Ratings based on 1,248 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Reasonable price, dog friendly, basic but clean

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Wanted a last-minute weekend at the beach and wanted to bring the dog but didn't want to spend a fortune. Red Roof met the criteria with no additional pet fee charged. Get the superior room so you have a mini fridge and microwave. Room was clean, bed was comfy. Bath is outdated, but had great water pressure in the shower. (Nothing I hate more than a trying to shower under a trickle) There is coffee and juice in the lobby, but a nice pancake house next door. No pet stations outside, so bring your own "doody" bags. I've stayed here before, and would come again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Locked out of our room

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: The desk person was very apologetic!
Location: The temps were cold and a storm came so we left 2 days early! LOL
We went to our room and we could not get in as the batteries on the key pad was dead! Told the office and they tried to get in also! We left for 3 hrs to get a bit to eat while they called the maintenance person to come! It was an inconvenience to us but we dealt with it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by chris, Hotel Management
we are truly sorry the cold temps caused this. Again we are truly sorry.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta, Ga

Old noisy hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Very noisy old hotel mold in bathroom on roof and Door people partied all night beneath us drinking and smoking and being extremely loud banging on room doors including our and running around screaming all night couldn’t sleep for it beds are creaky and old and had trouble with room keys several times had to switch rooms and then replaced lock which still acted up half the time. Hotel wasn’t spotless black mold was on the bathroom roof and door frame room had an old basement smell and heating did not work I turned the heat all the way to 100 at night since it was like 20 degrees outside and not once did the room heat up in the night I was freezing cold all night and woke up sick
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel for pets

Posted Dec 24, 2017
We enjoyed taking our dog to the beach. Basic hotel, no breakfast, but good for pets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Manager was extremely unfriendly because I checked out past 11, even though there seemed to be hardly anyone else staying at the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the Island

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Nice decent place to stay. Inexpensive compared to where it's located. The rooms are clean. They could have a provided a microwave on the room. There is an awesome breakfast place (Stack's Pancakes) right next to the hotel, so even though you don't have complimentary breakfast you still have a option. The locality is very calm and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2017
We arrived late due to weather and the staff was very pleasant and got us checked in quickly so we could access our room. Once inside, everything was clean and ready for my family.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Unfortunately I can't comment about my stay since I was not allowed to check in. When I arrived I was asked about my dogs and when I said I had 2 I was denied check in. The owner will only allow 1 dog per room. I was unaware of any of this when I made reservations. After traveling for 5 hours on a day that I had already worked 8 this was the last thing I needed to deal with. But I was able to get a room somewhere else. So I will not be shopping for reservations in the future with Red Roof Inn. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by chris, Hotel Management
we are sorry for any inconvenience this caused you. It is posted on the web site about our 1 pet policy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta ga

Nice hotel and good location

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Clean rooms , confortables beds , nice pool , and the staff was very professional
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beaufort s c

Mold in room

Posted Oct 22, 2017
We got in late and didn't notice that in the morning we noticed that there was mold all around the bottom of the room it was very disturbing but when we spoke to the manager she made everything right with us and the staff was very nice and hopefully they will clean it all up and take care of that problem otherwise it was fine if they clean it up I would recommend it