Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Yearly family getaway

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
The Barony is the only place we stay as a family. It's great for kids and very convenient for the pool and beach. The food and drinks are great, a little high in price but it's vacation. Now this year they got rid of the Marketplace,we were very disappointed. Very small selection if you need a quick bite to eat. Now they did add breakfast meals to the bar menu but they start serving at 9am. Now my kids wake up at 7am. Having them wait two hours just doesn't work for us cause by 9am we are at one of the pools or beach. Activities they offer for the kids are great, gives them a break from the sun and they create a souvenir to take home. Our room was nice. We had a back corner,first floor, front building, one that was handicap room. Great space in the room, the only issues I saw but did not see a need to complain about; first the master shower had a fold up chair in it really gross looking,it so needs to be replaced, next there were stains on the carpet, and finally lots of water bugs in the room. Overall we are happy with the Barony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sriram from Atlanta, GA

Perfect place for family vacation

Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at Marriott Barony Beach Club for 3 days. Our stay was so nice and relaxing. The rooms and the furnishings were so comfortable. We liked the hot tub inside the bedrooms. Our 2yr old kid liked the most :-) Beach was very accessible and we rented a bike with child seat inside the club. We didn't see much crowd in the beach and we were able to have a nice time in the beach too. We recommend Marriott Barony Beach Club for a perfect leisure family vacation!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bowie, MD

First time at HH Marriot

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Location was prime, centrally located on the island.
Cons: We had grandkids with us and found no place to eat until 11AM. There was an activity at 10:30 AM with movie and cereal but that gets old.
Location: We rode horses, played putt-putt golf, walked the beach, and played in the pool. Restaurants were plenty and good.
Over all a great experience. Location, facilities, beach access, heated pool, etc., were all as advertised. The only complaint was day one when we attempted to sleep in and maintenance had a different idea. We were woken up at 8 and 9 AM and they came back at 10AM. They thought the room was empty and we reported this to the manager. On our last day, maintenance again showed up at 9AM??? Management was very supportive and gave us a few bennies to make up for this issue. Bottom line, we intend to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Awesome Getaway

Posted Jan 25, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here for my anniversary weekend and had a great time. The staff was nice and helpful and the hotel was nice and clean. Would definitely love to stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by James from Orlando

Great location, not so great room

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels
We enjoyed the pools and being so close to the ocean. The room had a lot of bugs and spiders. We were placed on the first floor even though the building was very empty and had an obstructed view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by James from Orlando

Great location, ok stay

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
The property and pools were very enjoyable. The room had a lot of spiders and bugs. For some reason, we were placed on the first floor with an obstructed view even though the building was less than half full. Not the best stay we've had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great stay.

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels
Need more handicapped parking near garage elevators. Garage too tight for large vehicles/suv's. Turning around from back of garage to exit is impossible for large vehicle. Need an exit @ back without having to turn car around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Amenities, Location
Lovely property. Spacious Rooms. On beach.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great family weekend!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Perfect hotel for family of 6. This was right on a great beach (FUN waves) with plenty to do for active kids. The kids enjoyed retiring to the 4 swimming pools to relax after jumping in the waves. Shuffle board, corn holes, BBQ with many nice restaurants in town. Our rooms were very comfortable & the staff was very nice.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Shocked by treatment

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels
Initially, fine with our room, although it was not ready for check in at 4:00. Noticed other guests experiencing the delay in their check in as well. Happy with activities- loved my facial at the spa!! Maggie was awesome and would go back to her in a heartbeat! That said, I fell on the resort's boardwalk stairs leading in from the beach- they were noticeably slippery and I was walking slowly. Hit my back very hard and filed a report with the resort. I was never contacted following my accident. A week later and the hotels response was that they at some point left us a voice mail , instead of contacting us via our cell phones/email/ personal contact. They also emailed me, following me email to corporate, that they were sorry I fell and hoped I was feeling better. No compensation. I was stuck in bed while my family went out without me. I have been on pain medication for the entire week since vacation. I have never experienced customer service this poor in my life. I am still in shock and will not be choosing Marriott again. There are clearly many other resorts to choose from that care about their guest's experience. I did not want to post a negative review- I take business's reputations very seriously and I wanted to be fair, so I gave Marriott almost a full week to do the right thing.