Ratings based on 381 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Great staff. Would come again!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
This staff was friendly when we arrived and happily gave us a discount on breakfast as we were under the impression it was free. Beds were clean and ceilings were high. I wish the AC was a little bit stronger (newer) as the room never quite got cool enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I enjoyed it. Relaxed place.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Nothing fancy here. Has an old school antique vibe almost bordello ish.
5 out of 5
by Philip

Convenient clean quiet and friendly

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
The manager and his fiancée were perfect hosts and the hotel fantastic value. It may not be a 5* hotel but it gets top ratings from us. It was a 5 min walk from the centre in a very quiet side street, no noise at night. We have already recommended it to our friends and if we go to Bologna again we would have no hesitation at staying here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Bologna is a gem Zanhotel II Canale a treasure

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Wonderful, friendly staff Fantastic location (Bologna is definitely worth a visit) The eclectic displays of antiques on each floor are a quirky, individual touch. You'll be warmly welcomed in this well-run family establishment!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Very convenient location, clean with young and nice staff. Better to arrive around noon as the front desk is usually unattended. Sexy shop just around the corner that might be embarassing if arriving with unfamiliar people.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun and friendly hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was perfectly situated with 5 minutes walk to the wonderful historic buildings and museums of Bologna and 10 minutes walk to the station to get easy trains to Ravenna, Parma etc. an excellent base. It isnt the most luxurious of hotels, but the people were really friendly and helpful and the decor was querky and original. We would certainly stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Hugh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Basic hotel in central location

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Carpet clean in the room was needed, big curtains and big furniture were not suitable for a small room I was staying in.
Location: Train station is 10 minutes walk away and so is the university district and the main piazza of Bologna.
The hotel is very conveniently located not far from the train station or the main piazza of Bologna. I had a single room, which felt quite small because the bed was not single and dated heavy furniture was taking up most of the space. The room and bathroom were clean, but I would maybe recommend less air freshener as it hangs in the air for hours, which is quite annoying in a small space. The breakfast was very basic, I would probably choose to go to one of the cafés nearby instead if you have a few spare euros to spend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Good comfortable central hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff, the large comfortable room, and the quirky corridor decorations!
Cons: Some of the furniture is in need of a bit of work, it was all a bit old and outdated/chipped/scuffed!
Location: Great central location near main street with shops. Easy walk to Piazza Maggiore and the market, restaurants, shops, sights etc.
This hotel was ideal for our 4 night stay in Bologna. Not particularly fancy but it was clean, comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice, with the usual pastries, fruit and so on. If you are a lover of the colour orange (which I actually am so was happy) then this is the ideal hotel for you - the rooms are fully kitted out in the terracotta tones which the city itself is famous for. We liked the quirky décor and artefacts lining the entrance and corridors too. The location of the hotel was great as it was just by the central street, Via dell'Indipendenza, which has lots of shops and cafes, and is an easy 10 minute or so walk to Piazza Maggiore and the central city. We had seen a couple of reviews that said that the street where the hotel is located, Via Bertiera, is a bit dodgy and dingy (possibly because of the sex boutique next door..?), but we didn't find it so at all. The entrance is in the shadow of the building somewhat but we found the area perfectly safe and welcoming. Perhaps do just be prepared for some interesting window views when walking past the shop each day!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful service!

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location in Bologna. All the sites and shopping are within walking distance. The hotel staff was absolutely wonderful with recommendations for dinners - we had one of the best dinners of our trip based on their recommendations - and gave us ideas for best places to visit during our short stay. We had asked for twin beds but since those rooms were taken, they upgraded us to a triple room. Very spacious but it faced a street which was very loud as the windows had to be kept open as the air conditioning didn't work. Overall we enjoyed our stay.