Ratings based on 1,048 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Yotk City

Great hotel with characters near everything

Posted Jan 16, 2018
It’s not overly lavish and pampering but very comfortable, just the right size to have some personal touch yet not overbearing as some B&B. The staff were friendly and hospitable. Our two double bed room was spacious enough for our family with two children. I like the shutter windows especially, charming and easy to use. The large closet makes it possible to keep the room neat. The rooftop terrace had great view of the waterfront. Wine and snacks are served there every afternoon, as well as the breakfast (You can take it to 2nd floor lounge if cold) The community room near the lobby is stocked with free apples, water, coffee and cookies is a thoughtful anand nice touch. The guests can watch TvVand read there too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by Barry, Hotel Management
How kinds of you to take the time to record the lovely review for other potential guest to view. We greatly appreciate the kind words especially of our friendly staff and how much you enjoyed all our wonderful amenities. We hope that you will keep us in mind once again when planning a getaway for you and your family. Best Regards, Barry Hutto General Manager Andrew Pinckney Inn
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, comfortable rooms

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Location: Great proximity to the market with the best restaurants around (cru cafe, vendue rooftop for sunset drinks, SNOBs)
Great FREE breakfast, accommodating staff, nice solid, no frills room. My only complaint about the rooms would be in the lace of central heating and air. We visited in an unseasonably cold weekend, and it was VERY difficult to maintain a comfortable setting; the heat would get too warm, the cold air would blow too strong. I can imagine in a hot summer day, it'd be the same. The bathroom floors were also ICE cold!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by Barry, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn on your recent "wintery" getaway to Charleston. So nice to know that you enjoyed your stay even with the very cold and snowy weather. We will certainly review your concern about the heat in your guest room even though it was historic low temperatures in the teens. Again thank you so much for the kind review and your business. We hope to see you again in the future perhaps for a lovely Spring or Summer Getaway. Best Regards, Barry Hutto General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia SC

A Pleasant Stay at the Inn

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Pros: The B&B style. The roof top terrace. The complimentary 'Wine and Cheese' hour is a lovely touch and allows guests to interact with one another.
Cons: -Clear signage to locate reception -State clearly that gym is not on premises -Vary breakfast menu every other day (eating same food daily is dull)
Location: A lot of shops, restaurants, pubs, galleries, churches, the aquarium, supermarket, hardware store, gym, etc.
Arrived and did not realize the hotel was on both sides of the street, so waited until a guest appeared and informed me where the reception was. After that, got checked in and settled in my room. Later found out that the hotel did not have a fitness center and this had been a key factor in my selection of this hotel. I learned that they provide guest passes for a gym several blocks away. In the end I had a lovely experience. The hotel is more of an inn, as its name suggests... with the cozy feel of a B&B. It is well situated downtown, and I was able to walk for hours around historic Charleston, and felt safe walking alone at night. Breakfast was included, and they host a 'Wine & Cheese' hour on the roof top terrace... wine, cheese, crackers, boiled peanuts, etc. The gym was small and simple, but had the essential equipment, helpful staff and a great 'Red Zone' circuit class. Based on my world travels and experiences at great hotels and lodges in Africa, Europe, the Middle East and Dubai, I find this hotel rather expensive. For the price, I expected an in-house gym, a large multi-option buffet breakfast daily, finer room decor, and in every room: a mini-fridge, hot water kettle, assortment of tea, coffee and bottled water. My room was upgraded... a pleasant surprise and much appreciated. It positively affected the rest of my stay. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by Barry, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay. We certainly appreciate your comments and feedback. We hope that you will keep us in mine when planning your next Charleston Getaway. Best Regards, Barry Hutto General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great location ,nice breakfast

Posted Jan 11, 2018
The hotel was in a great location where you can walk to everything. The included breakfast was great and the extra cookies and wine during the day was very nice too. On the flip side, the room was dirty and one of the knobs was broken off the dresser.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by Barry, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn on your recent trip to Charleston. We will certainly review the concerns mentioned in your review. So nice to know how much you enjoyed our complimentary Rooftop Breakfast and our location in the heart of the historic district. We hope that you will keep us in mind once again when planning a Charleston Getaway. Best Regards, Barry Hutto General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hilton Head Island

Perfect location . Excellent accommodations

Posted Dec 29, 2017
One block from City Market,Carriage Rides, excellent restaurants . Wonderful breakfast. Lobby welcoming and helpful desk staff . Easy valet parking . Loved the Inn . Comfortable bed, beautiful room . Don’t miss this gem!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Barry, Hotel Management
So nice to know how much you enjoyed your stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn during the Holidays. As you mentioned our location is most ideal for enjoying all that the historic district has to offer. We hope to see you again real soon. Regards, Barry Hutto General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Great location for a Charleston venture

Posted Dec 28, 2017
We enjoyed staying at AP Inn, however it’s an older building and the walls are extremely thin. Noise from trucks and cars and people talking on street easily heard in the St Phiip’s Suite. Other than that, it’s a great spot in town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2017 by Barry, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. Glad to know that your overall stay was a good one. We are renovating the St Philip Suite in January & February and will also address urban environmental concerns as you mentioned. We appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again sometime soon. Regards, Barry Hutto General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Room had no privacy. Very noisy with thin walls and ceilings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2017 by Barry, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your business. Regards, Barry Hutto General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gold coast australia

Great location, really friendly helpful staff.

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Upgrade to suite was great. Spent alot of time travelling in USA living out of suit cases so nice to have plenty of room to spread out and very comfy bed
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Barry Hutto, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn on your recent visit to Charleston. Great to know how much you enjoyed your stay and the complimentary upgrade to a suite. We certainly appreciate you recognizing our staff's friendly and accommodating manner. Please keep us in mind when visiting the Charleston area once again. General Manager Andrew Pinckney Inn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Great Location....Good hotel but could be improved

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Location was great. Continental breakfast on the weekend was surprisingly good...biscuits & gravy, bacon, croissants etc. & the rooftop patio was nice
Cons: Add bathroom vent fans and soft close doors!
Location: Central location was great. Waterfront parks, city market, E Bay Street & King St were all close by and within walking distance!
Pulling up it felt like we selected a winner. Check in was a breeze but when we walked into the room we were a bit disappointed. If it was 10'x12', I'd be surprised. The bathroom was located 2' from the bed and there was no vent fan. We came to grips that it's an old building so we assumed all the rooms were that small unless you booked a suite. While walking through we saw multiple rooms being cleaned & I think we literally had the smallest room of the whole resort. Then every morning starting at around 7AM we had the privilege of listening to the storage room door adjacent to our room slam shut about every 5 minutes. This happened every morning during our 4 night stay. I understand that they need to clean rooms and grab towels but maybe they should invest in a soft close storage door!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Barry Hutto, GM, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share comments of your recent stay. We will review the concerns you expressed as we want to provide a great stay for our guest in every manner. So nice to know how much you enjoyed our Rooftop Breakfast and other amenities. Just an FYI we do have several different room types with larger floor plans. You did book our Petite Queen room which is our smallest room and is square footage is documented on website. We hope that you will keep us in mind for future getaways to the Charleston area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from naples Fl

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Good hotel! Very convenient to all activities. Can walk everywhere! Friendly staff . Good breakfast and wine & cheese etc. in afternoon in rooftop setting with cool views.Nice place to stay in beautiful city👍
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Barry, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. So nice to know how much you enjoyed your recent stay especially the wonderful Rooftop Breakfast & Afternoon Receptions. We hope that you will keep us in mind for a future getaway. Barry Hutto General Manager Andrew Pinckney Inn