Ratings based on 871 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Surprisingly Excellent

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: The bed was comfy, the pillows were actually cozy, and the room itself was pleasant.
Cons: The lighting was too dim, and it was difficult getting the temperature to a comfortable degree.
Location: The location is perfect. Walking distance to everything, and really not too far of a walk from the train station.
I would love to see the other rooms as ours was themed as the US President's Suite. It was so different from any hotel I have ever stayed in, and we will definitely be back should our travels take us to Bologna. We were only here for one night, so I cannot say much except the bed was comfortable, the room was very spacious, and it was pleasing to be inside. The lighting could have been better, and the shower was just weird (water got on the floor), but those were our only two complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Elena, Hotel Management
Dear Jill, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy and please you enjoyed the stay and appreciated our service. Thank you for yours tips: we prize all suggestion from our guests. We really hope we will welcome you back soon! Best Regards, Elena
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge UK

Central hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2017
We had an apartment in the annexe which was very spacious and comfortable. Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Elena, Hotel Management
Dear Cliff, thank you so much for your review! We hope we will keep on the same track, but please do not hesitate to tell us if there is something that could be ameliorate: we prize all suggestion from our guests. We really hope we will welcome you back soon! Elena
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon, SK

Great hotel in the centre of Bologna

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: The location and the artistic spirit.
Cons: It took me a day to realize what the art in my room was - perhaps tell guest upon arrival.
Location: Perfect location - just off the mail square. Great sights, shopping, and restaurants mere meters away.
This hotel is a pleasant surprise. Tucked away on a narrow street just off the main square, this hotel has loads of charm and quirkiness and the staff is very friendly and helpful. You can quickly tell that the hotel cares about its city and wants to show it off.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Elena, Hotel Management
Dear Paola, you have been very nice! We are so happy and please you enjoyed the stay and appreciated our service. We hope you will come back soon! Best Regards, Elena
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice Hotel in the center of Bologna

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Nice Hotel in the hart of the historic site of Bologna. Make sure to call the hotel to register your car tag before you arrive The Hotel is in a restricted car access zone
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Elena, Hotel Management
Dear Ricardo, thank you so much for your review! We are glad you had a nice stay. We hope you will come back! Best Regards, Elena
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great location

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Hotel located just behind main square and close to everything. Nice touches such as daily information sheet, free city map and tourist guide.
Cons: The only thing would be to replace the plastic glasses in the mini bar with glass glasses.
Lovely hotel, friendly and helpful staff. The location of the hotel enhanced our stay in Bologna.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2017 by Elena, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy and please you enjoyed the stay and appreciated our service. Thank you for your suggestion for the glass: we prize all suggestion from our guests. We really hope we will welcome you back soon, and please check on our website www.alcappellorosso.it our special "decorated" rooms: you can ask about the one you like best (if any) and we will be happy to assign it to you if available. Thanks again, Elena
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle, wa

great like cation

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Hotel is in ideal location right in the middle of city center and close to a lot of activities. Hotel is nicely decorated and quiet. Bed is comfortable and bathroom has a full sized tub/shower. Hotel breakfast is great with pastries and eggs with other options as well. Hotel staff is friendly and room is clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Elena, Hotel Management
Dear Jennifer, We are so happy and please you enjoyed the stay and appreciated our service. We hope we will keep on the same track, but please do not hesitate to tell us if there is something that could be ameliorate: we prize all suggestion from our guests. We really hope we will welcome you back soon! Best Regards, Elena
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from andover UK

Great place to stay close to central square

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Cons: bed a bit bouncy
Enjoyable 4 night stay with helpful staff who made 2 excellent suggestions for eating. Quiet but very central location. Worth eating at the hotel resturant which makes it's own fresh pasta. 25 mins from airport by taxi outside rush hours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Elena, Hotel Management
Dear Nigel, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy and please you enjoyed the stay and appreciated our service. We hope we will keep on the same track, but please do not hesitate to tell us if there is something that could be ameliorate: we prize all suggestion from our guests. We really hope we will welcome you back soon, and please check on our website www.alcappellorosso.it our special "decorated" rooms: you can ask about the one you like best (if any) and we will be happy to assign it to you if available. Thanks again, Elena
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Perfect location

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: No carpeting in the rooms.
Location: Perfect location for the Piazza Maggiore and all the attractions nearby.
A short jaunt to the Piazza Maggiore. Staff very helpful and the adjoining restaurant was good with friendly and young staff. Room clean and comfortable with a pillow menu too! Lots of high quality shampoo, shower gel and conditioners provided. A makeup mirror and a shower with good water pressure. The only downer was the carpeting in the room perhaps not a good choice for hotels as ceramic flooring would be more hygenic (hence the four rating on cleanliness). A young woman at reception suggested we tell our taxi driver to drop us off at the speed train entrance to save time and frustration at Bologna Centrale. This tip was really appreciated and she was right on!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Elena, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you so much: what you say is wonderful and makes us so happy. We are really devoted to what we do and to making the guests' stay as comfortable as possible. We really hope we will welcome you back soon! Best Regards, Elena
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fantastic location.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Location, wifi, friendly/helpful staff.
Cons: okay as it is
Location: Prime location for getting around.
we had a great city break, book a tour and head into italian countryside-amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Elena, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much: what you say is wonderful and makes us so happy. We are really devoted to what we do and to making the guests' stay as comfortable as possible. We really hope we will welcome you back soon! Best Regards, Elena
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norfolk u.k.

great city break

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Hotel in prime location,staff most helpful and considerate and bedrooms public rooms well maintained and very clean.Service overall outstanding.We stayed 3 nights and would definitely do it again however would prefer a larger bedroom if possible. Bologna is a great city full of history,visually pleasing,and many excellent walk to restaurants.A car is a liability. City tour bus well worth doing and we took a full day regional cheese ham basalmic factory visit including lunch which was excellent and showed centuries-old artesan crafts. Italy at its best
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Elena, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Richard, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy and please you enjoyed the stay and appreciated our service. We really hope we will welcome you back soon! Best Regards, Elena