Ratings based on 604 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Nice place to stay. Good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by GMofEHI, Hotel Management
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area! GMofEHI
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Center city

Posted Nov 23, 2017
It reminded me of a Hampton Inn but in a pretty building. And you need to add $20 for parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by GMofEHI, Hotel Management
I’m sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay. The majority of hotels or lodging accommodations in city, do not include parking. The building was built in the mid 1800s. We are fortunate that there are three parking facilities within a hundred and fifty yards of the property. We are closing down for the month of January to do extensive renovations, I hope that you will give us another try in the future. GMofEHI
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint old inn but

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: NEAL for sure, his expertise and insight&recommendations
Cons: Dark heavy drapes to block out exterior corridor lighting all through the night. You could almost read in the dim light coming through all night.
Location: Excellent location for historic points of interest and market
When staying, consider it is an old inn in a tight area of town so some things are to be expected such as small room, bath, no closets. What was not expected and perhaps just was poor timing was the loud disruptive construction taking place right outside our back side second level balcony beginning at 7 am. Making it unuseable, and we were in the backside of courtyard. You may ask about these things when booking. We also found the outside exterior corridor lights made our room "light" all night as if a small light was on in our room even with all blinds closed tight making it difficult to sleep if you prefer total darkness - so heavy drapes would help this. The staff - especially Neal - overcompensated all of this and breakfast/coffee/ice water/afternoon cheese&swine made up for these two things that can be easily fixed. But do ask about any ongoing construction and perhaps a darker area of the inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by GMofEHI, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. We are fortunate to have Neal working with us, he sure does know a lot of information. For future guests, if there is noise going on before 8 AM let us know. Construction is not supposed to start before 8 AM, unless they have a permit to do so. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again, the next time you are in the city!
4 out of 5
by Ghaida

Lovely stay

Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Hotels
Nice big room , bathroom a bit small , clean , good breakfast friendly staff and perfect position .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to welcoming you back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location and Well Maintained Property

Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
The Elliott House is in a fantastic location, walking distance to everything in Charleston. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. We loved spending time in the courtyard, and the hotel is on the same block as 3 great restaurants. We would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words. We do have a wonderful staff! The location cannot be beat! We can't wait to see you again! GMofEHI
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: exterior charm, location
Cons: decor, air conditioning unit, mattress.
Room is small with spartan decorations. Air conditioning is noisy. Mattress is very hard, seems chea.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by GMofEHI, Hotel Management
I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectation. All the rooms, bathroom, and courtyard will be getting renovated in early 2018. I hope that you will give us another try in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Posted Oct 8, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: The wine and cheese reception each day was very nice. Convenient location on Queen Street. Old fashioned look.
Cons: More varied breakfast choices. I don't think you can do anything about room size unless you started knocking down walls.
Location: Handy to many restaurants and the Market.
It's cute and we loved the courtyard. It's location on Queen Street was very helpful. Late afternoon wine and cheese reception was lovely. Room and bathroom were tight. Furniture layout was awkward and uncomfortable. King rice bed took up most of the space. Since I slept on one of those for many years, I didn't need to replicate the experience. Mattress was just o.k. Clean. Breakfast served to you was a nice concept, but more choices would be appreciated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by GMofEHI, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are in a perfect location. I agree the breakfast and wine and cheese receptions are a nice touch. The building was built in the late 1800s, and like most boutique properties, the rooms are smaller than typical brand hotel rooms. We will be doing renovations on all the rooms, courtyard, and bathroom early 2018. I hope that you will give us another try!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but way overpriced.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness and amenities
There was a roach in the room and had to call to have room sprayed for mosquitoes. Not terrible but not great. Should book directly because price more in line with quality. Paid a third more by booking through Expedia Japan. Should have been less than $200 a night but paid $300 a night through Expedia Japan.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by GMofEHI, Hotel Management
I'm sorry that you did not exceed your expectations. We hope that you will give us another try in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Wifi was terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Yes, the location is wonderful! We are located right in the middle of Charleston's Historic District. I'm sorry that you did not find the wireless internet to be satisfactory. We do not normally have issues with wireless, so for future guests, please let us know if we can do anything to help. Thank you for your response. GMofEHI
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lubbock, TX

Awesome

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Location, clean, authentic Charleston, cute, next to the best restaurants
Cons: Water leak in bathroom
Location: shopping, carriage ride, history
We had a wonderful time here, we enjoyed every minute. The location was so awesome, perfect for walking to King Street for Shopping, just near the Market and the Waterfront Park. Staff was super sweet and made a wonderful breakfast each morning and wine at 5 in the garden. It was next door to some of the best restaurants in town. We will be back.