Ratings based on 861 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Poor bed location up against a wall

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Having a queen size bed against a wall required inside sleeper to crawl over the outside sleeper
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Great value great location Friendly staff

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: staff and location
Cons: none
Great weekend in Charleston. Our favorite hotel. the value is awesome. Clean hotel, friendly staff and hotel is always spotless.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

My favourite hotel in USA

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: The situation and the friendly atmosphere. Spacious suites with microwaves and fridges. Great happy hour and custom omlettes for breakfast .
Cons: Room cleaning could be sharpened up. Men's restroom upgrade only half done!
Location: Perfect location for historic Charleston and Museum mile. The King street shuttle bus is free and stops very close in both King and Meeting Streets.
I have been staying at ES Meeting Street for over 10 years. My wife and I love the hotel despite some imperfections! The staff are very friendly and the manager's happy hour in the evening is a great way to meet people and chat. It is superbly situated for all that Charleston has to offer and is right opposite a shuttle bus stop. It could do with a bit of an upgrade. The partitions in the men's restroom are falling off the wall (but new basins and soap dispensers are appreciated!) The room cleaning is a bit haphazard and sometimes doesn't happen. The valet car parking is seriously overpriced, but very convenient. Check the bill when you leave as mistakes have been known to happen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northwest Arkansas

Historic hotel in a great location!

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Great hotel in a great location! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. This is the old citadel, so the rooms are old and dark. But I think that's just part of the charm and experience! We were able to walk most places, and the Dash (free bus) stops right across the street to take you downtown or the waterfront. Love Charleston and loved our stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Poor housekeeping svcs but excellent food staff.

Posted Oct 11, 2017
There were 6 of us in the room but only 2 sets of towels. They wanted us to call next shift at 11:00. We have 4 kids and had to shower sequentially so they finally brought us 3 more. We left note requesting enough towels, cups, coffee, but they only stocked coffee and toiletries. No towels or extra creamers. Bed not made up and tip not collected. Next day no service at all. Informed there was a limit of 3 towels upon asking. Toilet overflowed. Towels were used and not replaced. Room smelled bad whole time. Bkfst Food and staff excellent. Front desk staff friendly. Small outdoor pool. Won’t go there again due to housekeeping issues. For those prices ought to have more towels! Convenient location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nice hotel. Close to park. Not close to Battery Pk

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The room was very nice and it is always great to have a suite
Cons: Cleaniness of some areas in the hotel
Location: It is near Marion Park and there is a Farmer's market on Saturdays
We had a very good time and really enjoyed the friendly staff, the made to order breakfast and the afternoon reception.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maryland

Eclipse in Charleston

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Free breakfast, free open bar and snacks,
Cons: Update condition and friendlier, front desk personnel.
Location: Good location
Great free breakfast and free bar in the afternoon The front desk personnel were not very friendly, our room had section of carpet soaked from AC leak. Front desk seemed uncaring. I had to ask for a different room Overall, hotel seemed in need of updating condition. Seemed run down.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hopkinton Ma

This was a luxurious hotel in the 80s

Posted Aug 25, 2017
The lobby is lovely. The elevators were out of order, one, the whole three days and the other, one day. We were on the forth floor. Outside our window is the giant 30 fan air conditioning generator. It's loud 24/7. On day two, even after asking for towels in the morning, they weren't there for an evening shower. I called for them again and someone brought them. Housekeeping did not enter our room on our three day stay. No trash, no towels, no bed making, no vacuuming and certainly did not clean the blood drips off the bathroom floor from the previous resident. it was disgusting. The server at the free breakfast agreed with me that the cheerios are always stale. No one ever ends up eating them. She suggested eating in the giant courtyard in the center of the hotel where the boxes were individual. Otherwise, I had an orange. The farmers market that starts early on Sat mornings was a good place to eat breakfast, delicious, but it's not free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Love this hotel. Charleston is my home and I used to go the the old Citadel building when I was a little girl. I always stood in awe at this beautiful facility. We always stay at The Embassy Suites because it is central to everything, the rooms are so comfortable and the staff amazing!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel but dated

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This hotel was very nice and the people were very friendly. It's in a decent location but wish were were closer to historic Charleston. The room was nice but way too small for our family. The beds were sooo close to the walls there was barely room to move around and housekeeping failed to replenish the towels and things in the bathroom. The most disappointing thing was we were unaware of the parking situation until we arrived. There are two options either around $25 a day for valet or $17 a day for a very inconvenient parking garage next to the hotel. I just wish this would have been more clearly stated at time if purchase. Again, overall experience wasn't bad, but there are minor issues. Probably would not stay here again.