Ratings based on 603 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, UK

Central location with plenty of history

Posted Aug 27, 2017
The hotel provided afternoon tea and the opportunity to meet people. Period rooms and a homely feel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Plumbing needs much work

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Toilet took 4 to 5 flushes. Tub/shower drain was clogged with hair & Gluck and did not drain so you were left standing in slime while showering. It only seeped away after you were done. Breakfast was very mediocre. Staircase steep with very small steps...very difficult if older. Staff was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clover, SC

within walking distance to many sites

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Its location.
Location: City market, historic tour sites.
Nice comfortable room, good breakfast, within walking distance to city sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Inn

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Excellent staff and within walking distance of much of the historic Charleston area.
We enjoyed the Barksdale House Inn and plan to return. Very friendly and helpful staff. We liked the small inn atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lots of charm, walking distance to everything

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Location: King street, the market, bike shop for going to places that are further away
Lots of charm, walking distance to everything and a bike shop.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Many positives, just one negative

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: The above, plus nicely appointed breakfast room, pretty little patio w/ fountain, onsite parking. Our bedroom windows faced crepe myrtles in bloom.
Cons: Carriage house carpet was worn, split at the seams and looked dirty. The caulking in our bathtub was nasty and should be replaced.
Location: It's in the heart of the historic district, so you can walk to many fine restaurants, shops, neighborhoods, etc.
Hubby & I spent two pleasant days and nights in this inice old home just a block from King Street and right across from the College of Charleston. For location in the historic district it can't be beat. While not inexpensive, it was less than other options I found. The staff was very polite and accommodating. The weekend hot breakfast which included a delicious tall quiche was great and the weekday cold breakfast was varied and ample, including fresh fruit, cereals, sweet rolls, bagels, etc. Coffee, tea and snacks like brownies were available at all hours and in the afternoon there was a nice little spread of things like pickled asparagus, crackers and cheese. We stayed in an upstairs room in the coach house behind the main house and it was nicely furnished and quiet. Unlike rooms in some boutique hotels where we've stayed, this room was designed with travelers in mind and had luggage racks, closets, fridge and a hairdryer. The bed was comfy and the linens were nice. I recommend the upstairs rooms to avoid the noise of the front door opening and closing and the sounds of people using the coffee maker in the foyer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel convenient to everything.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Cozy feeling and relaxing atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Excellent location close to restaurants and shops.
Great customer service and breakfast. Room was nice size with comfortable bed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
Great location in the historic district.
5 out of 5
by Melinda

Perfect Inn

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely Inn - we felt like we were going home each night. GREAT location & very safe.
5 out of 5
by Melinda

Perfect Inn

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely Inn - great accommodating staff !