Ratings based on 1,083 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Location and parking
Cons: Update the rooms and ac unit.
This hotel is older, the location was good. Parking was good. The room seemed a bit outdated.The AC was loud, but it worked. I would stay there again, but pay the extra for a room overlooking the water. The staff was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Nice Hotel in Hilo

Posted Sep 15, 2017
We stayed one night on the big island and would stay here again. Restaurant downstairs was good and convenient with an awesome view. Comfortable bed and clean room, a little older looking building inside than what pics show but nice. Helpful staff. Would recommend to a friend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

You get what you pay for

Posted Sep 14, 2017
The hotel location is good and the staff are doing whatever they can to make your experience good, but the hotel facilities are dated. The room was dark and had a musty smell to it. We could hear the elevator motor from our room and it was so loud that it woke us up throughout the night. They allow people to smoke on the balconies on the 8th floor. The discount price of these accommodations reflects all of the above. We cut our stay at the Hawaiian short and stayed at a lodge in the village of Volcano instead. We loved it there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Nice location.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Stayed two nights. Close to downtown and Volcano National Park. Restaurant a bit pricy, but downtown has some nice choices. Good view of harbor and decent complimentary parking. Spacious room and lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great location, Needs some updating

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Location, restaurant, parking, pool.
Cons: New carpet and paint. WiFi
Location: Helicopter tours at the airport, snorkeling, lava boat tours.
If you're staying in Hilo this is centrally located and easy to get to. Ample parking and nice view over the lagoon. It looks like it was updated in the 90's but could really use another update. It was clean but felt old. Nice to have a restaurant and bar/lounge on location, like everything in Hawaii they are overpriced in my opinion. Pool was good, getting towels was a challenge but not impossible. On site concierge too for last minute trips and excursions. Had one of the annoying motion sensors on the A/C that lets the room get pretty warm during the day, but it wasn't too hot when we there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Hilo Town and Hilo bay

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, clean spacious rooms.
This hotel was located right along Hilo bay so the views were great and if you like walking you could walk at Hilo bay park. It was convenient to walk over to see the boat races that were taking place that weekend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Friendly staff. Hotel facility is old and tube is clogged.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The hotel is nice and the staff is amazing! Very helpful and happy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maui

Quick visit

Posted Sep 3, 2017
I like this hotel the best of all the Hilo choices (and I've stayed at the others, traveling for work lots). Consistently a very clean room, comfortable bed, helpful pleasant staff, great location and view and free parking!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Restaurant Needs Special Attention

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Parking was easy.
Cons: The restaurant served cold food when it should have been at least warm. (Eggs, potatoes, bacon) Coffee cup sat empty after first cup no more offered.
Location: Nearby is Lava Boat tour and Macadamia nut plantation with ability to purchase.
We were served cold food for breakfast and there were very few tables. One cup of coffee and then the cup sat empty, waiter did not offer more coffee. With so few tables with customers I would expect much better service.