Ratings based on 841 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dark & Dated

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was very professional, courteous and responsive however the building itself was dated and dark. The bed sagged but it was pretty clean. Location was good. It was nice overlooking the park and Saturday's farmers market.
5 out of 5
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by David

Historic Charm

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice stay, good location. Wish valet parking was cheaper. Only complaint was food. Too crowded of area for all the people it serves. Same two fruits 3 days, chage it up a little. Also having GF bread would have been nice
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was tight and to tiny bed was against wall

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Sad very sad room very tiny bed against the wall just crazy .... checked out after one day was planing on staying two
1 out of 5
by sean

awful hotel!!!

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
AWFUL. Was harassed by off duty police employed by hotel, incorrectly identified himself as on duty police. I had to call Charleston police to report it, they showed up on location. Elevator didnt work, dirty rooms, tub didnt work. Literally a nightmare, was planning a conference here, but we will find a new location. Very rude and unsympathetic general manager. Do not stay here!!! I will be contacting corporate asap.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired and old

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything else.
Have stayed here frequently over past 5 years. Hotel is in great location, but showing signs of wear and tear. Old hotels well maintained are great. This one needs a facelift, especially considering there are nicer, new and historic hotels in the area at comparable prices--this place is not cheap. Real problem, though, is that they billed my credit card for the full amount of the stay, instead of simply placing a hold for incidentals, even though I had already paid in full via expedia. When I inquired at the desk, I was assured the charge would be reversed upon check out. 3 days later, and the "pending" charge on my card has now been fully processed instead of reversed. So, I have now paid twice for an already over-priced average hotel experience. Hoping to get resolved with hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great lodging in a great location

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
Great place. Friendly staff. Great happy hour and breakfast. Workout room ok. Would book again.
5 out of 5
by Frederick

Convenient and friendly lodging

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious and clean, if a bit dated. The location was very convenient with many bars, restaurants, and downtown attractions within easy walking distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for historic Charleston

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Location and exceptional staff
Location: Perfectly located and within walking distance to the entire historic district. Though we "ubered" to a few restaurants, we did need the rental car.
The room was much bigger than expected and bathroom was even bigger. Hotel was a little "old" in places but very clean. Loved the free breakfasts and happy hour. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful especially Francis at the front desk as well as Tia. Francis, in particular, seemed to really like working there.