Ratings based on 1,121 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Not what I expected for what I paid for the room.

Posted Aug 14, 2017
This is a beautiful resort, don't get me wrong but the hotel room itself was were I had the trouble. The AC was not working right. To be in South Carolina in August with a/c not working is miserable. I contacted the manger twice and nothing changed so we left a day early and went to Charleston ( the a/c in that hotel was amazing!). Also, the tv only worked if I took the cable box off the back of the television and placed it on the dresser. Not ok Marriott.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hilton head

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Have me the wrong room however I will say it was still a nice room. Was needing two queen beds but end up getting one king. So had to get to roll away beds. Room didn't get cleaned til nighttime. Will say I commented on such to the head check in clerk and he credited me for the problem. I would still stay there again. So I do recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for filling us in about your stay, James. We greatly appreciate all of your honest and valuable feedback. We truly hope to welcome you back soon for a seamless stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

WATER WATER WATER

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The pools are great! Awesome deep pool (13 feet). Very close to the beach. Beautiful lobby and sand castles on display. Breakfast buffet was great!
Cons: Our room wasn't really very clean. No one likes to have stains on their bedding and hairs in the bathroom. It was overall fine, but not pristine.
Location: AWESOME location. Close to shopping, restaurants and approx 20 minutes or less to tons of activities.
It was great being close to the beach! And the pools are awesome! The hotel has many good rules set up to keep items stocked (towels, ping pong paddles, bikes, etc.) but guests didn't obey the rules and it everything was constant missing or run out. Plus people saved poolside chairs even though it said not to. Again... not the fault of the hotel other than the fact that they don't enforce any of their rules to the detriment to the other guests. They claim to have bikes for rent, but they are all adult size, so our children couldn't participate. They did have tons of other activities (treasure hunt, tie dye shirts, contests) which were all fun and FREE.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us. While we're thrilled that you loved our location and our pools, we're sorry to hear that your room was not spotless. We appreciate you letting us know! We hope to welcome you back for a five-star stay soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Myrtle Beach, S.C.

Awesome Ocean View

Posted Jun 30, 2017
The hotel waa beautiful, clean and tje staff very friendly and helpful. Oir room was immaculate and rjey kept it nice and clean each day. Thank yoi for a relaxing vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for this 5-star review, Missy! We're thrilled to read this kind review and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Augustine, FL

This hotel is stuck in the 90's

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Not much.
My family and I came to the Marriott for a work convention and to enjoy a some vacation time. Needless to say we were pretty disappointed. I was very shocked at the price point of this hotel and how dirty it was and was in need of serious renovations. We went down to the Cafe for some breakfast and the woman named "Trish" that was at the omelette station was really rude to the hotel guests ordering omelettes. The hallway to our hotel room was always littered with beer cans, trash, hairballs etc for days. It was never clean. We went down one day to the pool which looked more like a creepy, slimey lagoon and tried to order some beverages and food while the kids played. The service took forever. It really seemed like this hotel was way understaffed. At about 3:00 pm we went back up to our hotel room to shower and get cleaned up and our hotel room still had not been cleaned. Overall, really bad experience so we won't be staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. We're sorry to hear about your experience during your stay. We will definitely pass this feedback on to our team, as we're always trying to improve the quality of service we provide to our guests. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back again for a flawless experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Renewal

Posted Jun 26, 2017
The Hotel Resort provided a much needed "Renewal Experience" ! The opportunity to enjoy a beach, pool, spa, breakast, and snacks at the pool was enjoyable. The staff presented themselves in a professional and friendly manner. A wonderful time was shared with my grandchildren as we interacted with each other and other hotel guests. The recent renovations enhancements are a plus! Planning to the revisit!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We're thrilled that you loved our property, from our staff to our newly refreshed property. We hope to welcome you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennesz

Posted May 26, 2017
OCEAN FRONT GREAT VIEW.GOOD BREAKFAST BAR! COURTEOUS STAFF.CLEAN!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2017 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you loved our oceanfront location, breakfast options and staff. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA Beach

Right on the beach but...

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: location on the bech
Cons: finish the construction and improve maintenance
Great location but a couple of issues. Seems like an older hotel going under some renovations. 1st problem in 1st room after we checked in I found and killed a roach running under the chair. We asked to switch rooms not because of the bug but because of the noise coming from the 2nd floor bar lounge, we were on the 3rd but it overlooked the gift shop and the bar noise reflected right upstairs. The noise from the crowd drowned out the TV in our room. Next night we asked to swap to be on a higher floor or at other end of hotel and ongoing construction at 2nd floor restaurant. 2nd room was quiet but TV did not work 2 maintenance visits later it was "fixed". Of the 36 channels only about 2/3 tuned in real channels, others would double tune. It might say "Bravo" but it played "MSNBC", minor issue but it helps to explain that this hotel needs more work to live up to it's location. If and when they fix these issues, it could be a nice stay but the island was nice with lots of options and we if and when we go back we will look at other options.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Brittany, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to write this detailed review, Brian. We do apologize for the issues you experienced in your rooms. While we are excited for the completion of these improvements, we are sorry to hear that this affected your stay in a negative way. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the island, and certainly hope we have the chance to welcome you back on your next visit for a 5-star experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Posted May 16, 2017 on CheapTickets
We had rain and through the side wall water streamed in and the carpet by the bed were soak and wet. We did not realize this till be came back from dinner. My computer was on the floor. The smell from the wet carpet for 3 days had me wheezing. Bathroom is small and a bit out dated like in a low budget hotel. We still had a great time over all. Also not convenient when it comes to food. The resort next door had much more to offer. We will check that one out next time ;)
5 out of 5
by Julie Anne

Anniversary Celebration

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
It was a great weekend get away for our 28th Anniversary. Great location and great service !! Would definitely recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to celebrate with us! We're delighted that you had a wonderful time, from our location to our service. We hope you'll join us again soon!