Ratings based on 592 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

No Smoking signs ignored.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: location was close to beach and shopping if you don't mind a little walking.
Cons: enforce the NO SMOKING policy.
pretty rude of people who just have to light up and blow smoke everywhere. the couple from NY who were smoking next to my car. Well I do NOT want the smell you spread inside my car. Thanks to you I had cigarette smell in my car. BTW I did find it strange both of you had to strip down and change clothes by the pool. You then go to your room and hang your clothes on the balcony over looking the pool. Most of the people staying here were not on vacation but were seasonal workers. So you have to put up with noise outside when they are returning from working and drinking in the parking lot and of course smoking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice rooms!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Rooms, dining area.
Cons: Outside, pool, way to get around. There are bikes for rent right on the property, HIGHLY recommended.
Location: Close to a large shopping center with restaurants and grocery but I didn't know about it due to terrible check in staff issues.
Not on the beach but not too far either. I was a little concerned when we drove in because the outside is in need of an upgrade but the rooms themselves were lovely, very modern. Not sure how I feel about the layout - the rooms are about a block + away from check in and I didn't have a car - so if you need something from the front, prepare for a hike. Even if you do have a car, it's kind of inconvenient. Check in staff member was inappropriate but I chalk it up to youth. A brief talk to the new manager, Jay, and I suspect she'll be spoken to. Nice breakfast and dining room with outside deck available as well. Pool was kind of janky -water a little green, dirty towels left for days - but hopefully they'll upgrade that too. Good for the price but again, not thrilled with the layout.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

An improvement from the previous property owner

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Very nice renovation from the former hotel. Some of the upgrades, in terms of workmanship, seem to have been done quickly and inexpensively. Repairs to fixtures on the walls, paint, etc. may need to be redone before too long. I'd like to see more fitness equipment, such as medicine balls or free weights. Lastly, it would be nice to have more low-fat and healthy options for breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by Linda Prosser, Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Janet, We are so pleased that you like the new hotel updates! Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know how much you enjoyed it. Hotel Maintenance is always an ongoing project! Thank you as well for the suggestions for the fitness center and breakfast, please rest assured that these have been passed on to the proper management team to address. We hope to welcome you back soon to our little island paradise. Kind regards, Linda
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Aug 7, 2016
I was there for one night. Easy 10-15 min stroll to Coligny Beach Park. Easy walk or bike to shops and restaurants. Check-in and breakfast bldg separate from bldg with rooms, but it's only a 2-3 min walk- 5 if you are slowly strolling. You must pay a $10.00 fee in addition to the room to cover parking and the breakfast shuttle whether you use it or not. Has parking under the hotel bldg and uncovered in the lot but has lots of trees so many spots are shaded. No problem finding a parking space. Desk staff was professional- not rude or abrupt but not personable. I don't mean anything negative in that assessment. The room was clean, updated, and comfortable. I was on the top floor (5) and 1 room away from thel elevator but it was still quiet. Nice view of a pond. The bathroom set-up may be an issue if people in the room are on different schedules. The shower and toilet are in one room with the light switch outside the room so when using the bathroom you will get light into to main room. The sink is in the main room area so turning that light on will also put light into the main room. It isn't obnoxious but might affect some sleepers. Very little counter space around sink, but adequate for one person at a time. It has a small microwave and a refrigerator about 3 feet tall- adequate for beverages and snacks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by Linda Prosser, Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review - we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stroll on our grounds. It is great to hear as well that you found the staff to be professional as we strive for great service in all that we do. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Clean and staff was great
Cons: Excellent no improvements needed
Location: Close to beach and shopping. Everything in walking distance. Free shuttle service also
Staff was very nice. Went out of their way to see we had everything we needed. Added another night to our stay and they let us stay in the same room instead of making us move to a different room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by Linda Prosser, Director of Sales, Hotel Management
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay - thank you for taking the time to post a review! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit our little island paradise. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vacation spot

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Bathroom was small.. Balcony was extremely small.. Bed were big but were also hard... Hallways and elevator were HOT.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Linda P, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Expedia. We were saddened to hear that your stay was less than optimal. We offer a value property for guests who would like to be close to the beach without the high pricing but we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We wish you all the best in your future travels. Kind regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Manager likes to overbook!!!

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Had a reservation for this hotel that was booked through Expedia 2 days prior to my trip and when I arrived I was told that they were overbooked! They tried to send me to another hotel that was not close to the beach and was not to my standard! I ended up paying more money than expected for my weekend trip and then the hotel charged my debit card for a no show fee when I clearly showed up and was turned away!!! I had to end up calling the corporate office just to get my money refunded to my debit card!!! Will never book with them again!!!!!
5 out of 5
by Millie

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Linda, Hotel Management
Dear Millie, Thank you for your 5 Star Rating! We think you are 5 Star too! Kind regards, Linda Prosser Director of Sales
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time in this hotel. Excellent location, nice pool, parking area. Very convenient for all purposes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Linda, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review! We always love to hear when our guest have enjoyed their time. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you back to Hilton Head Island.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Linda, Hotel Management
Thank you Thank you Thank you We love the 5 Stars! We look forward to welcoming you back To your family from ours!