Ratings based on 1,324 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Convenient to Charleston Visitor's Center and tour

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Very close and centrally located in the historical district.
Cons: My one problem is that the hotel, and especially my room, smelled of dampness or mildew. I am one who abhors this smell and it spoiled an otherwise wo
This hotel was very nice in most ways. Breakfast was provided every morning with a good deal of choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Posted Sep 22, 2017
we stayed here while in Charleston to do a college visit. Location is very convenient, and the shuttle bus picks up right outside the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the room was extremely comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Smoking room

Posted Sep 12, 2017
We arrived at our hotel and checked in to our room with the assumption it was a king room since that was what we reserved. However we were given a room with two beds. We went back to the reception desk and asked to be changed. We were provided a new room immediately. Yes it was a king room but smelled like smoke. We were in a non smoking hotel. At first we thought it was just because the room was just cleaned and the smell would go away. We went out for the day touring and came back late that night. I went to sleep and woke early to my husband Saying he could not sleep and would not stay another night In this room. I went back to the reception desk and told the receptionist our issue. She was very apologetic and told us we could inspect another room before we moved. The room we were directed to was across from the room we were in. It was clean and did not have a smoke odor. We changed rooms and enjoyed the rest off our stay. My issue was with the first receptionist. Why did cleaning staff not report smoke odors in that room? Clearly the previous guests smoked on the bed and in the room. Very disappointed!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

nice historic district hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: convenience, friendly staff
Cons: musty odor in lobby
Location: museum, historic homes, great restaurants, waterfront, market, carriage rides,
Great location. Convenient to museum, market area, great restaurants, etc. We used the dash bus for everything. Visit was cut short by Irma but we will return. Hotel staff was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bronx, N.Y.

Big city with small town taste

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: The intimacy of the gardens in the pool area. The grounds and landscaping was very lush and beautiful.
Cons: Right now, I can't think of any improvements.
Location: The location was perfect, near the museums, the playhouse, busy King street with loads of restaurants and best of all the tours.
The room was large and roomy. At night we had warm cookies made by the staff, that was a big hit with my grand children. The staff was super friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Sister/Mom Weekend

Posted Sep 4, 2017
This hotel is in an excellent location. We enjoyed the courtyard and pool. The free buffet breakfast was a great way to start each day and my mom and sister enjoyed the coffee bar available all day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Friendly staff and breakfast was great. Loved the coffee bar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee

Perfect location. Nice staff. Clean. Character

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Everything. It is perfect.
Cons: Please add a small hotel bar.
Location: The hotel is nearby everything. Ideal location
It is a perfect location. Walkable distance to everything. Big tourist information center right across with free transportation if you need it. Also close to ferry to fort. The hotel is very clean. And the rooms and beds are great. The staff is super nice. I love the porter. You can have your breakfast outside in the courtyard. Wonderful. The breakfast is good. No complaints. This is of course not a 4 star hotel. But you could not get better. Go stay here. It is perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alpharetta

Convenience to College of Charleston

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Size of rooms, affordability, location, good continental breakfast with gluten free options, great bellman at the door, and close parking deck.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Close to College of Charleston and across the street from the visitor center. 1/2 block from King street shopping and dining
My wife and I have stayed at a number of hotels near The College of Charleston (Francis Marion, Embassy Suites, and others) and have found that the Hampton Inn was our favorite. Very affordable (for Charleston), large rooms, large bathrooms, nice lobby area, and convenient to College of Charleston, and many of the city's tourist areas. They also have a nice pool in the courtyard, and the parking deck is right next to the hotel - 50 foot walk to the front door. Excellent stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ankeny Iowa

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Enjoyed everything about the hotel except a small thing--the water in the bathroom sink would not get to a "cold" setting--it stayed lukewarm the entire two days we were there...Probably our fault for not complaining, but seemed like a small inconvenience at the time. We had bottled water in the refrig to take pills with, etc. The pool was fun, hotel is very well located in the middle of alot of great bars and resturants, and across from the Charleston visitors center.