Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Forest, IL

Good location

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Right near towers and other Bologna sights. Very helpful staff. About 2 miles from train station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Armenia

Very central location

Posted Oct 28, 2017
The hotel is located in the centre of bologna very close to main tourist attractions. The terraces offer nice views. Breakfast was good. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel - the only downside was the specific persistent smell in the room which we could not kill even by lieavibg windows open.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Makes you welcome

Posted Oct 21, 2017
This must be the fourth or fifth time I've stayed at the San Donato, which shows how highly I rate it. Firstly the staff are superb, they are friendly and efficient, creating a welcoming atmosphere. Then the location in central Bologna in the historical university area, near the Two Towers. It is a vibrant district with many excellent bars and restaurants a short walk away. Bologna Centrale the railway station is a twenty minute walk away. This is an excellent place from which to explore the charming towns of Emilia-Romagna, such as Modena, Ferrara and Ravenna.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Nice Hotel with great location

Posted Oct 12, 2017
This was a great hotel with nice, helpful staff. The room was clean and basic and had a great view over the city. The breakfast was good with a great selection of fresh foods. As we did not know the area, we did have some trouble locating the hotel with the car's GPS. We were taken down many little laneways meant for pedestrians and we ended up parking a fair way away and walking to the hotel. The staff gave clear directions and we were able to drive back and park at the hotel carpark. I would recommend any tourist with a car obtaining directions to carpark prior to arriving.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Good hotel in great location

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Wotif
Rates were extremely competitive. Staff were more than accommodating and had diverse languages they could talk in, which helped with my limited Italian. The location is superb. So close to everything if your time is limited. The roof top and terrace for breakfast and evening drinks was more than perfect. I loved Bologna and I would definitely stay there again. Whilst the rooms were dated - the bathroom was not and I have to say I loved the magnifying mirror (I miss mine when I travel) and the beds were comfortable and clean.
5 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Ideal location. Excellent service from Hotel Manager who provided a map and took the time to talk us through it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect Location and Wonderful Staff

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Location : Right next to the famous tours of Bologna; Very central. As soon as we finished our night in the city center we were practically right outside the hotel. Staff : Exceptionally friendly; A cleaner switched off his vacuum cleaner as we passed on the hallway so as not to disturb us. Room : Wasn't ready when we arrived but staff were quick to fix that. Very spacious and comfortable. No view from the window but there is rooftop seating with a splendid view of the city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and friendly staff made our stay in Bologna a delight. Beds were comfortable. Other than a shower head that needed to be replaced the bathroom was spacious with lots of light. A very short walk to the main plaza. Would not hesitate to stay again. They also had private parking for our car at a reasonable price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, clean, good service and parking!

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel location is great, parking right beside, clean room, we had a suite eith an odd but good lay put, bathroom on the right,one living room with a sofabed and a room with a king bed, ithe only problem we had was with the ac, in the living room was good but in the one in bedroom is not big enough for it, so it was uncomfortable, we even move the bed close to the ac!