Ratings based on 938 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Disappointing Doubletree

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly
Location: Good location adjacent to the Market and within walking distance of activities in Charleston as well as to the water taxi.
Bed was comfortable and staff was very friendly, but the room is well past due for a bathroom makeover. Mold/mildew in the tub. tub did not drain - and the stopper was not attached. faucet handle moved left as well as right. Some sort of red stain on the soap holder and blue stains along the tub wall. I travel often and have been a Hilton Diamond member for a few years. This location goes on the bottom of my Hilton listing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
I love the cookies. Hotel was very nice. I arrived very late in the evening and couldn't find a bellhop. Other than that it was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island,NY

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Great staff, nice accommodations, a bit noisy during the night if you have a window overlooking market st. Parking is an added expense.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Location: Go to Hank's for dinner.
The staff was incredibly welcoming, helpful and gracious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Simpsonville, SC

Best Charleston Location in the French Quarter

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Excellent location. Across the street from the Marketplace. All sightseeing, restaurants and museums in walking distance. Customer service was a 10+
Cons: no pool or Jacuzzi.
Location: Marketplace across the street. Located in the French Quarter
Fast and early check-in. Delicious cookies upon arrival. Very helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Carly, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, particularly our friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Excellent stay...everyone very friendly. Very comfortable rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Carly, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, particularly our friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa

Location, Customer Service, CleNiness - 5 Stars

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: See above, additionally secured parking, double coffee maker in room, wet bar area in room.
Cons: The morning buffet. It is just a plain buffet that you would see at other hotels. However, there is a charge for this the buffet.
Location: You can walk in any direction for your sightseeing, shopping, meals.It is just outside of the City Market, around the corner from many restaurants.
Hotel location is perfect in the heat of historic downtown. We researched many hotells, and glad we stayed at the Doubletree.Customer Service is one of the best I have seen. The management and front desk are courteous and addressed any needs/concerns we had. We had a special request for a room, and the management far exceeded our request. Management personnel was in the lobby every morning greeting guests. This was a nice touch. The Valet / Bell Service were outstanding and set the tone for the hotel personnel as these were the first people to greet us. One of our main concerns with staying at a hotel, is it clean? The hotel is due for renovations in 2018, so somethings might need updating, however, our room, the hallways, the elevators, the lobby, the courtyards were CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN. We felt very comfortable with our suite and what it had to offer. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows plentiful. The air conditioner provided good cooling, and it was nice to have some nice looking black-out curtains. Those who complain that the bathroom is small, yes this it true. But the sink and dressing area are separate from the toilet and shower area. It was nice to have the dressing area separate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Short getaway

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The hotel is in a good location. Plenty to do in walking distance. My biggest complaints: Breakfast is an extra charge. The hotel is dated and IMO not Hilton quality. The beds were stiff and the pillows were flat. Other than that, it was a pleasant stay. The staff was also very friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Worst Hotel Ever

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Room cleanliness and updating the Hotel
We thought this Hotel would be ideal in Charleston. The Only thing it has going for it is location. The room was not cleaned, tub didn't drain which means it was not cleaned between guests, Toilet didn't work well, Our room was not cleaned until 5 pm each day even after we complained the first day. We came back to get ready for our dinner after being out each day only to find the room not cleaned and the cleaning staff outside our room. They even took our dirty towels from the day before that were on the floor and folded them and put them back on the shelf. We knew they were ours from the day before because of the dirt stains and make up stains. There are too many Hotels in this price range to give this one another chance. This Hotel gives the Hilton name a real bad reputation,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

"Annex"

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Upon making reservations ask if guest wants annex or original hotel.
Location: Excellent
We wanted the main hotel. We were given the annex. No ice, no soda machine. Always had to call room service for it.