Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swarthmore, PA

Great location in Bologna!

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: Almost everything!!
Cons: pillows!!!
Location: very centrally located - right off the Plaza Maggiore, near shops, churches, sites to see - easy to walk almost everywhere. Would definitely go back!
We loved the hotel - it's in an ideal location - and overall was perfect. The pillows were awful! Hard, thin, leaden - that actually detracted from sleeping well - the bed was reasonably comfortable, but overall that was a issue. Other than that - breakfast was terrific, staff was lovely, room attractive - bathroom was great - had a lovely bath! Would definitely go back - maybe with my own pillow...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel in centre of Bologna

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing do not change a thing
Location: The Art hotel is almost in the main square brilliant location
This hotel is excellent staff brilliant and most helpful we will visit again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh,scotland

Perfect Location

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Brilliant location next to the city’s main piazza. Lovely staff and great room. Only minor suggestion was that the bed was hard! Other than tht absolutely recommend this wonderful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CRONULLA, AUSTRALIA

FANTASTIC BOLOGNA

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: SUPERLATIVE IN EVERY ASPECT
Cons: SEE COMMENTS ABOVE
Location: SEE ABOVE COMMENTS AND REVIEW
I will describe our experience on this hotel in one word and in bold letters-SUPERLATIVE !!!! Everything about this hotel and Bologna has tops our trip in Italy. The best hotel experience in Italy . . Bologna is underrated . . I can put this place above Milan. We fell in love with this place . . the ambience . . the night life . .the restaurants . . the food . . and if there is the leaning Tower of Pisa-there is alos the leaning tower of Bologna . above all it's the hotel - Art Hotel Commerciante you really did amaze us . . I believed it is a 14th century tower converted into a boutique hotel .. the character of this hotel is excellent . . old beautiful harp on display . . the best breakfast ever and better than any 5 star hotels compared . . not only the food but the presentation as well . . fantastic staff from check in . . staff at breakfast . . house keeping . and concierge ... where can you find a hotel who will send one of their concierge to take our luggage and walk with us to the taxi rank (20 minutes away) as the traffic was closed due to a very important guest of the town that day. To make our stay in Bologna special is the visit of Pope Francis . a one in a life time to see the Pope. Thank you for looking after us Art Hotel Commerciante . . We will be back and very highy recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Great location close to old world city center. Great people watching and cafes. My second stay loved the little apartment room #402 👌. I will return next year for the nice breakfast and service. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
by Michal

Great hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent room with great facilities and great staff. Perfect location and great breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Kye-Won

Beautiful and NICE!!

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
Great service and staff, the hotel was surpringly beautiful and nice enough to make us go back again! The breakfast was fantastic even better than Queen Mary II from NY to England. We strongly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Fantastic location

Posted Aug 28, 2017
A family of four, we spent one night here in one of their apartments, which are located just around the corner from the main hotel. Room was very nice and modern with a comfortable king bed and a pull out couch for the kids to share. Breakfast was included in our room rate and it was very good - bigger selection than is usually available and the quality and presentation were excellent. The hotel is right in the centre of the city next to the Duomo - couldn't be any better. Only issue we experienced had to do with the air conditioning and the individual manning the front desk. When we arrived our room was 25 degrees Celsius and the air conditioning didn't appear to be working. We spoke to the front desk and were told it was an Italian "law" that ac not be used under 25. When we advised that we would then have to find a new hotel, he said for us he could adjust it to 22. Within a couple of hours the room was very comfortable and was ultimately fine for sleeping. I would recommend this hotel very highly but don't be shy about speaking to them about the ac!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

More of an airbandb in the distant apartments

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Breakfast good
Slap bang in the middle of this great eating / historic city A bit noisy in evenings and one or two electrical faults Bit too far from the hotel, in next street, to feel connected and no phone instructions in room how to connect with hotel reception
5 out of 5
by Meir

Excellent. Recommended!

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location and a great staff. Wonderful breakfast.