Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

second visit - different but equally great

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Personnel, quality of accommodations, very nice facilities, lovely grounds, location
Cons: Do unplug the phone if you do not wish to receive a (charming) request to learn 'all the benefits of being a timeshare owner instead of a guest'.
Location: Close to beach with private access (yet maintains intimate feel vs being touristy), grocery, restaurants and childrens museum. Everything is bikable.
This was our second stay at Shipyard in the space of 3 months (see previous review by me for more detail on the place). Shipyard actually contains about 6 different resorts. Last time, our condo was in the Carolina Club, which had a very large jacuzzi and was very close to the outdoor playground. This time, we ended up in Egret Point, which is where the outdoor heated pool is - as well as the Health Club to which weeklong access can be obtained for a truly minimal fee. The condo was newer, fancier (granite countertop for example) and had a somewhat better layout with a jacuzzi tub in each bathroom (although slightly smaller). The view from the master was unparalleled in beauty, especially when ~100 egrets descended on the lagoon to explain its name. The dryer went out the night before thanksgiving, yet we did not suffer even a day's delay in its replacement - a lifesaver because we have a toddler in cloth diapers! The personnel were truly wonderful, in spite of the holiday, and went above and beyond to get a new unit installed and otherwise help. We haven't a complaint and cannot wait to go back (again)!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vidalia, United States of America

Great weekend

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Bike paths
Location: Next to beach.
Second stay here and again we had a great room and good service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfectly situated and comfortable

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: It was comfortable and well-equipped without feeling pretentious or like we had to be overly careful of 'mussing' things.
Cons: The drawers in the dresser have a penchant for falling out onto your feet. The front on one broke off after a fall, but maintenance was quick to fix.
Location: An excellent children's museum - the Sandbox - was mere blocks from the condo, and highly bikable, as were a number of wonderful restaurants.
We booked this hotel with a complete ignorance of Hilton Head based on a whim to take our daughter to the beach 'one last time' before winter. We wanted a space where we could do our own cooking sometimes - easier with a toddler than always eating out - and have easy access to the beach. The condo was spacious with generous amenities, include a large shower in the master with strong water pressure, a nice jacuzzi and full-sized washer & dryer. There were also 2 cruiser bikes per condo for complimentary use, which appeared of very good quality. (We packed our own bikes so did not try them out.) The development is gated with very friendly security/admissions personnel. The entire development was lovely with several large ponds complete with sunning turtles and gators, a well-groomed gold course, pools, and well-kept playgrounds. There were bike paths throughout the development, that were enjoyable to ride, and also direct beach access, though that stretch of beach is currently undergoing 'renourishment', so not ideal for biking. The local children's museum (see below), wonderful restaurants, a nice supermarket, and the main public beach access were all easily bikable. We plan to stay here again in future and highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Once we found it, we loved it!

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Private and quiet, these villas are nestled in with single family homes and it feels very homey.
Cons: The check-in experience. I was staying with my sister for the first couple of days before the wedding, & I did a "pre-check" w/ the desk still wrong
Location: It's second from 278 and across from Wexford--in the heart of "old Hilton Head" and golf views.
Our check in was the worst part of the trip. They couldn't find our reservation through Expedia. Then they had the wrong number of days for our stay; one less than we booked. We had to pay an additional full day charge (more than the Expedia price!) and spent time wrangling with the staff to rectify it, ugh. Don't know if Expedia dropped the ball or Spinnaker did? HOWEVER- the Expedia price were best on the net and we really liked to whirlpool bath (big enough for two) and the spacious living area within the Villa. We'd book it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Nice quiet area

Posted Jul 31, 2016
We enjoyed the stay and looking forward to returning next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great condo for the price

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Pros: The location, golf course tie-ins and the pool/spa area.
Cons: Toilet in the third bedroom was not working and the shower stall in that room was too small for a large adult to use.
The condo was more than satisfactory for the price (although we stayed off season). Site amenities were good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
Nice area of hilton head. Property was beautiful. Villa was enormous! Amazing value for the price. Good condition but a little dirty...saw some dead bugs on arrival. Better than live ones of course. We were almost a mile from the beach...wish beach was slightly more accessible but it was a very scenic and manageable walk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Older property that needs some improvement

Posted May 17, 2015
We were in a first floor unit in Southwinds. The room had an unpleasant musty smell and was very humid. The carpeting felt wet and sticky. After blasting the a/c for a few days it improved a bit. The bedding was poor quality and obviously very old - we could literally see through our sheets. The bed itself was uncomfortable and the noise of people just walking in the upstairs unit was enough to wake me up several times each night. This is an older property but a little insulation and better quality bedding would make a big difference. The unit was clean and if they just kept the a/c running maybe they could eliminate the smell and swampy atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Location: Shipyard is close to several wonderful restaurants and we rode bikes to a fun shopping area called Coligny. Also, very close to the beach.
We had a wonderful time at Shipyard in Hilton Head, SC. It is so peaceful and beautiful. We had a small maintenance problem when we checked in but the staff responded immediately. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We would love to return next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Very nice condos in Hilton Head!

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Spacious, pretty grounds, quiet during February.
Cons: nothing!
Location: Beach, tennis, golf. Restaurants. Shopping. Outlet mall 10 minutes away. Mini-golf for the kids. And Downtown Savannah 45 minutes away. Art Museum.
We stayed for nights in February 2015. It was a cold week in South Carolina so we didn't get to use the pool which was right across from our unit. There was also an indoor pool at the concierge office but we never made it to that. But we did walk to the beach through the golf course greens, which was about a 20 minute walk. They also provided free bicycles but we decided it was too cold to ride ( probably 10 minute ride to beach). The condos were spacious and clean and quiet. Our deck opened onto the golf course. There were beautiful trees everywhere with the spanish moss hanging down. The beds were perfect- two bedrooms, each had a king size bed that was so very comfortable. It was exactly what I needed (we were coming from 4 nts in another townhouse near Charleston with uncomfortable beds.) The kitchen was great and the bathrooms were huge. Simple furnishings, but had everything we needed. It took a little getting used to finding the condo down these windy roads in the shipyard development which was very big. The supermarket was a short drive and there was a Panera Bread cafe and Starbucks too. There is a toll bridge going into and out of Hilton Head, $1.25 each time. Which seemed to be kind of annoying by the 3rd day. We also went into Savannah which was about 45 minutes, maybe a little more to the airport. We had a very nice stay at the Shipyard Condos. I would actually choose to visit Charleston again over HIlton Head though if I were to be in South Carolina again.