Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Great location on the beach!

Posted Sep 22, 2016
I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. Great location and one of the only beach front bars. Staff is great always helpful. Free internet and close to dining.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Margaret, Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for joining us time and time again at the Beach House. I am pleased to read that you always receive thorough and accommodating service from our team members, and that you enjoy the onsite amenities like high speed wireless and the iconic Tiki Hut! We are so invested in our guests, and hope to prove ourselves worthy of a future 5-Star rating! The Beach House appreciates your recommendation, and hopes to share some beach front fun with you again soon. Sincerely, Margaret, Guest Experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Great beach access, nice pool

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Great beach access and the pool
Cons: Towels were adequate but seemed a little dingy (not bleached) and small. There were no more towels at the pool when needed within business hours.
Location: Location is great with access to many things to do.
Easy check in and out. Responsive and pleasant staff. Tiki Hut is nice. Enjoyed the fire pit. Great beach access, nice pool. Within walking distance of shoppining and dinning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Margaret, Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Dear Cindy, Thank you for staying with us at the Beach House, and for submitting a review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the Beach House's oceanfront location. As you mentioned, there is so much activity within the immediate area, and we love sharing an activity-filled, music-filled, and relaxation-filled stay with our guests. We hope to share the Beach House with you again soon! Sincerely, Margaret, Guest Experience
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TN

Average room, but clean

Posted Sep 16, 2016
When we reserved our room online and came to the desk to check in we were surprised with a $50 hold they put on your card PER DAY. It said nothing about this hold on the website when we were checking out so we were definitely disappointed that we were losing out on $250 we had in our spending money. Oh and it takes 5 business days for the hold to be off your account. Oh well. We got to our room and it smelled really pleasant and it was really clean. The carpets were shampooed which made me feel a little more comfortable walking on them (I hate carpet). The Tiki Hut was a fun spot to hang out and drink and The Porch had good food and great servers... Of course everything was overpriced but that is to be expected. We loved the pool and the poolside service! The beach was really nice aside from this strange pipe that ran through the middle of it for miles... We didn't know what that pipe was for but it sure did take away from the beauty. My only complains about the resort are this: the surprise hold they put on your card, they are very stingy with the "free" beach towels they give you even though you pay $20 a day for them, and when it rained outside it soaked the whole floor under the A/C unit in our room. I mean our floor was sopping wet by the window, which was gross. You're pretty much just paying for easy beach access.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Margaret, Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Dear Destiny, Thank you for taking the time to submit a thorough review of your experience. I apologize that you were not aware of our $50 per day authorization for incidentals. In the event that charges are not made to your room during your stay, this authorization (and resort industry standard) is released at the time of check out. We want to ensure all of our guests have full transparency when it comes to what they can expect, and I will follow up to make sure that all our third-party websites allude to this incidental authorization. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed this wonderful oceanfront location, our pool service, and your meals and drinks at the Porch Southern Kitchen & Bar and the Tiki Hut. We have created a unique and dynamic spot here on the island, and we will work hard to continue to improve so that we can share wonderful experiences with you and all of our guests. We hope you will join us again soon. Sincerely, Margaret, Guest Experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

It has a nice Tiki Bar

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: The Bar.
Location: Location was good. Next to shopping and restaurants. Right on the beach.
Our room had a musty odor. The humidity must of been 100% in our room. Everything felt wet. The best part was the Tiki Bar that had live music. I would not recommend this hotel. I would rather spend a little more money for a better place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Margaret, Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Dear Barb, While I'm glad to see that you enjoyed this unparalleled location on the island, I'm very sorry and surprised to see that you experienced an issue with the humidity in your room. We had brand new air conditioning units installed in the rooms this year, and have spent the summer fine-tuning them in order to ensure that our guests have a comfortable stay. I am disappointed to see that your room experienced an issue, and promise that we will work hard to identify any rooms that are anything less than pleasant. We care tremendously that you have a great experience here, and hope that we will have the opportunity to share the Beach House with you again in the future so that you can have the exciting, unique, and comfortable oceanfront stay that so many of our other guests enjoy. Sincerely, Margaret, Guest Experience
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Very relaxing next to the beach. Hard working staff to my your stay more enjoyable. Tiki bar and swimming pool was nice. Live entertainment and a movie by the pool at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They re-booked my room

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Close to the beach. I had booked and Oceanview room like months prior to staying, and the had re-booked my room!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
No, gym, no help from worker s, etc , waiting on line, not enough worker on hand
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by Margaret, Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Dear Henry, I'm very sorry to see that your stay was compromised by a lack of thorough service. While we do have a fitness center that is accessible 24/7, not having timely and efficient help from one of our associates is an error for which we are truly sorry. That is out of line with our standards and the Beach House culture, and I hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to share the true and service oriented Beach House experience with you. Sincerely, Margaret, Guest Experience
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recently renovated and a really beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Great location, nice pool area, the room was fantastic.
Cons: I had to wait over two hours for my room to be ready. I also booked an ocean view room, but could hardly see the ocean.
Location: Lots of nice stores and cafes/restaurants close by. The beach is really close and lots of tour options if you have a car.
The hotel reviews seem to reflect the hotel when the decor was outdated, however the recent changes make this a truly lovely hotel with very fresh and modern rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by Margaret, Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed this oceanfront location and your updated room. As you mentioned, a lot of the reviews allude to the state of the Beach House prior to the renovation. We've received overwhelmingly positive feedback about the changes made at the resort this year, and are thrilled that you enjoyed them too. I do want to apologize for the delay you experienced, but it is my hope that our team members were helpful in getting everything squared away for you as quickly as possible. The local area you mentioned is called Coligny Plaza, and it is set to undergo a $50 million upgrade this fall. We would love for the opportunity to share the Beach House and this dynamic local scene with you in the future. Sincerely, Margaret, Guest Experience
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Entire staff exceedingly rude and inconsiderate. Will NEVER. Go again or suggest to friends. Horrible experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by Margaret, Guest Experience, Hotel Management
I'm very sorry to see your experience was so discordant with the sentiment of our standards, culture, and other guest reviews. Please know that we take your feedback very seriously. We take great pride in providing thorough, timely and Southern hospitality, and hope that we will have another opportunity in the future to share the experience that so many of our other guests enjoy. Sincerely, Margaret, Guest Experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

Nice hotel, not so great staff

Posted Aug 31, 2016
The hotel it's self was in pretty good condition. Upon arrival the staff was wonderful with helping us check in and get to our room. Overall it was a nice place to stay although I would change a few things. The pool staff were TERRIBLE. At one point one of the girls actually picked my beach items up off a table and threw them on the ground by the trash can because I was 5 feet away IN THE POOL and not sitting at the table. There was also construction on the beach which included a approx 3ft tall pipe that you had to walk over to get onto the beach and s good portion of the beach was roped off by construction staff which was not at all the hotels fault but they should have let us know ahead of time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by Margaret, Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Dear KB, Thank you for your review. I'm so glad that you were welcomed to the Beach House with open arms by our friendly Front Desk team. I want to thank you for bringing the issue with the pool attendants to my attention so that we can train and continue to improve the pool front service. Our pool is one of the only ones on the island with a panoramic view of the Atlantic, and we are committed to making sure it's the best! I also want to apologize for the public enhancement project that was transpiring in front of the resort during your stay. As you mentioned, it was out of our control, but we did make every effort to inform our guests as soon as the project's location in front of the Beach House came to our attention. We are very sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused during your stay, but look forward to sharing an unobstructed and beautifully renourished beach front with you again in the future. Sincerely, Margaret, Guest Experience