Ratings based on 882 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New york, ny

Great breakfast

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Historical hotel located in proximity to many restaurants, bars, and shops. Great breakfast and happy hour included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Lovely hotel in a great location

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Picturesque hotel in a great location. Would definitely recommend it. Very clean and pretty. The staff were lovely, the breakfast options were great. The only thing was the mattress in our room wasn’t great-we woke up with sore backs each morning. Time for them to change it I think. Otherwise I couldn’t fault the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from greenville SC

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Wonderful friendly staff in this beautifully restored historic building (it was the original Citadel). Room maintenance didn’t clean our room ( we were only there 2 nights) and it appeared to have not been vacuumed when we arrived, it was not terrible, but noticeable. The breakfast food and happy hour were incredible. I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Interesting historic building but outdated rooms

Posted Jan 3, 2018
My room was on the Mezzanine level. It was very large but had no exterior windows which made it feel like a motel. Furniture was old and outdated. Carpet had stains and tears. No hot water in the bathroom sink. Bed was uncomfortable. All unexpected for an Embassy Suites at the price paid. My wife wanted to leave because the room felt dirty and we ended up cutting our stay short. Location was great, close to King St., and the staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2017
The staff was good and breakfast was great. Room was clean but internet access was difficult due to access choices on initial page.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place with kids

Posted Dec 23, 2017
It was roomy and comfortable place to go with kids. It is right by Museum, kids museum, and not far from aquarium. Free shuttle stop is across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Good overall experience.

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: location, price, happy hour, and breakfast.
Cons: It looks "dated".
Location: Short walk to the nice part of town.
Excellent staff, happy hour, and breakfast. The hotel seemed pretty vacant and the fountain was not operating, so it felt somewhat deserted. The elevators, rooms, and open area (near the fountain) need to be updated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Overall, a very pleasant experience. Our experience was great but I did overhear the front desk staff arguing with the hospitality staff about not giving service to a room because it was after 4:30, which is their policy. It was 4:35. And the room was accidentally skipped.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Dated disaster

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Misses the mark from the moment you wait in line to be checked in. The staff seem surprised to see you, then charged for a room again after paying online, then when I told him I paid online he didn't reverse the charge, had to ask where to park as I wasn't told, had to ask where to find my room as I was instructed where to go. Ugly patches of mismatched old carpet some dark green. Room, albeit spacious is disgusting. Stains everywhere on the carpet. Odd furniture and layout that looks like your bachelor uncle's man cave basement. Shower looks like gym shower. For a first time stay at an embassy suites hotel I can honestly say I won't be back. Skip this one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Poor bed location up against a wall

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Having a queen size bed against a wall required inside sleeper to crawl over the outside sleeper