Ratings based on 1,154 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guam

Room with a river view

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: It was walking distance to all attractions, bus station and trolley.
Cons: More seating areas for a huge crowd of people wanting to eat during early breakfast buffet.
Location: From the hotel, it is a 10-15 minutes walk to the A-dome. Peace Memorial , and also the ferry to Miyajima island.
We were pleasantly greeted by the check-in staff, when I asked for a room with the river view, the lady that was checking us, happily changed our room and give us the room overlooking the river. From our room we can see the A-dome. After staying in a closet-sized room in Sinjuku, I was prepared for another small room, but to my surprised , the room was quite big for a double-size. The breakfast buffet was excellent and saves us a lot of time looking for places to eat for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Hotel Sunroute > a good choice

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Impressive entrance, helpful staff, clean room, good price and perfect location
Cons: The pillows were terrible very heavy and hard.
I chose this hotel for the location as it was across the road from Peace Park, close to Peace Museum and the Dome. The price was excellent and when we walked into the hotel my friends questioned the price they thought it very cheap. There were excellent restaurants down the road and a Starbucks across the road on the corner where we had breakfast. The room itself was clean and they provided tea facilities but there was only green tea and no milk. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were the hardest and most uncomfortable pillows I have ever slept on, they really need to be thrown out and replaced. But over all I would highly recommend Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

convenient location near transport and shopping

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: breakfast; position; wifi
great position.breakfast good hot food available and a pleasing choices. short tram ride to the station (no 1 tram 160 yen cash). walk to shopping and food outlets. good wifi. no english speaking tv. no room safe, only safe keeping at reception which worked ok. train trip to miyajima island worthwhile trip especially when using the JR rail pass (which i would recommend). short stroll up the river to the atomic bomb dome,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima: PERFECT for our needs!

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: As stated above, the location, staff, and price were perfect for our needs.
Cons: Honestly nothing.
Location: Centrally located to everything listed in our Fromer's guide book. Quite literally a few hundred yards away from the Peace Memorial and museum.
My friend and I spent two days in Hiroshima and stayed at the Hotel Sunroute. It was perfect for our needs. Our room had two twin beds that were very comfortable. The room itself had a nice TV and bathroom. The shower pressure was great! As far as the location, we were maybe 300 yards from the Hiroshima Peace Memorial and even closer to the museum. Our room had a great view of the museum, river, and mountains surrounding Hiroshima. We were no more than a 20 minute walk to the Imperial palace and maybe 30 minutes from the metro station. What I liked the best was the staff. Incredibly welcoming and most spoke solid English. I thought it was really cool how they wore their Carp jerseys over their suits. The Carp are Hiroshima's baseball team. They rule! Two things stuck out the most. First, there was a hip little bar inside the lobby that served a lot of great whiskeys at much lower prices that you could expect in the States. I became a big fan of Japanese whisky there (Hibiki 25 for the win!). Second, was that even though we had the "do not disturb" sign on our door, we came home to a bag of fresh towels and toiletries. It was a nice touch. All in all, I would highly recommend staying here due to the hotel's reasonable prices, excellent staff, and location. Two thumbs up!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, spacious rooms in Hiroshima

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Compared to most hotels in Japan, Hotel Sunroute is very spacious! After over a week of travel, we really appreciated a large room and more Western style amenities. The bed was very large and comfortable and we had plenty of space for our suitcases. The staff was very friendly and spirited towards there baseball team which we thought was great! The breakfast is also reasonably priced with a good variety of food and provides a beautiful view of Hiroshima. The hotel is in a great location for visiting the Peace Memorial Museum and park. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth , WA.

Good location, close to river, transport and city.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The staff were very helpful. We had a good experience there. Definitely recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the exibit

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Great Hotel , service is just ok. Girl service at breakfast entrance is not happy for some reasons.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Close to the peace park and museum

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: friendly staff, they loaned us an umbrella during the rain and held onto our bags after checkout for free.
Cons: it was a lovely location , the room was small but in Japan that is normal.
Location: the main visitor points are very close by as is access to the main covered street ( Honduri ) ons tram stop earlier than the closest to the hotel
we came to Hiroshima to pay our respects to those who died in the Atom bombing, the hotel was very close which was perfect as we only had two days to see Hiroshima. it is easy to get to via tram and a short walk, about two blocks in American terms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, AUS

Close to the main sites

Posted Mar 31, 2017
The hotel is quite noisey, could hear everything from the other rooms. The room is quite dated. Was very close to the main sites and easy to get to public transport. Its close to the main shopping area. Its about a 20 minute tram ride from the station. Depends what you want from a hotel. I wouldn't recommend the breakfast and the restaurant was always booked up for dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A fantastic hotel!

Posted Mar 26, 2017
The staff were very kind. The hotel is beautiful. Very close to museum and peace park. 100% good.