Ratings based on 840 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nice hotel. Close to park. Not close to Battery Pk

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The room was very nice and it is always great to have a suite
Cons: Cleaniness of some areas in the hotel
Location: It is near Marion Park and there is a Farmer's market on Saturdays
We had a very good time and really enjoyed the friendly staff, the made to order breakfast and the afternoon reception.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maryland

Eclipse in Charleston

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Free breakfast, free open bar and snacks,
Cons: Update condition and friendlier, front desk personnel.
Location: Good location
Great free breakfast and free bar in the afternoon The front desk personnel were not very friendly, our room had section of carpet soaked from AC leak. Front desk seemed uncaring. I had to ask for a different room Overall, hotel seemed in need of updating condition. Seemed run down.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hopkinton Ma

This was a luxurious hotel in the 80s

Posted Aug 25, 2017
The lobby is lovely. The elevators were out of order, one, the whole three days and the other, one day. We were on the forth floor. Outside our window is the giant 30 fan air conditioning generator. It's loud 24/7. On day two, even after asking for towels in the morning, they weren't there for an evening shower. I called for them again and someone brought them. Housekeeping did not enter our room on our three day stay. No trash, no towels, no bed making, no vacuuming and certainly did not clean the blood drips off the bathroom floor from the previous resident. it was disgusting. The server at the free breakfast agreed with me that the cheerios are always stale. No one ever ends up eating them. She suggested eating in the giant courtyard in the center of the hotel where the boxes were individual. Otherwise, I had an orange. The farmers market that starts early on Sat mornings was a good place to eat breakfast, delicious, but it's not free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Love this hotel. Charleston is my home and I used to go the the old Citadel building when I was a little girl. I always stood in awe at this beautiful facility. We always stay at The Embassy Suites because it is central to everything, the rooms are so comfortable and the staff amazing!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel but dated

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This hotel was very nice and the people were very friendly. It's in a decent location but wish were were closer to historic Charleston. The room was nice but way too small for our family. The beds were sooo close to the walls there was barely room to move around and housekeeping failed to replenish the towels and things in the bathroom. The most disappointing thing was we were unaware of the parking situation until we arrived. There are two options either around $25 a day for valet or $17 a day for a very inconvenient parking garage next to the hotel. I just wish this would have been more clearly stated at time if purchase. Again, overall experience wasn't bad, but there are minor issues. Probably would not stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from ardmore, PA

Charleston charm

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The beds were not the best.
This is a centrally located high quality Embassy Suites. They have a nice breakfast and wonderful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Great room in great location

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Great location with Friendly staff Breakfast was great - buffet and short order eggs as well
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Good rate for large room

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Service staff
Cons: breakfast room made larger
Location: pretty easy walk to the Market and many restaurants
The hotel staff and servcie was excellent. Our specific room looked very worn, The bathroom door was coming off the hinges. The bathroom was set up for wheelchair access and teh floor drain was not sloped well so every shower left water all over teh bathroom floor. But everything was functional and clean. Bed and bedding was very comfortable. One of the elevators went out of service while we stayed. Seems the place needs a face lift, but overall conveniently located. The morning breakfast room is way too small to handle the crowd they had. People were carrying trays to all corners of the lobby and back to their rooms. The next day they set up another station in the main courtyard and it was much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Charleston with kids

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Great stay, breakfast and dinner snacks included with happy hour. Great location, within walking distance for shops and restaurants. Valleys were excellent, especially Mac
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dark & Dated

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was very professional, courteous and responsive however the building itself was dated and dark. The bed sagged but it was pretty clean. Location was good. It was nice overlooking the park and Saturday's farmers market.