Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Close to the beach and convenient to restaurants a

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: The proximity to the beach. The live music
Cons: The hotel definitely needs an upgrade! Although the furniture was modern, the doors, carpet and tile in bathrooms were dated.
Location: There were plenty of restaurants to visit. Outlet mall shopping was available. The Coligny beach was great! warm water and breezy beach!
Upon check in, I was given keys to a room that was occupied. This was frustrating after traveling over 8 hours and carrying bags. The clerk apologized and gave me a room on the 3rd floor. The staff at the porch was really nice and the bartenders were great! I enjoyed the fact that I could walk out onto the beach at 6:00 in the morning and enjoy my coffee. The hotel is not fancy, but ok for a traditional beach hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First night was bad Remaing nights were great

Posted Jul 6, 2017
As soon as we walked into the room all we could smell was mildew. Apparently there was a flood and our room 117 didnt get water damage but room 119 had extensive damage. After the first night we complained and were moved to 520. The front desk was very friendly and helpful yet no one should have put into that room. The outside amenities are what sells this hotel; live music, pool, bar, and easy access to Coligny Beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Arielle Sullivan - Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your recent stay at the Beach House Resort. Hilton Head Island is an outdoor enthusiasts delight! Sitting right on Coligny Beach, with a beautiful pool on property, and daily live music at the Tiki Hut, we are so proud to be home away from home for our many guests throughout the year. I am disappointed to hear about your difficulties in your room, but am very pleased that Guest Services was able to take care of you and get you set up in a room that was more comfortable for you. Though I am sure maintenance and housekeeping has addresses these issues already, I will be sending your comments to the necessary individuals to make sure this is not an issue in the future. Again, thank you for sharing your review and choosing the Beach House Resort. We hope to see you again, soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach but needs upgrades

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Great location and staff but the fridge was in a rotting cabinet, my room phone didn't work, no one answered the phone at the onsite restaurant and I killed 2 roaches on the last day. Facilities need to be updated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Arielle Sullivan - Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Liz, Thank you for sharing details regarding your most recent stay. I am so sorry you experienced several issues with your room; these type of situations should never happen during a stay at the Beach House Resort! We take this very seriously; I will share your comments with our leadership, and we will use them to ensure better experiences for out guests in the future. I hope you had the chance to work with the Guest Services team to resolve your issues while you were on the property. We prefer to take care of issues as soon as they come up, to have as little interruption to your getaway as possible. Again, I am very sorry for your unfortunate experiences. I know we can show you a much better time in the future, and I hope we have the opportunity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Hotel was good. Live bands every night were awesome! However, the food and drink prices at all three places at the resort were outrageously high, and the drinks were tiny.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Arielle Sullivan - Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Andrea - Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the daily live music. We are truly lucky to have the Tiki Hut right on site, with spectacular ocean views, and a variety of live entertainment daily. While we do offer three options for food and beverage this time of year, we are also conveniently located near many local restaurants as well. We are thrilled that we are typically able to accommodate most people's preferences. I hope you were able to find an option that worked best for you. We will be waiting to welcome you back for a return visit very soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

On the beach and friendly staff

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Beach, tiki bar and porch restaurant.
Cons: Updates in rooms
Location: Shopping and restaurants within walking distance.
We were delayed a day, we called and canceled the day we would not be able to arrive. Upon arrival we were told our entire stay was canceled. They worked it out, but would not credit us for the one canceled day, because we booked through a third party.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Arielle Sullivan - Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Hi, Cindy. Thank you for your review. I am thrilled you enjoyed the beachfront location, Tiki Hut with daily live music, Porch Kitchen and Bar with delicious food, and friendly staff. I am sorry for the confusion when you arrived - the cancellation policies are for all reservations, whether they book with a third party or direct. I am sorry for the frustration, but I am pleased to hear the Front Desk was able to reinstate your reservation and welcome you to an enjoyable stay. We will be looking forward to a return visit in the not too distant future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Honeymoon

Posted May 25, 2017
We had a great time. The resort had a beautiful view of the ocean and had easy access to the beach. The staff was great! The only thing I could say needed some improvement was the resturaunt staff. They did a great job just could be a little more attentive. I can't complain about anything and we enjoyed every minute!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Arielle Sullivan - Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed feedback from your stay at the Beach House Resort, and congratulations on your recent 25th wedding anniversary. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us spending time at the beach and pool, enjoying the live music at the Tiki Hut, enjoying delicious food at the Porch Kitchen and Bar, and exploring the local surroundings from our convenient location. I'm sorry to hear about the housekeeping situation in your room. I hope you spoke to the Front Desk about the situation - I know they would have loved to resolve that for you. We are already looking forward to your return visit to beautiful Hilton Head Island.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location!

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: on the beach and within walking distance to shops, restaurants, and bike rentals. The pool was nice. They have a tiki bar with good live music. The staff was quick to fix any issues that came up. Cons: the room was not what I would consider clean. My pillow was dirty so they did bring me another one. The bathroom tub didn't drain so they came and fixed that. The headboard on the bed and the bathroom walls were dirty. The last night I dropped something on the floor and had to go under the bed to retrieve it and there were beer cans under the bed- no one in our room drinks beer:)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Arielle Sullivan - Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am happy your enjoyed the location, beautiful pool, and excellent customer service. However, I apologize for the inconvenience of the issues you encountered. The state of the room you described is not up to our high personal standards. I am pleased to hear the Front Desk was quick to resolve several of your issues - I hope you let them know all of your issues as I know they would have loved to resolve them for you. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a 5-star experience and to earn your trust as the best place to stay in Hilton Head Island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Very nice hotel with a beautiful beach view!

Posted May 19, 2017
This hotel was very nice! It looked identical to the website. The staff was very courteous. I will book this hotel again!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Arielle Sullivan - Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Boosey - Thank you for your review! We try to ensure our guests expectations are exceeded on every level - I am thrilled to hear that we accomplished this during your stay. We very much hope to see you again in the future - gorgeous ocean views and fun in the sun are waiting!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love it

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Location, amenities, beach
A wonderful space right on the beach. Can't wait to return
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Arielle Sullivan - Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We're already looking forward to your return visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Customer Service

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Great food, service, and facility.
Cons: The windows looking out to the ocean could be a bit cleaner.
The hotel is nicely located and recently renovated. Unfortunately for us, they overbooked and had to downgrade one of our two rooms. But the customer service in handling this was impeccable. The manager called to inform us BEFORE we arrived on property. A reasonable accommodation was made and concession offered. We ended up having a wonderful stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Arielle Sullivan - Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! I am sorry for the inconvenience of the room move, but am happy to hear you were offered an acceptable alternative and notified of the situation prior to your arrival. We work hard to ensure the highest quality service and our processes usually allow us to accomplish this. I hope we have another opportunity to welcome you to the resort in the future, for an even better experience than the last.