful staff! We will stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Historic town center

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: My room and my overall visit was excellent.
Location: Hildesheim is a beautiful city with fascinating architecture.
Comfortable stay which was like being at home. Hotel facilities and staff are excellent. Historic city center is right outside the front door.
1 out of 5
by Donald

look elsewhere

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
room was very warm,only way to cool it off was to open window...which was not good with a open grassy area outside of itThe room we were given was next to the lift so we had to listen to that all night.This hotel has no bell hop and nowhere to unload your suitcases from the car. The front desk gentleman told me car would be ok out front for a few min. I returned in 8 min to find a $15 ticket on the window. Breakfast was not included in price and even though they cold make eggs to order...there was never a cook at the station to make them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your frankly words. We apologize for the inconvenience. Our hotel is located directly in the city center of Hildesheim. In fact of that prime location we have no own parking spaces. Therefore we work together with a public car park underneath the hotel. We have also an additional entrance from the car park into the hotel. You have the possibiity to unload your suitcase in front of the hotel and leave them at the reception while you park your car. It is not allowed to park your car longer than 5 minutes in front of the hotel. Unfortunately we have no influence on that beacause the area is public. Our finance department already paid the 15 € for you for the ticket. We are sorry about the trouble and would be happy to welcoming you again in our Van der Valk Hotel Hildesheim.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Luxurious hotel for a low price and in town centre

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Picturesque hotel located in the town centre of Hildesheim. My wife and I both like this hotel, because it feels very luxurious, with a lot of character, but without the high costs. There is a car park underneath hotel, but be careful when driving in and out, as it is very easy to scratch your car!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2016
This hotel with the many amenities would be a 5 star luxury hotel in the U.S.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Very nice hotel, great staff and location

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: staff, room, location
Cons: softer beds and stronger internet
Location: The area has tons of shopping, restaurants right there and quite a few historical churches within walking distance
Really liked it here. The staff was very polite and for the most part spoke English well. If they didn't then between their English and my little German they were very patient with trying to communicate. The room was nice, though it seems European beds are just always kind of hard. I didn't have great internet connection in my room which was frustrating, but I did have it when I was at the café outside so that was nice. The area has tons of shopping, restaurants right there (most are closed on Sundays just fyi) and quite a few historical churches within walking distance. Most people did speak at least a little English, but not all so I highly recommend being prepared with the basics.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best in town without a doubt

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Stupendous location in old classic with magnificent woodwork in lobby. A bit disappointed to see that the room had been renovated in a modern corporate style which didn't match the old wood. Amazing staff. I emailed a week later to ask about something we left behind and they replied immediately and sent it along. Only negative was very thin cheap towels, otherwise I doubt you could do better in Hildesheim. Also, eat at the Dorado steakhouse. Amazing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Well-located but not luxurious hotel.

Posted May 23, 2016
The Van der Falk Hotel looks very beautiful on the outside, but its renovation has not been done well, and it offers its guests little. Our room was OK, but not especially attractive and it had a small window with a lousy view (if there are rooms opening onto the square, you might ask for one of them). Breakfast was OK, but not, I thought, special in any way (no single item was memorable) - I have to say that my wife liked it a lot, however, and thought I was being too fussy. The front staff was helpful enough, but I've stayed in far friendlier places. Downstairs there was a pool, but it was in a dark space, without windows, and we didn't feel like going in. And the lobby and public spaces are cramped and uninviting. There may well be no better hotel in Hildesheim, but if so, I wouldn't aim to spend a vacation here.
5 out of 5
by William from London

Great location

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
Warm welcome, great room with high ceiling looking straight out onto the very picturesque Markt square. Clever combination of old and new. All staff very friendly, even if service could be quicker at times.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels