Ratings based on 1,229 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the Island

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Nice decent place to stay. Inexpensive compared to where it's located. The rooms are clean. They could have a provided a microwave on the room. There is an awesome breakfast place (Stack's Pancakes) right next to the hotel, so even though you don't have complimentary breakfast you still have a option. The locality is very calm and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2017
We arrived late due to weather and the staff was very pleasant and got us checked in quickly so we could access our room. Once inside, everything was clean and ready for my family.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Unfortunately I can't comment about my stay since I was not allowed to check in. When I arrived I was asked about my dogs and when I said I had 2 I was denied check in. The owner will only allow 1 dog per room. I was unaware of any of this when I made reservations. After traveling for 5 hours on a day that I had already worked 8 this was the last thing I needed to deal with. But I was able to get a room somewhere else. So I will not be shopping for reservations in the future with Red Roof Inn. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by chris, Hotel Management
we are sorry for any inconvenience this caused you. It is posted on the web site about our 1 pet policy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta ga

Nice hotel and good location

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Clean rooms , confortables beds , nice pool , and the staff was very professional
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beaufort s c

Mold in room

Posted Oct 22, 2017
We got in late and didn't notice that in the morning we noticed that there was mold all around the bottom of the room it was very disturbing but when we spoke to the manager she made everything right with us and the staff was very nice and hopefully they will clean it all up and take care of that problem otherwise it was fine if they clean it up I would recommend it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Clean inexpensive hotel, not close to the beach - but along the main drive for groceries and restaurants. Free parking and a small clean pool
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

Terrible experience

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: N/A
Cons: Customer service
I left my ID at home and had the reservation in my name. It had been a crazy week because Irma had hit on Monday and this was Saturday of the same week. The hotel front desk girl said that we needed to have an ID for the person checking in. So we waited on hold for over an hour with Expedia and changed the reservation name to my friend who had an ID. We had an event to get to so we had to leave while we were on hold because we were already late due to the conundrum of checking in. When we returned from our event they had now decided that all guests had to have an ID including myself. This was very frustrating seeing that we had already waited on hold for over an hour and Expedia had obviously confirmed my identity to make the reservation change. I tried showing them that I also had a confirmation via email but they would not accept that either. They made us leave and refused to provide us a room. This put a really big Dark Cloud on a much needed vacation. While there I noticed they wouldn't let another woman check-in because her brother-in-law in another state had paid for a room and she could not produce the credit card. She tried to get him to give them the credit card number because her brother had his credit card. I feel really bad for her and it seemed like she was an evacuee. How heartless of them to treat guests like this the same week of a hurricane. People are going through crises and things may be unusual due to the circumstances. Heartless
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Needs some groundskeeping care, but good value!

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Comfortable rooms, beds. Location.
Cons: More attention to the groundskeeping. There was litter in the parking lot and flower beds -- but to be fair, we were there only one night!
Location: Restaurants, shopping, beaches, tours, excursions...
My daughter and I have stayed here once before, several years ago. If I remember correctly, the grounds were kept very neat and swept/trimmed. It was a motel, with exterior rooms, but it felt very safe both years ago and yesterday. The room was VERY well kept, and the pool was kept in good condition as well. Comfortable beds and the AC worked well. Also, very close to dining options and the public beaches are short drives away. Staff was wonderful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by gulia

Review on red roof inn hilton head island

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Bedbugs or some other bugs in beds. My daughter and I have severe bites.