Ratings based on 829 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from ardmore, PA

Charleston charm

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The beds were not the best.
This is a centrally located high quality Embassy Suites. They have a nice breakfast and wonderful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Great room in great location

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Great location with Friendly staff Breakfast was great - buffet and short order eggs as well
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Good rate for large room

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Service staff
Cons: breakfast room made larger
Location: pretty easy walk to the Market and many restaurants
The hotel staff and servcie was excellent. Our specific room looked very worn, The bathroom door was coming off the hinges. The bathroom was set up for wheelchair access and teh floor drain was not sloped well so every shower left water all over teh bathroom floor. But everything was functional and clean. Bed and bedding was very comfortable. One of the elevators went out of service while we stayed. Seems the place needs a face lift, but overall conveniently located. The morning breakfast room is way too small to handle the crowd they had. People were carrying trays to all corners of the lobby and back to their rooms. The next day they set up another station in the main courtyard and it was much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Charleston with kids

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Great stay, breakfast and dinner snacks included with happy hour. Great location, within walking distance for shops and restaurants. Valleys were excellent, especially Mac
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired and old

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything else.
Have stayed here frequently over past 5 years. Hotel is in great location, but showing signs of wear and tear. Old hotels well maintained are great. This one needs a facelift, especially considering there are nicer, new and historic hotels in the area at comparable prices--this place is not cheap. Real problem, though, is that they billed my credit card for the full amount of the stay, instead of simply placing a hold for incidentals, even though I had already paid in full via expedia. When I inquired at the desk, I was assured the charge would be reversed upon check out. 3 days later, and the "pending" charge on my card has now been fully processed instead of reversed. So, I have now paid twice for an already over-priced average hotel experience. Hoping to get resolved with hotel.
5 out of 5
by Frederick

Convenient and friendly lodging

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious and clean, if a bit dated. The location was very convenient with many bars, restaurants, and downtown attractions within easy walking distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for historic Charleston

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Location and exceptional staff
Location: Perfectly located and within walking distance to the entire historic district. Though we "ubered" to a few restaurants, we did need the rental car.
The room was much bigger than expected and bathroom was even bigger. Hotel was a little "old" in places but very clean. Loved the free breakfasts and happy hour. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful especially Francis at the front desk as well as Tia. Francis, in particular, seemed to really like working there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Windows

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
The lack of hotels and very outdated rooms were unexpected. I can't ever remember seeing that there would not be any windows in the room. Also the amenities were mediocre. Location is good but keep in mind guests will include weddings and other late night partiers. Would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels