Ratings based on 1,204 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location and food

Posted Jan 13, 2018
We stay for a long weekend , my kids love it , great food , walk distance to the beach .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Why were they open?

Posted Jan 3, 2018
If you can't properly heat your hotel in winter why are you open? The lobby was so cold you couldn't sit there to read or have a drink without at least a coat and hat. Anytime the lobby door opened cold air swept all the way in. They told me "we've asked to have the heat turned up".Clearly they couldn't or didn't. All external doors lacked seals to keep cold air out so even in the restaurant we had to move our seat. You could see right through the cracks!! The heat in the room took way too long to warm up but I felt trapped there because eventually it was the only warm place. Our bathtub had a long hair on the wall and mildew in the caulking around the tub. The. white window curtain had a gross stain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hilton Head island, SC

Live in the area and went their to celebrate 2018

Posted Jan 2, 2018
The stay was wonderful but the band used for the new year celebration needs improvements, left the hotel to attend a much better celebration and returned for the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Awesome Girl's Trip

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Our girls weekend at Sonesta was excellent. Before we arrived, the concierge graciously responded to my email with a list of things to do in the area. The hotel staff were very accommodating and responded timely. I was very pleased with receiving a text from Courtney after we checked in, and following up with us daily on how our stay at the resort was going. The restaurant's food was delicious from breakfast to dinner (crab cakes were heavenly). I will definitely stay here again!! Awesome customer service!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pinconning michigan

Excellent location

Posted Dec 2, 2017
The accommodations were clean and. Dry nice overall. The staff was helpful and I️ would recommend this resort again to my friends. We had a great time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from savannah, ga

Wonderful hotel with lush grounds

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Wonderful experience from front desk to the spa, the cafe, the bar... beautiful lobby, great rooms, pool, hot tub. Great location on Hilton Head island. Room view was towards parking lot but we only went to the room to sleep so it didn’t matter. Going back for New Years!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Nov 30, 2017
everything nice, beautiful accommodations, next to a beautiful beach,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from greenville sc

Beautiful, clean luxurious resort

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: The grounds were beautiful as were the rooms.
Cons: Complimentary breakfast & coffee. Beach chairs.
We really loved the hotel. It was beautiful, clean, and the staff were especially welcoming. I really wish that a complimentary continental breakfast & coffee station were offered. Especially considering the nightly rates. I would also love complimentary beach chairs or loungers offered. Would make it seem more like a resort dedicated to the customrer's comfort instead of just a hotel offering a nice room and not much more.
4 out of 5
by Steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jerry

Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
The resort was beautiful. The beds were not comfortable. Lumpy and worn in. We thought it was ridiculous that there was a charge for chairs and umbrellas on the beach. But we enjoyed our stay very much.