Ratings based on 854 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from andover UK

Great place to stay close to central square

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Cons: bed a bit bouncy
Enjoyable 4 night stay with helpful staff who made 2 excellent suggestions for eating. Quiet but very central location. Worth eating at the hotel resturant which makes it's own fresh pasta. 25 mins from airport by taxi outside rush hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Perfect location

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: No carpeting in the rooms.
Location: Perfect location for the Piazza Maggiore and all the attractions nearby.
A short jaunt to the Piazza Maggiore. Staff very helpful and the adjoining restaurant was good with friendly and young staff. Room clean and comfortable with a pillow menu too! Lots of high quality shampoo, shower gel and conditioners provided. A makeup mirror and a shower with good water pressure. The only downer was the carpeting in the room perhaps not a good choice for hotels as ceramic flooring would be more hygenic (hence the four rating on cleanliness). A young woman at reception suggested we tell our taxi driver to drop us off at the speed train entrance to save time and frustration at Bologna Centrale. This tip was really appreciated and she was right on!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fantastic location.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Location, wifi, friendly/helpful staff.
Cons: okay as it is
Location: Prime location for getting around.
we had a great city break, book a tour and head into italian countryside-amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Elena, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much: what you say is wonderful and makes us so happy. We are really devoted to what we do and to making the guests' stay as comfortable as possible. We really hope we will welcome you back soon! Best Regards, Elena
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norfolk u.k.

great city break

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Hotel in prime location,staff most helpful and considerate and bedrooms public rooms well maintained and very clean.Service overall outstanding.We stayed 3 nights and would definitely do it again however would prefer a larger bedroom if possible. Bologna is a great city full of history,visually pleasing,and many excellent walk to restaurants.A car is a liability. City tour bus well worth doing and we took a full day regional cheese ham basalmic factory visit including lunch which was excellent and showed centuries-old artesan crafts. Italy at its best
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Elena, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Richard, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy and please you enjoyed the stay and appreciated our service. We really hope we will welcome you back soon! Best Regards, Elena
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel in central location

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Excellent location, individually decorated and interesting rooms, good breakfast at a reasonable rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Elena, Hotel Management
Hi! Thank you very much for your review! We hope you will come back! Best Regards, Elena
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Andrews, Scotland

Great location

Posted Sep 15, 2017
To be able to walk out into the historic centre was great. Comfortable rooms, helpful staff, and good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Elena , Hotel Management
Dear John, thank you so much for your review! We are so happy and please you enjoyed the stay and appreciated our service. We really hope we will welcome you back soon, and please check on our website www.alcappellorosso.it our special "decorated" rooms! Best Regards, Elena Romano
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville KY

Great location, nice room

Posted Sep 15, 2017
We were in a great location on a quiet street off piazza Maggiore. Hotel staff was very nice, rooms were good size with a king bed and very nice bathroom with a deep tub. Only challenge is parking, luckily the staff asked about a car when I made the reservation and I had one of the hotel spots otherwise parking would have been a nightmare
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Elena, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are glad you had a nice stay. We hope you will come back ! Kind Regards, Elena Romano
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

4 days in Bologna

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Location and friendly staff.
Very nice location for this boutique establishment, nice and central. Room was Italian sized but comfortable and very clean. Staff were excellent and helpful. The Osteria next door is worth a visit. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Elena , Hotel Management
Dear Michael, thank you so much for your review. We are so happy and please you enjoyed the stay and appreciated our service. We hope you will come back soon! Thanks again and kind regards, Elena Romano
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best cooking class

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We had one of our most memorable activities suggested by the hotel. It was a private cooking class with Italy Food Nest. The class took place in a private home. We would recommend to anyone
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Elena, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review. We are so happy and please you enjoyed the stay and appreciated our service. We hope you will come back soon, in which case please use the code 1255 on our website, or bu email or by phone to get a 10% discount on all our rates. Thanks again and kind regards. Elena Romano
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location close to Piazza Maggiore.

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Really good location. Easy walk to train station. Close to many restaurants. Nice breakfast selections of hot and cold foods. Pleasant breakfast room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Elena, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review! We are glad you had a nice stay! We hope you will come back soon. Best Regards, Elena