Ratings based on 616 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer from Augusta

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
It is not as close to the beach as we expected. It was a good 10min walk from the hotel room and breakfast was a 5min walk away. They also had a hidden $10 daily hotel fee that was not disclosed on the booking website. They took the charge off because no one had told us about it until check out but it leads me to believe many people complain about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jennifer, Thank you for your review. We are a resort style hotel and there is a short stroll from the hotel to the registration building and then on to the beach. We do offer a shuttle for breakfast and there is a local free shuttle that goes to the beach as an option for anyone wanting to use their services. We do have a resort fee from Memorial Day to Labor Day and do our best to ensure that it is listed on every site - I'm sorry you did not see it but hope you were happy with the front desk clerk's service in removing it. We do hope we will see you again if your travels bring you back this way. Kind regards, Linda Director of Sales
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Clean and staff was great
Cons: Excellent no improvements needed
Location: Close to beach and shopping. Everything in walking distance. Free shuttle service also
Staff was very nice. Went out of their way to see we had everything we needed. Added another night to our stay and they let us stay in the same room instead of making us move to a different room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by Linda Prosser, Director of Sales, Hotel Management
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay - thank you for taking the time to post a review! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit our little island paradise. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
by Dan

Great place to stay!

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
It was a wonderful surprise since it changed from Confort Suites to HI Express. It was updated, clean and staff friendly and great cinnamon rolls! We would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dan, Thanks for the great review! And aren't those cinnamon rolls just amazing? We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Linda Director of Sales
2 out of 5
by Robert

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Having check in in a separate building is very confusing, esp. If you drive in from the other side. There is no signage at the hotel to tell you where to go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Robert, We are sorry to hear that you found the hotel layout confusing. We have discussed your idea regarding signage and please rest assured that we are looking into adding some to make it more clear. We do hope that you will come back and see us again soon. Kind regards, Linda
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vacation spot

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Bathroom was small.. Balcony was extremely small.. Bed were big but were also hard... Hallways and elevator were HOT.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Linda P, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Expedia. We were saddened to hear that your stay was less than optimal. We offer a value property for guests who would like to be close to the beach without the high pricing but we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We wish you all the best in your future travels. Kind regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, not to far from beach.

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Orbitz
Overall not bad for the price, could maintain the hotel better. Pool area a bit dirty could be cleaner.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Linda Prosser, Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review on Orbitz. Please rest assured that your comments have been addressed with Housekeeping regarding the pool area. It is through comments such as yours that we can continually improve our service standards and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Manager likes to overbook!!!

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Had a reservation for this hotel that was booked through Expedia 2 days prior to my trip and when I arrived I was told that they were overbooked! They tried to send me to another hotel that was not close to the beach and was not to my standard! I ended up paying more money than expected for my weekend trip and then the hotel charged my debit card for a no show fee when I clearly showed up and was turned away!!! I had to end up calling the corporate office just to get my money refunded to my debit card!!! Will never book with them again!!!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great comfy & close to the beach

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable hotel with great service for the money. Good breakfast if a bit crowded. Close to the beach! We walked went day through a shady sidewalk.
4 out of 5
by Amanda from Gastonia, NC

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
We went as a family for a few night getaway and the Holiday Inn was a great place to stay. Close to Coligny beach, many restaurants and shopping. Breakfast buffet was fair but did have good selection. Room was small but fine self nice we were only in it to sleep. Hotel hallways were not air conditioned and very humid. We had cold bath water the first night but Maintainance fixed it quickly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Linda, Hotel Management
Dear Amanda, Thank you for your review on Hotels.com. We appreciate that you took the time and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It has been a very humid summer so we have all been feeling it...in the spring and fall our open hallways allow lovely ocean breezes. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Hilton Head Island. Kind regards, Linda
4 out of 5
by Vanessa

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Linda, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star review!