Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just a hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 19, 2017
I was hoping this hotel would be a little more resort-like with amentities than it turned out to be. This is simply a hotel with access to the beach. There are no frills and the pictures make the hotel out to look much more "upscale" than reality- once there, you realize that it is an old hotel that has been redecorated to its current appearance. Cleaning staff were friendly and our room was well kept, but cleaning seemed to be an all day affair with the carts of supplies and laundry remaining in the hallways most of the afternoon to navigate around. Our room was comfortable, and the pool was well kept, but too cold to enjoy while we were there. A hot tub would make a great addition- many guests thought there was a hot tub and even came out looking for it. Beach chairs for use near the water and not only right near the pool would have been nice, but with the hotel located right next door to a public access beach park made the beach area and volleyball courts crowded with people not staying at the hotel. More affordable on-site eating options would have made the hotel experience more enjoyable. Overall, we enjoyed our stay but didn't feel it was a good value for the amentities available. Next time, I'd look elsewhere to pay less for a similar quality hotel, or spend just a little more for a place with more amentities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The patio restaurant did not have good service

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Hotel was wonderful..Decorated nautical and adorable and staff was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Nice hotel close to beach.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Clean, comfortable room with close beach proximity. Bed was very comfy. Pool looked nice but wasn't used by us. Hotel is difficult to find in dark but staff was knowledgable and welcoming. Breakfast buffet was overpriced for the limited selection offered. Other than that a hotel I would definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Margaret, Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Dear Pam, Thank you for submitting feedback about your recent Beach House stay. As you mentioned, the Beach House's location right on the Atlantic and next to Coligny Plaza is unrivaled here on Hilton Head, and I'm happy to see that contributed to your positive rating of the resort. I apologize that your dinner at the Porch Southern Kitchen & Bar was unseasonably cool. We aim to provide our guests with a unique and comfortable oceanfront stay, and hope that we will have the opportunity to share the Beach House with you again in the future. Sincerely, Margaret, Guest Experience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, right on the beach. Friendly staff.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
The hotel was mainly a pleasure to stay at. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms for the most part were nice. The furnishings were nice and updated, however the room was not as clean as I had hoped. I don't think it's a housekeeping problem I believe the housekeepers did a fine job. I think it's the hotel itself and keeping up with maintenance. The bathroom ceiling was peeling terribly and the lampshade in the room had stains of something all over it. Things like that, just kinda gross. Those are a few examples of the state of our room. Other than those things we did enjoy our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice/ fine but wasn't wowed

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Nice amenities (pool, tiki hut bar, restaurant) but the bed was fairly uncomfortable and I was disappointed they didn't have a microwave in the room or lobby. Rooms were newly renovated but random places (like the stairwell and janitor's closet that we passed when it was open) were definitely old and dirty. Also they were still doing construction so there was a crane when we were there which somewhat killed the relaxing vibe. Overall don't regret my stay but might heck out other places when I come back to Hilton head
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel close to beach. Enjoyed comfortable bed

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Beds and pillows. Large pool.
Cons: Cigarette butts on beach and should offer a continental breakfast.
Location: Nice location, but it is confusing with that roundabout right at hotel, I missed exit off roundabout several time. So maybe better signs.
Did have to change rooms due to loud neighbors in other rooms. Would have been nice for a up grade, but that didn't happen. The bars were pricey. Was upset at the amount of cigarette butts on hotels private beach. Front desk staff very nice. Other than that it was a nice stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Posted Mar 1, 2017
First- wonderful Expedia deal-bed AND PILLOWS(!) extremely comfortable- nice pool and direct access to beautiful beach- shops and restaurants all walking distance- what's not to like?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great hotel right on the beach.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Location: Lots to do on Hilton Head. Beautiful island.
Nothing negative to say about the hotel, location, etc...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Close to the Beach BUT

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Location was a plus but service was bad. We had NO towels on day 2 and was just told only 1 washing machine was working. No toilet paper on day 2 also
Cons: Service needs to improve. It takes a long time to order food - staff said they were short staffed and most of them are tired.
Location: Location is on the beach and lots of restaurants nearby.
Location was a plus but service was bad. We had NO towels on day 2 and was just told only 1 washing machine was working. Our room was not cleaned on day 2 so we ran out of toilet paper. It's such a shame because location was perfect for a short getaway and the pool area was good too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton OH

Nice facility right on the beach

Posted Feb 23, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay here. When I checked in the dates of our stay were mixed up, but Ivy at the front desk got everything straightened out and even got us in to our room early. All of the staff from the front desk to housekeeping, to the waitresses at the restaurant were very welcoming.we also enjoyed meeting people around the fire pit in the evening by the bar and pool area.