Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Nice place to stay on a budget! Hotel, staff and amenities of the room was great. Small room but it's japan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good hotel and excellent staff

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: The staff, the restaurants nearby, and the short walk to Peace Park
Location: There are great okinomiyaki restaurants, and other types of food too! Peace Park is a pleasant walk away of about 20 minutes.
I enjoyed staying at the Via Inn Hiroshima. We were there four tourism, and the hotel was a good home base for my family. It's a little walk to the main sights (Peace Park, Hiroshima Castle), but easily walkable in about 20 minutes, and the walk is very pleasant since most is through a very active pedestrian shopping arcade. Plus, the tram can take you there just two blocks away. There are a lot of great restaurants within a couple blocks. The staff was so courteous and so responsive! Just great, as was the breakfast! The rooms are definitely quite compact by U.S. standards, so that's the main thing to be aware of. However, they were quiet and comfortable, and we got a good night sleep.
4 out of 5
by nina tsay from hiroshima

close to everything, people are so nice

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels
the place was great and nice the but bed is hard as a rock
5 out of 5
by Nate H from Los Angeles

One of the best we had on our tour of Japan

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels
Very small but also very nice compared to other hotels in the $100-200 range we had in Japan
5 out of 5
by Pedro M from Santiago, Chile

Cheap and very well located

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels
It is 5 or 6 blocks away of ground zero, so you can get there by walking, despite what any Japanese would say, ITS WALKABLE!! Also, several convenience stores are around the hotel, so if you are traveling on a budget, you will love this place. The staff was very very helpful and helped us to book the ferry from Fukuoka to Busan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Esko London

good location

Posted May 11, 2014 on Ebookers
good location, staff extremely helpful, rooms clean but very small
4 out of 5
by Bob

1-2 nights recommended

Posted Feb 26, 2013 on Hotels
Apart from small size, it is hard to fault this place. Walking distance to streetcar system, walking distance to Peace Garden.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Wayne, IN

Would Stay at the Blue Wave Again

Posted Jul 6, 2011 on Hotels
The staff was really helpful. We had plans to visit Miyajima, and the desk attendant rather than merely answer our question about the trains told us about a better way to get to Miyajima. We felt really comfortable at the Blue Wave. The location was fine because of the hotel's proximity to the trolley. When we arrived we chose to ride the trolley from the main train station, and then had a short two block walk to the hotel. The trolley was a challenge with luggage. If one doesn't mind hoofing it, the main attractions can be reached from the hotel by foot, but if not the trolley is convenient enough.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Osaka

Good location, comfortable.

Posted Dec 6, 2010
Took both parents, wife and two kids. Got two rooms, each with three single beds. It was a bit tight, but just fine for one night. The staff was very courteous and efficient and even spoke some English. The location, about twenty minutes from the castle, peace park, and shopping was perfect for us. The hotel is next to the entertainment district, but there was no noise or other issues. And just a short walk from okonomi mura! For the, very, discounted price we got through expedia, I thought it was a fantastic deal. The only thing is, expedia says it is a non smoking building, but here it meant that non smoking rooms (floors?) are available. It is not/not entirely smoke free. I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tokyo

If you like small then this is the place for you

Posted Oct 7, 2009
The Blue Wave Inn would be a perfect hotel for people traveling light. For a hotel that falls into the higher than average room rate, it lacked many services required in a hotel such as room service, mini bar and space. It was a small hotel just off the 'dodgy part of town' (and I quote that off a local map). Having said that it is quite close to an amazing shopping precinct with all the big names. All in all the hotel served our purpose for one night but once you put an extra bed in the room there is not enough room to swing a cat.