Ratings based on 435 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient, comfortable, good value.

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Location, value for money.
Situated right next to the excellent North Sea Oceanarium, this is a good value motel. Very friendly staff, and a good danish-style breakfast. Guest's kitchen if you want to fix your own meals, as there's no restaurant. There's a hotel over the road (five minutes walk) with good restaurant for an evening meal, and the centre of town is less than thirty minutes walk away, a Netto and a Spar store are within a mile. There's no reception staff on the desk after four in the afternoon, instead there's a self-service check-in machine that'll issue your key card. I walked on to the other side of town (a couple of miles), where theres a good rocky/ sandy beach, a big white lighthouse, and an interesting set of trenches and bunkers from the forties to explore. Great views all round, though beware the constant 'breeze' off the sea.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Efficient, quiet and clean

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
An efficient and clean place. Quiet. Nice park with playground (which needs a bit of maintenance).
4 out of 5
by Celeste

Probably great in the summer

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
Arrival very spooky (winter night). No one there, note with room key on a table. But comfortable and convenient and nice breakfast. Enjoyed aquarium and closeness to ferry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good night sleep

Posted Oct 30, 2016
The room was quiet and the bed comfortable, which made for a great rest.
4 out of 5
by Jonika Nysted

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasing and quiet

Posted Dec 29, 2015
The rooms are on the smaller side but clean. The included breakfast is very nice in cosy surroundings, we were there during the Christmas days and it was decked out very nice. Staff is very nice and helpful. There is a rec room with a tv for the kids in one end of the motel. The Motel is right behind the Aquarium (Oceanarium) walking distance 200 yards. Overall I can only recommend it as we had a very pleasent stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Owernight stay

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
Second time we stay here and it is ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belgium

ok hotel close to feries to Norway

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: overall an overhaul would be welcome
Location: close to Hirthals harbor and ferries to Norway
Hotel is well located, clean, ok comfort and ok breakfast. Ideal for overnight sleep when taking the ferry to or from Norway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be careful not to book too late in the evening.

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived late but had booked in advance. I was initially concerned because the front desk was closed with no apparent way to contact an employee. I eventually discovered a key and a note with information that the attendant left specifically for me. I appreciated that someone had taken the time to ensure that we would be taken care of, and I was glad that we'd made the reservation early enough that day. The room itself was fine but bright since the curtains did not block out light from outdoors and the sun shines so late at night that far north.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap room, furnishings, the staff was friendly

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed there because of the ferry rides. The rooms were light because of the sun not setting. I would like better drapes that were not shear. The towels were small for me body. We were passing through, will not be back there again.