Ratings based on 1,291 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No need to move car

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Great stay at this Hampton. Good choices for breakfast and no need to take car from garage. You can either walk most places or take free shuttles from across the street at the visitors center.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from n.c.

Stay away

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Worst hotel I've ever stayed in do no recommend. Stinks, bad location, no bath tub!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Well located to see Charleston, SC

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Very nice hotel, but stay away from first floor rooms along the courtyard. Very smelly and we had our room changed. Be sure to phone ahead in summer and have AC put on or room will be miserable for hours. Exceptionally well located across the street from city's welcome center. Staff was excellent. Be sure to meet Henry. He is a true Southern Ambassador for Charleston. Parking is excellent @ $17 per day. Breakfast is nice & adequate. We will return. Hopefully in the fall or spring.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
Poor Maintance, other all what you would expect from a Hampton inn. Out AC broke which kinda disappointed us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Not Good Enough

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Right across from bus stop and Grey Line Tours. The cleaning staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Front desk needs improvement, rooms updated. More convenient parking or least an offer of help.
Location: Grey line tours and Jestine's Kitchen
For the price, stay elsewhere. The front desk was rude. Offered no help; had to ask where our room was located. When we checked out barely a thank you. No help with luggage, doors, parking ($17 per day), directions, nothing. Wall paper coming off in bathroom, used soap in soap box. The breakfast was good, Location ok. Best thing about this place is walking distance to Jestine's Kitchen. Best fried chicken!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barrie, ON

Affordable and Excellent Hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was included, there was ample parking, and the location was ideal. The pool was an added bonus.
Cons: N/A
Location: The hotel is close to East Bay Street and the Night Market. Also adjacent to the hotel, is a quaint little back street with many restaurants.
This charming gem of a hotel is very close to East Bay Street, and all of the wonderful restaurants and nightlife. The hotel has a quaint history which can be felt once you enter the building. Our room was quite large and the beds were extremely comfortable. It was never noisy at night, and we slept well. A lovely breakfast is included in the room charges, and there is a coffee bar available at all hours. I would stay here again in a heartbeat because the price was en pointe and the location was perfect. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, MI

LOVED OUR CHARLESTON STAY!

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Attention to details was very evident. Friendly staff at desk.
Location: Great location across from the free shuttle service welcome center. This made it extremely easy for us to get around the historic district.
Wonderful hot buffet breakfast with much more than the standard items, complimentary tea and coffee all day long, and also cookies in the lobby every afternoon. Beautiful pool and outside courtyard area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Not as pictured on web site

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: The only good thing was it's location
Cons: Pleas see above in review for items needing improvement
The pictures made the hotel seem so much more in the advertising then what you actually get. The door that connects your room with the room next to ours was broken and the way they secure it was by just placing a tabel. Other hotels give you a mini frig for your room wail there wasnt one to be find insight. The usb outlets that are located on the dresser near the bed didnt work. The put us in a handicap room that should have been saved and given to someone who actually needs the type of facilities the room offered. For the same price as a hotel on Walt Disney World Resort you get the same features of a cheap hotel or poor motel. Next time I plan a vist I will not be staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, Md.

Convenient to city trolleys and all tours.

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The staff- extremely helpful and pleasant
Location: Ideal location. Lots of restaurants. Catch the free trolley and go to Waterfront Park. Just relax and swing on one of the porch swings on the pier.
We did not have a car so the Hampton was ideal. Directly across from the visitors' center, we were able to take the free trolleys to the marketplace, aquarium,and Waterfront Park. Our tour buses also started here. Breakfast was ample with waffles, bagels,eggs, sausage and fruit. Coffee and tea were always available as were cookies and papers. One other positive is that we were able to go across the street and get the express bus to the airport for $1.00 senior rate. Regular rate is 3.50.
5 out of 5
by Rosemarie

Getaway at the Charleston Hampton.

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful room, free buffet breakfast which was delicious, friendly staff, and great location.