Ratings based on 821 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Nice hotel On the beach

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Nice pool and beach plenty of dining choices in the area
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Wonderful hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 24, 2016
This is a clean modern hotel on the beach. We greatly enjoyed our time there but it was quite expensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms are Worn down and you can hear neighbors

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Rooms are pretty run down not kept up at all. The sound between rooms is awful. You can hear your neighbors word for word conversation. Bathroom very small and stuffy. Carpets stained and just icky.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Clean rooms comfortable bed.

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Beautiful grounds too many dogs!Good Breakfast @ Heyward Restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dayton,ohio

Very nice hotel by the beach

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Beautiful place surrounded by lush green trees. Very nice property . Would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Hidden Charges, non-existent service, mediocre

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the beach was good
Cons: Service was non-existent, Upgrade charge was excessive for what we received. Cleanliness was an issue.
Location: Beach, bike trails.
Room had hair on the floor behind the door. Pool was crowded but looked nice until someone had an "accident" and the pool was closed for several hours to "clean it". For the duration of the stay, no one offered us drinks or food at the pool. The waitstaff would walk by and ignore us. Charged daily resort fee even though we were not able to use the pool, nor did we want to after the "accident". A mediocre experience in a very pricey resort. Not sure of other options, but I would not stay here again and I would not recommend it. Charged a $40. per night upgrade fee to view the ocean. View was almost 100% blocked by a tree directly outside the window. Overall, I feel like we were price gouged. I have stayed in other 4 plus rated hotels and this did not compare at all. If the price was lower, my rating would improve but for the $, this was extremely disappointing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Excellent resort on the beach!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The seclusion of it. It's tucked away on Hilton Head Island and there are lots of trees and landscaping that keep it nice and private.
Cons: The bartenders could use a boost in moral and overall service.
Location: It's on the ocean. What more could you want? There were also some things you could do to entertain the kids although we didn't need to use these.
The Sonesta Resort was a great place to spend the weekend. The hotel itself was very clean and comfortable. The room was spotless and well equipped. There are motion sensitive LED lights that come on at night when you get up that were really neat and helpful. The hotel staff was friendly, courteous and cheerful. The only downside were the bartenders at the outside bar by the pool. They were very, very slow and generally didn't seem thrilled to be working in the heat. Sure it was hot and probably not comfortable for them, but it's their job and they should try a little harder to suck it up. My girlfriend gave her credit card and started a tab with one of them and was not asked for our room. It took her about 10 minutes to get noticed and have her order taken by the way. When I went up, it took a long time to get the order in and when I mentioned her name for the tab, I was told I had to give the room number. I did but also mentioned that she had a card already on file and to please use that, not the one on file for the room. Low and behold, I was later billed to the room for that round instead of the card already open. Oh well, not the end of the world but it did take away from the overall experience of the pool bar situation. The beach itself was amazing. A short walk from the resort to the beach (like a couple minutes) and you were in the ocean. The water was quite warm and the beach was well maintained. We had a blast at the beach. The trip was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from upstate South Carolina

Feel like Island getaway

Posted Jul 17, 2016
We loved the true feeling of getting away from it all so close to everything if we chose to venture out in town. Because we had a dog our room did not offer the view we would have liked but it was convenient to the car. And the noise from outside the room was a minus. Otherwise, we would definitely visit again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beach is very nice

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Hotel facilities are nice, restaurant food and service are very good. Only down point there is only one restroom on the first floor located in the lobby area, no restrooms even in restaurants or pool area. There is a bathroom by the beach but it seems to be a public bathroom for all beach goers. Hotel rooms are spacious but carpet full of dust.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice hotel, dog friendly

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: very clean. housekeeping came during the hour slot we gave them everyday when we would have the dog out of the room. friendly staff.
Location: On the beach, lots of restaurants within easy car ride. Bike to rent at the hotel.
Was pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was, it is our 3rd hotel in HH and it compared well with the other 4/5 star hotels we stayed at. Thought the $150 for the dog was a bit steep since we only stayed 3 nights, but I guess some people with dogs really mess up the room and I would rather a clean room with no dog smells. Wish there was a grassy area outside the dog friendly rooms instead of mulch but overall a great place to stay with dogs.