Ratings based on 616 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

No Smoking signs ignored.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: location was close to beach and shopping if you don't mind a little walking.
Cons: enforce the NO SMOKING policy.
pretty rude of people who just have to light up and blow smoke everywhere. the couple from NY who were smoking next to my car. Well I do NOT want the smell you spread inside my car. Thanks to you I had cigarette smell in my car. BTW I did find it strange both of you had to strip down and change clothes by the pool. You then go to your room and hang your clothes on the balcony over looking the pool. Most of the people staying here were not on vacation but were seasonal workers. So you have to put up with noise outside when they are returning from working and drinking in the parking lot and of course smoking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice rooms!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Rooms, dining area.
Cons: Outside, pool, way to get around. There are bikes for rent right on the property, HIGHLY recommended.
Location: Close to a large shopping center with restaurants and grocery but I didn't know about it due to terrible check in staff issues.
Not on the beach but not too far either. I was a little concerned when we drove in because the outside is in need of an upgrade but the rooms themselves were lovely, very modern. Not sure how I feel about the layout - the rooms are about a block + away from check in and I didn't have a car - so if you need something from the front, prepare for a hike. Even if you do have a car, it's kind of inconvenient. Check in staff member was inappropriate but I chalk it up to youth. A brief talk to the new manager, Jay, and I suspect she'll be spoken to. Nice breakfast and dining room with outside deck available as well. Pool was kind of janky -water a little green, dirty towels left for days - but hopefully they'll upgrade that too. Good for the price but again, not thrilled with the layout.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

An improvement from the previous property owner

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Very nice renovation from the former hotel. Some of the upgrades, in terms of workmanship, seem to have been done quickly and inexpensively. Repairs to fixtures on the walls, paint, etc. may need to be redone before too long. I'd like to see more fitness equipment, such as medicine balls or free weights. Lastly, it would be nice to have more low-fat and healthy options for breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by Linda Prosser, Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Janet, We are so pleased that you like the new hotel updates! Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know how much you enjoyed it. Hotel Maintenance is always an ongoing project! Thank you as well for the suggestions for the fitness center and breakfast, please rest assured that these have been passed on to the proper management team to address. We hope to welcome you back soon to our little island paradise. Kind regards, Linda
5 out of 5
by Enid from Puerto Rico

Great

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Great
5 out of 5
by Patterson from Cincinnati, OH

A++++

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the hotel and the continental breakfast was fabulous to start our day. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends and family.
1 out of 5
by Thomas from Massillon

Bait and switch with holiday inn

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
It was the old bait and switch game. Booked the holiday inn express for 2 nights and paid in advance when we arrived they said they were overbooked and put us up in their sister hotel which was a day's inn. The days inn had a dehumidifier in the room with 88% humidity , a horrible musty odor and cockroaches .. Killed 2 when entering the room. Will never book with a holiday inn again
4 out of 5
by Colleen

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star review! Happy Travels....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Easley, SC

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Orbitz
We arrived at 11:30pm and the staff was rude, they gave us the wrong room, then brought a roll away with no blankets or pillows and they said it wasn't their problem, toilet didn't work, there wasn't maintenance on staff and they said they couldn't change our room, we had kids with us we couldn't go without a toilet, my husband asked for a pillow and blanket again and they got mad and said they were out of pillows then called the police, smh, the police made them give us another room for the night, they said when the people get there that reserved that room then we would have to get out, we didn't get to bed until 3am because of all this, then the fire alarm randomly went off around 3:30am, next day management apologized and sent a refund back to Orbitz, waiting on Orbitz to refund now, we left this hotel that morning and went somewhere better
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Linda Prosser, Director of Sales, Hotel Management
We are so sorry that you experienced such poor service with us as we do strive to offer only the best. Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. Please rest assured that we will be addressing the situation with the appropriate parties and providing the training and support they need to ensure that it doesn't happen again. We wish you all the best in your future travels.
3 out of 5
by Todd from Augusta, GA

Good choice for location, value and comfort.

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Trip for two adults and two kids. Hotel is older but remodeled decently. They are upgrading to HDTV but for now the TV quality is poor. Staff is friendly, excellent location 1/4mile to Coligny beach and good dining. Pool is well kept. Hotel offer shuttle to main building (about 600 feet away) where breakfast is served
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Todd, Thank you for your review on Expedia. We are working with the local HD TV providers to get the HD working on the TVs which are all brand new - sorry that wasn't in place prior to your trip. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at any rate! Kind regards, Linda
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Aug 7, 2016
I was there for one night. Easy 10-15 min stroll to Coligny Beach Park. Easy walk or bike to shops and restaurants. Check-in and breakfast bldg separate from bldg with rooms, but it's only a 2-3 min walk- 5 if you are slowly strolling. You must pay a $10.00 fee in addition to the room to cover parking and the breakfast shuttle whether you use it or not. Has parking under the hotel bldg and uncovered in the lot but has lots of trees so many spots are shaded. No problem finding a parking space. Desk staff was professional- not rude or abrupt but not personable. I don't mean anything negative in that assessment. The room was clean, updated, and comfortable. I was on the top floor (5) and 1 room away from thel elevator but it was still quiet. Nice view of a pond. The bathroom set-up may be an issue if people in the room are on different schedules. The shower and toilet are in one room with the light switch outside the room so when using the bathroom you will get light into to main room. The sink is in the main room area so turning that light on will also put light into the main room. It isn't obnoxious but might affect some sleepers. Very little counter space around sink, but adequate for one person at a time. It has a small microwave and a refrigerator about 3 feet tall- adequate for beverages and snacks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by Linda Prosser, Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review - we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stroll on our grounds. It is great to hear as well that you found the staff to be professional as we strive for great service in all that we do. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards,