Ratings based on 926 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Excellent stay...everyone very friendly. Very comfortable rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa

Location, Customer Service, CleNiness - 5 Stars

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: See above, additionally secured parking, double coffee maker in room, wet bar area in room.
Cons: The morning buffet. It is just a plain buffet that you would see at other hotels. However, there is a charge for this the buffet.
Location: You can walk in any direction for your sightseeing, shopping, meals.It is just outside of the City Market, around the corner from many restaurants.
Hotel location is perfect in the heat of historic downtown. We researched many hotells, and glad we stayed at the Doubletree.Customer Service is one of the best I have seen. The management and front desk are courteous and addressed any needs/concerns we had. We had a special request for a room, and the management far exceeded our request. Management personnel was in the lobby every morning greeting guests. This was a nice touch. The Valet / Bell Service were outstanding and set the tone for the hotel personnel as these were the first people to greet us. One of our main concerns with staying at a hotel, is it clean? The hotel is due for renovations in 2018, so somethings might need updating, however, our room, the hallways, the elevators, the lobby, the courtyards were CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN. We felt very comfortable with our suite and what it had to offer. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows plentiful. The air conditioner provided good cooling, and it was nice to have some nice looking black-out curtains. Those who complain that the bathroom is small, yes this it true. But the sink and dressing area are separate from the toilet and shower area. It was nice to have the dressing area separate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Short getaway

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The hotel is in a good location. Plenty to do in walking distance. My biggest complaints: Breakfast is an extra charge. The hotel is dated and IMO not Hilton quality. The beds were stiff and the pillows were flat. Other than that, it was a pleasant stay. The staff was also very friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Worst Hotel Ever

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Room cleanliness and updating the Hotel
We thought this Hotel would be ideal in Charleston. The Only thing it has going for it is location. The room was not cleaned, tub didn't drain which means it was not cleaned between guests, Toilet didn't work well, Our room was not cleaned until 5 pm each day even after we complained the first day. We came back to get ready for our dinner after being out each day only to find the room not cleaned and the cleaning staff outside our room. They even took our dirty towels from the day before that were on the floor and folded them and put them back on the shelf. We knew they were ours from the day before because of the dirt stains and make up stains. There are too many Hotels in this price range to give this one another chance. This Hotel gives the Hilton name a real bad reputation,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

"Annex"

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Upon making reservations ask if guest wants annex or original hotel.
Location: Excellent
We wanted the main hotel. We were given the annex. No ice, no soda machine. Always had to call room service for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Great location

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Hotel is next to market and carriage rides very convenient. Beautiful city. Hymans seafood is great. Great shrimp n grits .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winter park fla

Next to market but long walk to king st-

Posted Jul 4, 2017
We had a two-story suite which was very fun. It needed to be vacuumed a little better and the carpet that went up the wall had a lot of dust in the corners- very noticeable- a good Dyson vacuum cleaning would've been helpful – also my husband didn't allow housekeeper to come in for long but did ask for fresh toiletries and towels which were never brought to us so when trying to take a shower - they took all the old towels but didn't bring back new ones - also- the elevator was v - e - r - y slow- for the price - it wasn't worth the $ imo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mt Airy, NC

Excellent location and great value.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Fantastic location, great value, nice hotel. The rooms had new furniture and carpet but the shower stall and the wall finished seemed worn or outdated. The lobby and halls are very nice and the staff was very friendly. I will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Within walking distance to a lot of restaurants and historic sites. We would return there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel within Historic District

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: See above
The hotel is centrally located so close to all tourist attractions. The hotel staff and the concierge are willing to help you navigate all the attractions. The breakfast is not included in the base room pricing. The breakfast was good with several choices. This is a all suites hotel, with some of the suites being duplex. Be careful when booking to ask for same floor suites if you don't want to climb about 13 steps every time you want to get to the upper (sleeping) floor. The bathrooms need updating. The shower curtains do not contain the shower water within the tub, it spills out to the floor outside.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by regggie.edwards, Hotel Management
Dear KKB, Thank you so much for the feedback of your recent stay with us. Our team tries to let our guest know exactly what the configuration of the hotel room they selected prior to being assign a room and when they still don't like the configuration we do all we can to accommodate our guest with moving to room more suitable for their stay. We are so glad you mentioned the unique configurations and hope that helps during your next stay with us.