Ratings based on 1,346 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Sister/Mom Weekend

Posted Sep 4, 2017
This hotel is in an excellent location. We enjoyed the courtyard and pool. The free buffet breakfast was a great way to start each day and my mom and sister enjoyed the coffee bar available all day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Friendly staff and breakfast was great. Loved the coffee bar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee

Perfect location. Nice staff. Clean. Character

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Everything. It is perfect.
Cons: Please add a small hotel bar.
Location: The hotel is nearby everything. Ideal location
It is a perfect location. Walkable distance to everything. Big tourist information center right across with free transportation if you need it. Also close to ferry to fort. The hotel is very clean. And the rooms and beds are great. The staff is super nice. I love the porter. You can have your breakfast outside in the courtyard. Wonderful. The breakfast is good. No complaints. This is of course not a 4 star hotel. But you could not get better. Go stay here. It is perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alpharetta

Convenience to College of Charleston

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Size of rooms, affordability, location, good continental breakfast with gluten free options, great bellman at the door, and close parking deck.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Close to College of Charleston and across the street from the visitor center. 1/2 block from King street shopping and dining
My wife and I have stayed at a number of hotels near The College of Charleston (Francis Marion, Embassy Suites, and others) and have found that the Hampton Inn was our favorite. Very affordable (for Charleston), large rooms, large bathrooms, nice lobby area, and convenient to College of Charleston, and many of the city's tourist areas. They also have a nice pool in the courtyard, and the parking deck is right next to the hotel - 50 foot walk to the front door. Excellent stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ankeny Iowa

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Enjoyed everything about the hotel except a small thing--the water in the bathroom sink would not get to a "cold" setting--it stayed lukewarm the entire two days we were there...Probably our fault for not complaining, but seemed like a small inconvenience at the time. We had bottled water in the refrig to take pills with, etc. The pool was fun, hotel is very well located in the middle of alot of great bars and resturants, and across from the Charleston visitors center.
4 out of 5
by Martina

Service makes everything awesome.

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
The front desk service was excellent. I'd noticed that there wasn't a bed space for my third child as I had booked. No issues with the front desk - corrected it immediately. There's also a singing concierge who brightens up the lobby all day with his jovial personality. Warm fresh baked cookies at 6pm. Coffee service all day in the lobby. Kids loved it. The property just has difficulty with the humidity of the town and the rooms smell but musty. The house keeping carts were parked near the lobby when not in use - which was a little odd. But it didn't bother us. Friendly house keeping staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Amazing location; friendly staff

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Cons: The rooms could be updated to a more modern look/feel.
Location: One block from King Street (in the heart of the restaurants and bars, two blocks from the shopping area), and about a 20 minute walk to The Battery.
We had a wonderful stay. This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the historic district. We were a block from the restaurants and shops along King Street and about a 20 minute walk to The Battery. There is a free bus you can take to get around (offered by the city) but we did not utilize this service during our stay. The hotel staff was incredible! We were traveling with our 7 month old son, and the entire staff made a point to learn his name and greet him with a smile when they saw us. The bellhop even gave him a stuffed bear! The rooms are comfortable and clean; could use a bit of updating compared to other properties that we've stayed. Breakfast was filling and offered a variety of options. For the price, recognized hotel name, and location, we'd recommend this property to anyone looking for a Charleston getaway!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Fl.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
When making the reservation I asked for a cot since we had 3 kids with us. The staff was not at all interested in accommodating this request. I was told that they did not have any cots left and that there was nothing that they could do for me. Thanks for nothing, Hampton.
5 out of 5
by Amanda

Beautiful hotel!!!!

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
We stay here a lot and we love it!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels