Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Great location, right on the beach.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Very happy with hotel and its location. Housekeeping service could be better. Only replaced towels when asked. Last day they did not even make bed or clean room, just replaced towels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A tired old hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Check in was not as expected, we requested ocean front when booking, there is no ocean front. Room was nice but moist with condensation the whole time, everything felt wet including our clothes. The room mini fridge froze everything no matter what setting. The one restaurant on site was good but no room service. The pool was nice but never enough towels and the last day there were none to be found the whole day. The city was deep into a beach conservation behind the hotel so no beach access directly behind the hotel for the days we were there. I'm sure they moved down shortly but during our stay it was a bummer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome location!

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Overall very happy with this hotel, can't beat being so close to the beach! Microwaves in rooms would be nice and laundry facilities would also be helpful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Margaret, Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thank you for joining us the Beach House, and for taking the time to submit a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed this wonderful ocean front location. Your feedback is incredibly important to us. Rooms at the Beach House used to have microwaves. Unfortunately, these were removed due to a number of guests misusing them. As a safety precaution for all of our guests, we no longer have microwaves in each of the rooms, and apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. We hope that you will come back and enjoy this wonderful part of Hilton Head again soon! Sincerely, Margaret, Guest Experience
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta, ga

Great hotel with beach access

Posted Aug 22, 2016
My boyfriend and I went for a quick weekend. Room was comfortable, staff was great and we were right on the beach. Perfect weekend
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location beach hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Location was great. Staff was super friendly..esp the maids. Rooms need updating. Carpet felt old. Bathrooms were old, ours had mold on the ceiling. Live music was really loud on weekends..could hear it in our room!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Margaret, Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thank you for submitting a review. While I am so glad that you enjoyed our team members and location, I'm sorry to hear about the state of your room. Our team members are committed to maintaining incredibly high standards at the resort, and promise to investigate and update! We do hope that you will come back and join us at the Beach House. Sincerely, Margaret, Guest Experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Only one night stay. Very clean. Comfortable bed. Great food
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Margaret, Guest Experience, Hotel Management
We invite you to come back and spend more time with us! We appreciate your recommendation of the Beach House, and are so glad that your experience was delicious, comfortable, and clean. We hope to see you again very soon at this wonderful oceanfront location. Sincerely, Margaret, Guest Experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Nice hotel on the beach! I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Margaret, Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thank you! We are so glad to know that you enjoyed the Beach House, and hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Margaret, Guest Experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Perfect location

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Clean, on the ocean.
Cons: Allow outside water to drink on the pool deck.
Location: Coligny Plaza across the street, close to several dining options.
My family and I loved this hotel! The staff were all very friendly an courteous. Check in was quick, our house keeping arttendant gave us extra towels each day. Hotel was clean. The pool area was very nice and spacious. I wish they would allow you to bring your own bottled water but they want you to purchase from their bar and no outside food allowed. You can however fill up your own beverage bottle (water bottle). Food at The Shack and The Porch smelled and looked good but was very pricy....we did not eat at either. Drinks from the Tiki Hut next door were good ($10 for a frozen margarita). Our room had a fridge so we keep some water, fruit, yogurt in there for quick breakfast and lunch. I thought from the pictures (didn't read website well enough) that the rooms on the side of the hotel all were ocean view with balcony....the pictures look that way but they are just picture windows and if you could open them the you might be able to see the ocean. I would pay more for an ocean front room with balcony if I were to go back. Hotel is on the beach, close to dining options and shopping but also ne t to public beach access so the beach was crowded when we were there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Margaret, Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Dear Jody, Thank you for a comprehensive review of your experience at the Beach House. We are so glad to read that you and your family loved the resort and the location. As you mentioned, we do not allow for outside food & beverage on the pool deck. While we do have onsite restaurant and bar options, this measure is for quality control and safety as much as anything else. We would love for you to have the experience of one of our oceanfront rooms with a balcony during a return stay. Those rooms have panoramic views of the water and "first row seats" to the live music at the Tiki Hut. While the majority of our rooms do not have an ocean view (due to the way the building is oriented), we are the most oceanfront resort on the island, and the time from the room to the beach is immediate. There is a lot of activity on the south end of the island. While most of our guests enjoy this level of engagement and excitement, some of our repeat guests choose to come after the Labor Day holiday to enjoy all that Hilton Head has to offer but with a more intimate environment. Our team members care tremendously about ensuring that all of our guests have a meaningful experience. We hope to have the opportunity to share that with you again in the future. Thank you again for your review. Sincerely, Margaret, Guest Experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great Location

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Proximity to shops, restaurants and beach. Food at the restaurant.
Cons: add microwave and more parking
Location: There are multiple bike rental shops. Frosty Frog has flavored daiquiris that you can get in to-go in half gallon and gallon sizes.
We (my husband and I) love staying here because it's walking distance to many restaurants and shops. The pool is great with a Tiki Hut and awesome restaurant. The restaurant (casual) that opens up to the pool has amazing brisket fries and burgers. The pricing is fair especially for drinks compared to most hotels. It gets busy on the weekend and very party like. But is calmer during the week. However we saw older couples, younger couples, young families. Parking can be tricky if you leave at night especially the Saturday night that we stayed because there was a concert/live music presented to Bud Light so it was crazy and we had to part across the street. Wish they had microwaves in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by Margaret, Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Dear Michelle, Thank you for taking the time to submit a thorough review. It pleases us to know that you and your husband enjoy the resort for its unbeatable location and amenities, especially your service at the Tiki Hut and Porch Southern Kitchen and Bar. Those brisket fries truly are something special! Chef Tim slow smokes the brisket for more than 14 hours right here at the Beach House. As you mentioned, the weekend is usually very dynamic - filled with oceanfront concerts and lots of activity. The midweek is admittedly a little more relaxed during this time of year, but we get great feedback about the diversity here at the Beach House! Parking is very limited at the Beach House, and we are able to accommodate 1 vehicle per reservation. We ask that all additional vehicles park across the street at the public Coligny Parking Lot. We do have a on-site security to enforce this new parking procedure, and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced on Saturday night. Lastly, we used to have microwaves in our rooms. Surprisingly, there were a number of guests who were not safely using them, and so they have been removed. Ensuring that all of our guests have a safe and comfortable experience is our utmost priority. Because you and your husband love to walk to Coligny, I thought I'd share with you that the plaza just received $50 million in funding to reinvigorate the entire area. That is going to transpire this fall, and we would love to host you as you two experience the exciting new changes in our unique south end of the island. You are always invited to the Beach House! Sincerely, Margaret, Guest Experience
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great location, OK hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Location and beach access.
Cons: The hotel is showing its age.
Location: Easy walking or biking distance to food, beach, etc.
The location is wonderful, and the hotel is priced to match. The rooms themselves are unremarkable, though a bit dank. The staff is very friendly and clearly works hard to maintain an aging hotel. But the rooms are old and average, so you won't want to spend much time in them. The pool is nice and the beach is easily accessible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Margaret, Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Dear Virginia, Thank you for submitting a review. As you mentioned, the Beach House is an island icon - one of the longest standing hotels in the area - and with the best location. Our rooms received an update this past winter including new carpet, beds, air conditioning units, paint, artwork, and case goods, and we are working to make them even better! In the future, we would love to share our continued efforts to make this truly unique oceanfront destination even better. Please don't hesitate to let us know if you will be traveling to the area again soon. You're always welcome at the Beach House. Sincerely, Margaret, Guest Experience